We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“consistently good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Tour des Vents

La Tour des Vents
Le Moulin de Malfourat, 24240 Monbazillac, Bergerac, France
05 53 58 30 10
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
surrey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“consistently good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Over the years, we have been infrequent clients, usually coming only once a year (sadly !), either on our own à deux, or with friends, or with a son to celebrate a wedding anniversary (a particularly memorable and lengthy experience -- poor, patient staff...) or with grand-daughters. This year (10/2013) for my wife's birthday - without any special request or prompting, they made a small cake with candle and a "bonne anniversaire" scribed elegantly in chocolate - a friendly gesture, typical of this place..

As described by previous reviewers, La Tour has lovely views and several terraces. The staff are always pleasant and competent yet without the superiority and condescension that sometimes accompanies the more self-important and inadequately-managed "Michelin" type establishments. La Tour is not a new arrival (as suggested by a previous review) but with its owner and chef, Madame Rougier Salvat, has been serving the region since 1988, with a supportive loyal local clientèle in addition to the foreign birds of passage, such as ourselves.

This year our bill ws 144€ for lunch, one menu at 42€ for "the birthday girl" and a very reasonable 3 course "formule" at 29€ and included apéritifs, digestifs and 1½ bottles of wine (31€ and 13€ respectively). "Vaut le voyage"

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    57
    16
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Osmets
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Food to match the location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Superb view across the Dordogne valley looking north to the town of Bergerac, only matched by outstanding food and service.
We let the sommelier choose our wine and an excellent red, not by any means the most expensive on the list was enjoyed by all.
Good presentation and will definitely go again when next in the area.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
398 reviews 398 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
“This tower is on the way up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This rather new establishment has only been around since 2010. It has jumped very quickly to Bib Gourmand and upward to its 1st Michelin Star and the lunch we ate on a rainy October Sunday was yet a further leap to top 2-star quality. It is built into a hillside, and is seemingly insignificant as you drive past. In fact we erroneously tried entered the house next door that seemed much larger and more like a restaurant, but the only person inside was a friendly large dog who, like the house, was likely the property of the Chef. When you do enter the low-lying flat functional building that IS the restaurant, you see that it is a beautiful construction,ultra-modern, full of light, and terraced so as to give spectacular views over the broad Bergerac vineyards spread out below. We were led with charm and civility to a beautifully appointed table, and before long we were munching a trio of delicious amuses bouches. This was followed by a much larger creation: a glass topped by mussels and underneath a jelly made of seafood juices resting on a creamy bed of fish-flesh from a species we could not identify.
We went for the 42-euro Menu that offered a choice of dishes for each course, and between us we sampled the lot: STARTERS: 1.Shrimps coddled with mushrooms, and jellied tomatos. 2. Pan-fried foie gras with carmelized apples. MAINS: 1. Roast hake with chorizo, green beans, and a warm mousse of pineapple and peppers, 2. Roast veal, smoked roast potatoes, and compote of onions. DESSERTS: 1. Chestnut and almond cream with carmelized cashews and Bailey's ice-cream. 2. Poached pear with carmel creme brule and Champagne ice-cream. Superb coffee with a generous trio of chocolates ended a faultlessly enjoyable meal. The Maitre D was an inspiration to the rest of the staff who followed his combination of efficiency and courtesy, and the senior of the two Chefs, Marie Rougier Salvat made a well-deserved round of honour of the packed restaurant at the end..One practical feature is the availability of excellent wines dispensed from a nitrogen system, and available in glasses of two different sizes ( and price). Be sure to book ahead, and book soon, because the cost of food of this quality is bound to go up as its recognition grows.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This is quite serious dining with exceptional service and wonderful food. How anyone can call it average I am not sure, I don't know where they normally eat. Our meal was made all the more enjoyable by watching a couple who were celebrating a 50th wedding anniversary enjoy every scrap of their meal and the whole experience, being looked after with great care by the staff. They, as did we, had a very enjoyable experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A thoroughly enjoyable experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This amazing Restaurant set among the vineyards overlooking Bergerac will long hold memories of a special occasion celebrated in true style. The atmosphere certainly enhanced by having had a window seat & great weather to sit back & enjoy the evening.The evening degustation menu comprising various interesting flavours presented with such intricate detail was exceptional. The attention from Maitre D' and staff was friendly, attentive and helpful. A thoroughly enjoyable experience & certainly worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tour des Vents also viewed

Monbazillac, Bergerac
Bergerac, Dordogne
 
Bergerac, Dordogne
 

Been to La Tour des Vents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tour des Vents, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.