We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, great accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stevenson's at Manase

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stevenson's at Manase to your Saves list
Stevenson's at Manase
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   North Coast Road, Manase Beach Area, Manase, Savai'i, Samoa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manase
Apia, Samoa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, great accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Savai'i is really beautiful and Stevenson's is located on the perfect stretch of beach. The swimming and snorkeling were amazing and you don't have to swim out far to see heaps of fish. We stayed in a beach villa which was really spacious, clean and comfortable. Little things like fresh water at both door steps to wash your feet, coffee and tea, air-conditioning plus ample supply of towels really made a difference. I loved the shower too, it's a private outdoor shower (hot if you want), can't get much better than that, it was an experience in itself. We just had the continental breakfast included with your room and it was heaps, great fruit plate (coconut, papaya, banana, orange and apple), yummy toast and as much plunger coffee as you can drink. They also packed one for our last morning as we were leaving early. Our villa was walled but we loved the look of the 'Eurpoean Fales' they have too which are right on the beach and would happily stay in one next time. I can't think of a better place to watch the sunset.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    66
    32
    18
    10
See reviews for
42
86
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
franz
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Really enjoyed the Samoa experience! The staff were awesome...especially Junior, Leala and Tulu, but they were all wonderful friendly and helpful. The beach was fantastic, we even came across wild turtles while we were snorkeling. Stay in the fale if you want a real samoan escape..it takes a little bit of adjustment but well worth it. Food was good. Also make sure you try the Canopy Walk! We chilled out for seven days and enjoyed every minute of it.

Room Tip: Fales offer a real experience - right on the beachfront, fantastic views....they push you slightly o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samoa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was pour first time at Stevesons as I felt a little over staying in overcrowded fale establishments. The beach villas are spacious, the room was clean and although some of the furniture was a little old it was comfortable. Not quite sure about the shower situation. Take your lavalava when you shower. The staff were sweet. In the morning however they were absent! No one was there to take our bill or make breakfast so the nightwatch man found our bill and we drove to another resort for breakfast.

Room Tip: Viilas are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is right on the waterfront of the best beach is Savaii. We stayed in a beach side bungalow that was roomy, clean and well maintained. Staff were friendly and the food was well cooked.The only bad experience was that when it came time to pay their credit card facilities were not working so I had to walk a long distance to the ATM machine. This resulted in us missing our chosen ferry back to Upolo.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice place, fairly basic, no hot water in our shower, but used the sea instead. Menu was fairly limited but was cooked well and full of flavour.

Buildings and amenities in need of some work

Best part was the lovely staff, particularly Tulu and Leala. Couldn't fault them, lovely friendly helpful ladies.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarragon, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

After a relaxing trip on the ferry from Savai , my husband and I were driven to Stevenson's where we received a warm friendly welcome and after a cool coconut juice drink, we we taken to are room. We had a beach front villa with a view of the beach and met lots of friendly people who were holidaying as well. Our room was very comfortable with its unusual design, the shower made from rocks was very authentic.
The food was nice and we ate manily fish if it was available on that day. Loved the fale style restaurant and a special thanks to Mao who was just gorgeous and looked after us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The world
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stevenson's has a great location with the fales right on the beach only a couple of steps from the water at hide tide. The fales are simple but comfortable and as opposed to other fales on Manase they do have their own en-suite which makes them a touch above the rest. The beds are comfy, they have mosquito nets (critical) and all the amenities. Beware though that they are the typical fale style accommodation: completely open air though you can bring down some sort of blinds that are made of banana leaves that provide a bit of privacy. The en-suites are very useful to lock in all your belongings so they are safe. You sleep with the sound of the waves and the beach in front of it is pretty. The food they serve is also very tasty though you have to order it in advance. As there are not a lot of choices in Manase it is quite a good idea. The staff were also very helpful (they even invited me to their village as I was on my own) and helped with everything they could even waiting for the bus with me so I wouldn't be alone. The trip to the ferry by bus is 1.20-30 minutes so bear this in mind if you plan to take public transportation. Taxi was 70 tala.
Perhaps the only draw back is that it was quite expensive. For sleeping with only a roof in a simple hut the price ($160-200) is a bit steep. I would nonetheless recommend them for the real fale experience with a little bit of comfort. It was a lovely experience

Room Tip: Get the fales, the other rooms are proper real rooms with walls and all the typical hotel comforts a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stevenson's at Manase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stevenson's at Manase

Address: North Coast Road, Manase Beach Area, Manase, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i > Manase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stevenson's at Manase 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the white sandy beaches just west of Manase, on the Island of Savaii. Our Villas, Suites and Euro Fales are just steps to the ocean’s edge and our restaurant, bar and function fale are situated within the tropical garden on the inland side of our property. With so many options, you're sure to find something that meets your needs and budget. Traditional materials are used throughout the resort to create a rustic appeal in our Villas, Euro Fales and the Restaurant. Stevenson’s Luxury Suites (our newest addition) have a surprisingly modern decor, using bright colours fused with old-world Samoan carvings, tapa designs and exquisite lava rock. Stevensons is the ideal spot for honeymooners and those seeking peace and quiet – swim or snorkel in the cool, clear blue water or simply relax on the beautiful white sandy beach and listen to the gently lapping waves. Simply paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Stevenson's at Manase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stevenson`s At Manase Hotel Manase
Stevensons At Manase Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stevenson's at Manase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.