We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is where you eat after a swim on the south coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Platia Restaurant

Platia Restaurant
Myrthios, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Myrthios
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Greece
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“This is where you eat after a swim on the south coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Don't miss this restaurant! Greeks are strict over food, and this is a place that locals love, so what else can I say? Friendly and warm staff, quick service, amazing views, everything of best quality and so delicious! Great value for money as well, we couldnt believe the bill. We even got advice from the owner that we ordered too much and he thinks we wont be able to eat it! Who does that, really??

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    13
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“for sure the best taverna in Myrthios”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I've spent now three summer holidays in myrthios and have tried also the other tavernas there (apart from Vrisi, the most recent one). The food over the 3 years has remained of very good standard. All the different types of stifado are tasty and well cooked. Red lamb and the snails the best I have found in Crete. Try also the fried meat balls and the potato/cheese balls. They are delicious starters!
And on top from the restaurant you get the best view of Plakias gulf

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rethymnon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing view that will blow your mind!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Platia Restaurant is located in one of the most amazing places ever. Myrthios Village is in Southern Rethymno in Crete at the perfect altitude that provides the visitor with a spectacular panoramic view of Plakias. The service at the place is welcoming and fast. The food is very good and I was satisfied by it both times I visited. Everything is clean and tidy. That is always important to me.

One thing that amazed me was the fact that they served Lager at the perfect iced cold temperature, making it that more refreshing.

At the end of the meal, you get a complimentary little bottle of ice cold Tsikoudia (Raki) and some fantastic cake! Just perfect.

If you are ever in the vicinity, don't think twice, just head up to Myrthios Village and stop at Platia and enjoy the view and the food. You will remember it always, I know I will.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excelent from all points of view !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This restaurant is excelent from all points of view !
Decoration is simple but elegant.
Service is very accurate, kind and fast. A special attention is dedicated to all guests by the manager Federico and all his staff.
The position is very special, with a big terrasse and a fantastic view.
Food is really special, traditional Greek home-made food, tasty and delicate at the same time.
Prices are very correct.
I found this restaurant absolutely perfect and I warmly recommend it !!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Great food, breathtaking view, excellent service, good value of money! I recomment this restaurant!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platia Restaurant also viewed

Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Platia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.