We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel to your Saves list
The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road, Ampney Crucis GL7 5RS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampney Crucis
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We went to a function here a couple of weeks ago and was very disappointed with the experience. The food was luke warm and tasteless with the potatos half cooked, the staff were a strange mix and had no regard for customer satiosfaction whatsoever. I wanted to complain but my other half didn't want me to make a fuss. That said, the public bar was very busy and the food being served up there looked very good - maybe they just can't handle large numbers

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    78
    25
    17
    12
See reviews for
43
95
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were looking for a place to stay close to Barnsley House for a wedding and by chance this hotel came up. It was a real bargain and looked very cosy. I'm so happy we found it as it was just that,warm cosy and inviting. The decor is lovely , the rooms are a decent size and the breakfast was lovely food. The staff are helpful and it really ticked all the boxes. Will be coming back here for a long weekend definitely.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked via Booking.com on 22/10/14 for a room overnight on 5/12/14 and was able to do so at a price of £115. Looked online on 5/12/14 on the Crown of Crucis website and the most expensive room was just £60 with all the facilities we had for the nearly double price. Obviously not a good idea to book well in advance. Room was not worth that amount of money, although perfectly reasonable - although bed was not particularly comfortable and the basin in the morning didnot produce any hot water from the tap. We were attending a party so stayed only one night. I will certainly check out prices more thoroughly in the future and possibly not book so far in advance. Disappointing visit.

Room Tip: Do your homework on prices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent hotel. Staff welcoming and professional. When ever in this area I stay here rather than other hotels. Food always to high standard. Breakfast choice is fantastic and cooked to order.The location is good, quiet and has a lovely garden area and stream. Summer evenings are great especially if cricket playing over stream.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good, no noise issues at all. All have good views over stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We called in to eat and drink to prepare for a family wedding the next day......

The bar manager found us a table for ten despite not booking, the place was packed and it's no surprise!

Despite the shock that none of us were eating meat to his amusement, the manager was friendly and humorous, all staff were very attentive and helpful with some of our requests.

Some awesome local drinkers too, who made us feel very welcome :)

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Couldn't find a thing wrong with this hotel, it was absolutely fantastic.
From checking in, the receptionist Alice, was friendly and extremely helpful when helping me selecting a room.
The room itself was modern, clean and with an enormous double bed.
The bar and eating area with an open fire created a wonderful ambiance.
The menu offered a good range of choices, and all at a reasonable price.
Breakfast was just how I like it, plenty of choice regarding cereal and fruit. Full English breakfast was cooked to order.... Not the buffet rubbish that most hotels offer off ease !!!
Overall, can't recommend this place enough.... Fantastic !!!!

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Stayed two nights with our dog Percy. Found the whole xperience excellent. Clean room., wonderful views of small stream and access to cricket ground for frequent dog walks. Food excellent, staff likewise. Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel

Address: London Road, Ampney Crucis GL7 5RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Ampney Crucis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampney Crucis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To us, your stay at The Crown of Crucis is about more than the comforts afforded by your bedroom and en-suite. We want you to enjoy everything that our small but perfectly formed country inn and hotel has to offer. Take time to soak up the atmosphere of our historic bar, or the best of the sun in our riverside garden. Have a quiet coffee and read the papers in our lounge or courtyard garden. Sip your pre-dinner drinks or set the world to rights over a nightcap in our extremely homely Snug, opening soon exclusively to guests of the hotel and diners at the Brook restaurant. Wherever you choose to spend your time we only hope you make it quality time, and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Of Crucis Country Hotel Ampney Crucis
Crown Of Crucis Cirencester
Crown Of Crucis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.