We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Christmas Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sunset Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Flying Fish Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sunset Hotel
4/55-63 Gaze Street, Flying Fish Cove, Christmas Island 6798, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Value for Christmas Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

When you compare the remoteness of Christmas Island against other northern WA towns, the cost of food at Christmas Island and the demand on accommodation here, the price for ocean views is surprisingly low. This is my fourth trip back in 8 years. The accommodation has always been neat, clean and with all the amenities you need, its a place worth considering. I have always chosen the superior ocean view rooms so I've had the best of what they have to offer.
The hotel is a short walking distance to the pub and the pharmacy as well as a few shops between the two.

Room Tip: If possible make sure you book a minimum of three nights as they have a booking surcharge of $30 for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
10
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Located at the Settlement, this lodge is within walking distance of restaurants, post office, visitor center, Flying Fish Cove. Very convenient location. Great view in the evening of the Indian Ocean. Peaceful and quiet. Had a most wonderful stay, watching the red crab migration and forest trekking. Rooms are clean and spacious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Quiet, cleaned daily, own bathroom, some rooms over look the ocean and see the setting sun, short walk to pub and restaurant, on site parking for your hire car, need to book advance,all rooms have fan and air conditioning,the red crabs can bee seen around the hotel during the spawning season,

Room Tip: book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustenburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The place is named the Sunset for a reason. The views are magnificent! Angela ia one of the friendliest hosts you could wish for. I was really impressed that before I asked, she had worked out that I was leaving for the airport in the afternnon, and so she offered me a late checkout without even being asked. The Sunset does not offer any meals, and as they are quite small, perhaps that is understandable. I had no difficulty finding good dinners every night, but breakfasts were a problem. I could not find many places, and those I did find all opened quite late, when I was already at work. My sugggestion to the Sunset would be to provide a sheet in each room, of available restaurants with opening timesand a simple map.
If I go back to Christmas Island, I would stay nowhere else...

Room Tip: Sea view, upper level, is the best. Also the most pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Amazing view over the ocean and Flying Fish Cove. Owners Angela and Dennis couldn't do enough for you. Daily room service. Swimming pool to cool you down at the end of a hot day.
Very clean. Air-conditioned for comfort. What more could you want.
Cafe and Restaurant in walking distance for breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: Room 201, upstairs on the corner. Car hire for any trip to Christmas Island essential, can be arran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Great place to stay on an Island with amazing bird life and scenery- plus the red crabs! Very friendly staff and owners (Angela) who make you feel welcome. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are good for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

For the price, it was disappointing however everything is expensive on the island. The rooms could do with makeover - new and softer pillows, new bed covers, curtains that close properly, better lighting and the bathrooms need a total refurbishment. Also, I had ants and cockroaches in my room - the ants even managed to get into the fridge!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunset Hotel

Also Known As:
The Sunset Hotel Christmas Island/Flying Fish Cove
Address: 4/55-63 Gaze Street, Flying Fish Cove, Christmas Island 6798, Australia
Location: Australia > Christmas Island > Flying Fish Cove
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Flying Fish Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sunset Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Sunset Hotel to your Saves list