We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish & chips!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fishing Boat Inn

The Fishing Boat Inn
14-15 Beach View | Boulmer Village, Boulmer, Alnwick NE66 3BP, England
+44(0)166 557 7750
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Boulmer
Cuisines: Seafood, British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tyne & Wear
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great fish & chips!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

visited on weekday lunchtime so the place wasn't the busiest. We sat outside due the nice weather and the amazing views over the bay. After seeing other peoples fish and chips I got the same and wasn't disappointed, huge portions and delicious! Slightly high prices but still delicious!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    53
    23
    12
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice meal, but overpriced and poor service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Arrived and sat at a vacant table, after 5 minutes went to the bar for a menu. Were then informed that the table we were sitting at was reserved and we would have to sit elsewhere. By that time the pub had filled up and no other seats available. Staff weren't bothered about asking if we would wait until a table was available. We asked how long a wait we would have and it turned out it would only be 20 minutes, so we ordered drinks and waited. Ordered our food which arrived relatively quickly and the Fisherman's Platter was very good, the 2 Sunday roasts were quite good but the 'Homemade' Steak and Ale pie was very average, accompanied with a few chips and peas. Almost £40 for the four of us, not including drinks and there was little choice of soft drinks available. Very overpriced and would be very unlikely to go again. The young staff were not welcoming at all

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very nicely improved.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We have the "FBI" as we call it, almost on our doorstep, but hadn't been there for a while. This was because of the cold reception we had on a previous occasion. I am happy to say that things have improved massively, and the food we had from the evening menu was great, so we'll be back for more soon. The view from the dining room is stunning, by the way.....

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing View!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great view from the conservatory so make sure you book a table in there! Good honest home cooked pub food served here in this pub which is almost on the beach at Bloumer. You can eat, drink and bird watch at the same time! Very good service and a great welcome. Good value. Happy to recommend!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mums gone to Iceland!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We decided to end a lovely day in Northumberland having tea at the fishing boat inn, on the recommendation of a colleague. Despite not being bowled over by the scruffy looking car park , and seeing the chef in an upstairs window making me feel a little uneasy (not sure why it just did) we were pleasantly surprised by the interior, very characterful. The two girls working were lovely, friendly and very helpful, 10/10. the food was truly unpleasant, it must have been all pre frozen. If the kids were not so tired we'd have given the feedback but we needed the bill quick to get back to teesside and the kids to bed. My scampi was horrible my wife thought I must be seriously ill given how much I'd left. I'm sure it was a one off experience, but I wish I'd not listened to my
Colleague.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fishing Boat Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Fishing Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fishing Boat Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.