We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could ever wish for from a B & B-that's La Muscadelle.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Muscadelle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monbazillac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Muscadelle
Save
You added La Muscadelle to your Saves list
Poulvere | Bergerac, 24240 Monbazillac, Bergerac, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Monbazillac B&B and Inns
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Everything you could ever wish for from a B & B-that's La Muscadelle.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We are a British couple in our 60's.We had the wonderful experience of staying with our hosts-Brenda and Michael-from 5-12 May 2012. Brenda very kindly met us at the airport to transport us to La Muscadelle. The approach was breathtaking as we saw the Chataeu on the hill en-route. We arrived at the B & B as Michael was serving breakfast to a very pleasant Belgian couple. Michael and Brenda had no hesitation in providing us with croissant and coffee/tea and made us feel straight at home. We stayed in the blue rooom which was immaculately presented, very comfortable bed, tea-making facilities and our own entrance with its own patio facing west to catch the beautiful sunsets. Excellent breakfast, never-ending supply of tea. Brenda/Michael supplied endless help & advice throughout the holiday for places to eat, to visit and history of the area. We enjoyed chatting to the guests but the garden was large enough to provide your own quiet corner to relax and rest. Brenda/Michael are the kindest people we have ever encountered over the years we have been staying at B and B's. There is no doubt that you will enjoy every minute and want to return with their excellent hospitality.Glor & Bill, Richmond, N. Yorks.

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
59
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

All I need to say at this point is STOP LOOKING FOR ANYWHERE ELSE AND STAY HERE!

Our plane landed at 9:30am, we picked up our car and we had unpacked our bags by 10:30am! The location is perfect - a maximum 10minute drive and it's not even on the flight path.

If it's your first time to the Bergerac region then you will love your hosts. They are full of knowledge about the local vineyards, history and places to visit. We had no idea where to go but their recommendations were perfect. They are also a lovely couple who will spend time getting to know you over a glass of wine! They even served us up some breakfast when we arrived, which was extremely nice of them and helped us to settle from the very first moment.

Bergerac town took us a few minutes to get to by car. We were informed a taxi would cost around €15-20 which seemed ok as there were 6 of us but we didn't need it as we had a pregnant designated driver!

The rooms are spotless in every way. They are all of similar size and I wouldn't say any room is the best or worse as they're all equally as nice.

If I had any criticism it would be that there was no communal area to relax when not out and about. This isnt a fault of the owners as they obviously live there themselves and have their own private living area. There were 6 of us so we took up all 3 rooms and looking back we would have liked a communal chill out zone for chats, games etc. this is our own fault for not checking before we went but please don't let that put you off as the hosts are fantastic and will make you feel so welcome and part of the furniture during your stay!

All in all, this is the perfect place for a short visit to Bergerac and the surrounding dordogne area.

Tip - make sure you have a car or getting around could be expensive!

Ideal for - couples looking for a 'home from home' or individuals looking for a quiet, relaxed stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Shropshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

After searching for a decent B&B in Bergerac on line I couldn't find any that had persistantly good reviews so I widened the the search to within 5 miles of town and saw La Muscadelle. It is absolutely ideal for Bergerac Airport. An easy 10 minute drive along quiet roads that got me into driving on the "wrong" side of the road without any alarms. The house is not on the flight path and set in lovely countryside. The owners are English which made life a little easier for the first day of my holiday so I didn't have to think about speaking French after a long journey, a bit of a cop-out I know!

We spent the first and last days of our holiday here and both were a pleasure. If we had stayed longer I feel I would give it 5 stars but we didn't have time to sample the great looking pool or hang around very long there. The room was perfectly fine and it was nice to have our own door in/out, to enable us to sit and do some star gazing on the patio outside.

The breakfast was a communal affair with all guests sitting at one large table. Call it English reserve but eating breakfast with strangers is not my first choice, however Michael, the co owner, is a cheery soul and keeps the conversations bouncing along in French and English. Overall breakfast was a fun experience.

Will definitely try to book here whenever we fly to Bergerac airport.

Finally, They recommended that we eat at the "Grape D'Or" restaurant for an evening meal. The food was top class but only go there if your pockets are deeper than mine! It cost me (inc tip) £ 25 for what was just a large chicken leg with some sauce and a glass of wine.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beulah, CO
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

La Muscadelle is a delightful place to stay. We have never stayed at a B&B we enjoyed more. Michael and Brenda are awfully nice, Michael puts together a great breakfast (fresh bread each morning, of course), sitting on the patio chatting with them and any other guests that are around was great fun. Michael is very knowledgeable on the local restaurants, one of the best meals I have ever had was his recommendation (and he drove us there and picked us up afterwards!!!)

The location was perfect. In general, it is central to a wonderful area to tour. Located in the country, La Muscadelle is quiet, settled in the middle of beautiful vineyards, but close to town. We walked to the chateau to sample the wines (which are excellent).

we only had three nights there, we will go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Just returned from this chambre d’hotes and can recommend it without any reservations. The lovely quiet location, the quality of the accommodation and, above all, the warmth of the hospitality offered by Brenda and Michael combine to outshine any hotel you might otherwise consider. You won’t want to return home!

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

La Muscadelle is in the heart of the wine tasting region. We had a walk around Monbazillac and managed to sample and buy the best wines we have ever tasted. On top of that, everything you read in the previous reviews about Brenda and Mike is true, so we were very lucky to stumble across this place. The setting is incredible, especially in the evening with the sun setting over the vineyards. The stay is such great value for money- a large fresh breakfast is included. The rooms have their own private patio entrance which I liked, and the pool can be open or covered during winter. If I come to the region again I will definitely stay here because it is worth every one of the 5 stars I have rated it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CodfordStMary
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We had read the excellent reviews of La Muscadelle and were, therefore, expecting a very high standard- and we got it. The welcome was warm and friendly and the little kindnesses shown were appreciated. Our room was comfortable and looked out over the garden that looked splendid. The attention to detail reflected Michael's training in the Royal Navy. This is the most comfortable Chambre dHote we have visited in France. Michael and Brenda are to be congratulated on all that they hav done to make La Muscadelle such a happy place to stay.

Room Tip: We were shown all the bedroom and they were equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Muscadelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Muscadelle

Address: Poulvere | Bergerac, 24240 Monbazillac, Bergerac, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac > Monbazillac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Monbazillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our house, which is surrounded by vines, is situated 4km from Bergerac and the airport and provides the ideal base to explore the immense wealth of the area. Brenda and Michael welcome guests all year round and are always more than happy to share with them this haven of peace. Guests can enjoy a hearty breakfast on the terrace with a view over the Chateau de Monbazillac and the surrounding vineyards. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Muscadelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.