We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time and will be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fishing Boat Inn

The Fishing Boat Inn
14-15 Beach View | Boulmer Village, Boulmer, Alnwick NE66 3BP, England
+44(0)166 557 7750
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Boulmer
Cuisines: Seafood, British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“First time and will be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Good food with a varied menu. Prices not too steep. Service from a very pleasant blond young lady made our visit pleasurable. Toilets clean and well kept.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    57
    26
    12
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ashington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great food arrogant land lord and lady”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

carnt fault the food but the chef is an out standing cook, but the owners on the other hand is a diff kettle of fish , arrogant seemed to have an alcohol problem, very rude and the waitin staff , waiting is the operative word , took an hour just to get a drink and when i got it it was flat , one of the waiting staff think she,s Australian , dont mention that word to her or u,ll never get ur meal

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Awesome location shame about the owner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Visited a few times and heard about the food. It is good on a good day. Shame this wasnt one of those. The owner is miserable and totally disinterested. I overheard him stating we don't serve food till 6 even though the restaurant was rammed with customers wanting to order food. He also tried to get a customer to leave his credit card behind the bar!!! And asked the same person how much the crab fish cakes wherein his own menu!!! Appalling behaviour all round. Luckily for him he has a young lady working there who obviously runs the show. What a waste of an excellent location could be so much better and a potential gold mine. Shame

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
consett
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“first time,last time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

passed this pub plenty of times,but called in on Saturday.very disappointed.sat outside for a sandwich & pint.what I got was a warm pint of Guinness,a very small baquette & poor service.when the food arrived if it had been placed any harder on table you would have called it"thrown at me",had to go and get our own knives & forks & condiments,i will certainly not be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Welcome pause on our walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Half way point on our coastal walk - fabulous food and our favourite Black Sheep Bitter. Not warm enough to sit out but conservatory dinning area ideal looking onto the beach. This pub was recommended to us by friends and we will certainly do the same.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fishing Boat Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Fishing Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fishing Boat Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.