We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful apartment although initial chaos!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portavadie

Save Saved
You added Portavadie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portavadie
Loch Fyne | Argyll, Portavadie PA21 2DA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Portavadie B&B and Inns
Fife
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment although initial chaos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here in 2 bed luxury apartment in July 2013. On arrival we were informed that the dishwasher was not working in apartment 10 however were to be relocated for our last 2 days and given complimentary upgrade to a 3 bed apartment to compensate. However due to electrical problem we required to relocate to one of the cottages overnight which are nothing like the quality of the marina apartments.

This was obviously disappointing however full credit to Chris the manager who provided us with 1st class service and ensured we were compensated to our satisfaction. Our 2 days in the luxury apartment were fantastic and it is genuinely 5 star quality. Only slight criticism was that the wifi was pretty dire and no mobile coverage. Never ate in the restaurant as initial impression wasn't that great and it seemed to be fairly dead the three nights we stayed. Used the village store in Kames which was excellent and well stocked and ate at Kames, Wellpark and royal an Lochan which were all good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Public Relations Manager at Portavadie, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review regarding your stay in July. I am glad to hear Chris took care of you and that you generally enjoyed your stay. We take on board all feedback from our guests as we constantly strive to improve and develop our guest experience, thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again shortly.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    51
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
119
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

5 of us stayed in one of the 5* apartments, with 3 bedrooms all with en-suites. An open plan design which allowed for friends to enjoy each other's company whilst cooking or chilling out!
The sauna was loved by the two younger members of the party and the spa offered a welcome retreat for the ladies. The view of the marina and surrounding countryside were very pretty. Off the beaten track so a real treat to find the complex.
The play area for the children and the activities on Sunday morning meant that the kids were not obliged to play on gizmos all day!
The staff were very helpful and welcoming.
Would certainly recommend this little hidden gem

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Public Relations Manager at Portavadie, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review on our Luxury Apartments, I am glad to hear you and your friends enjoyed the sauna, play park, beauty room and the apartment itself. Sounds like you had a great time. We look forward to welcoming you back shortly, in the mean time look out for us on facebook.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the Cottage in July. Great wee cottage with all the facilities you need when self catering. Fantastic views of the Marina, sat out on the terrace most evenings. Eat at the Lodge where dogs are welcome ideal. Love this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Public Relations Manager at Portavadie, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Jenny,

Thank you so much for your review, it is great to hear you and your dog enjoyed Portavadie so much. We hope to see you again soon, in the meantime look out for us on facebook.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed in the Lodge House in a balcony room for a couple of days and the room itself was outstanding...great size and really modern and clean...the furniture was of high quality with a really comfortable bed. Already looking forward to visiting again once the planned leisure facilities are up and running....this will really enhance what was a lovely couple of days. We ate at the Lodge House and the Marina Restaurant and both meals were lovely especially the desserts!! What was really impressive about our stay were the staff....keen to please but not overbearing.....happy to take some time to take you thru any information you need...great touch....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Public Relations Manager at Portavadie, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Alison,

Thank you for your review on your stay in The Lodge at Portavadie, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed yourself and that your room was satisfying. We do pride ourselves on our customer service so I am glad you received just that. We look forward to welcoming you back shortly. In the mean time look out for us on Facebook.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We booked for one night at The Portavadie Marina through Late Rooms...as the weather to so good we wanted to make the most of it and get away when off work. Got a phone call the next day directly from Portavadie Marina to say they were over booked and could they upgrade us to a cottage instead of a room....result! When we arrived it was not terribly clear where we had to book in....was directed to another building and booked in adn got our key for the cottage. The weather was fantastic so everything looked stunning....the marina the boats and the scenery....The cottage was perfect..clean well equiped and with a great view. There was a table and chairs outside so could sit out and enjoy the view. The only gripe I would have was there seemed to be a bit of confusion when we paid the bill...tried to charge us the full overnight rate for the cottage...not the discount for the room we had booked...it was sorted quickly so that's all that matters. We were entitled to a continental breakfast which was fine...selection of breads,cereals,fruit,cheese,ham etc. It is a lovely place in a sunning location and would definately go back...don't know if I would like to drive some of the roads in the winter though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Public Relations Manager at Portavadie, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review regarding your stay at Portavadie. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the weather was on your side. We look forward to welcoming you back shortly, and in the mean time look out for us on Facebook.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We recently stayed at Portavadie after booking a deal for our anniversary. The place itself is lovely and the cleanliness of or room was of a very high standard however the room we were placed in was on the ground floor adjacent to the restaurant toilets which meant that we didn't get a great nights sleep due to people going in and out of the bathroom late at night. We asked if they could maybe put up a sign asking people not to bang the doors but this wasn't done. The towel rail in our bathroom also didn't work and the shower drain was also slightly blocked meaning that the water was spilling out all over the floor. We advised reception of this and the receptionist (yes the receptionist!) came to look at our towel rail but couldn't get it working. She went away and never came back so eventually we decided just to ask for extra towels as it didn't look like anyone was going to do anything about it!

We ate in the lodge restaurant on the first night as our deal included a main course and glass of wine each. My husband and I are not really drinkers so we asked if we could just have a soft drink instead however the waitress advised us that we weren't allowed to swap for anything else! We felt the menu was VERY limited and a bit overpriced. We eventually managed to choose something to eat from a choice of about 4 main courses only to be told that they had ran out of both things we asked for! This was disappointing and surprising given that this was only around 7:00 in the evening and there weren't that many guests! We also had breakfast and lunch in the lodge on both days and everything we had to eat was lovely however we did eat somewhere else for dinner on our second night due to the lack of choices on the menu.

Overall we had an enjoyable stay at Portavadie however a lot of things could have been better. Improvements definitely need to be made to the lodge menu!

Room Tip: Lodge room 1 is right next to the public toilets so you wont get a good nights sleep due to people g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Public Relations Manager at Portavadie, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Gosalina,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in The Lodge at Portavadie. I have passed your comments onto my colleagues regarding the Lodge menu and your drink allocation on the deal you were on, these will be reviewed imminently.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I stay in many places in my job around the world but I have to stay this is without a doubt the best. We booked a luxury apartment for 2 nights and arrived firstly to this wonderful location/setting. The marina and views and the drive her was stunning. O. Arrival the development complex looks new and incredibly well kept. We got to our apartment and wow! The most modern spacious bright apartment with a very modern design complete with say ann one of the bathrooms. Kitchen and living area and all the rooms are of the highest quality. Am convinced there is a Scandinavia connection to this place due to decor. Value for money.....without a doubt. Works out £130 a night....you won't get anything anywhere in the world of this quality for this price. Would I recommend it.....oh yes....we are definately coming back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Public Relations Manager at Portavadie, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Andy,

Thank you for your wonderful review, I am pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and the sauna in your apartment! We do pride ourselves on being good value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back shortly, in the meantime look out for us on facebook.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portavadie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portavadie

Address: Loch Fyne | Argyll, Portavadie PA21 2DA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Portavadie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Portavadie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A scenic 2 hour drive from Glasgow, this striking destination with a marina at its heart offers a range of accommodation with one common theme quality and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Portavadie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portavadie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portavadie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.