We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Preservation at its best.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Muang Sing Elephant Village

Muang Sing Elephant Village
203 Moo 3, Srimongkol subdistrict, Sai Yok 71150, Thailand
08-50354306
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Elephant trekking, elephant training, elephant bathing in River Kwai, river rafting, Mahout (elephant rider) training, cafe
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Preservation at its best.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have been to a few different Elephant camps and this is one of the better ones. They have a great program for westerners who want to get the full experience of taking care of elephants. It is a bit far out of town but not more than an hour almost the half way mark between Kanchanaburi and Erawan falls on a side ride going towards Sai Yok. When you support places like this it helps preserve the elephant culture in Thailand a good place to go all around.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    4
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“27 Elephants along the river”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Muang Sing Elephant Village is a clean, welcoming attraction, on the bank of a broad river. The attraction has been going for seven years now. The manager said there are currently 27 elephants living there, one of which is pregnant. The youngest was said to be four, which is occupied with taking visitors for a swim while her head is scrubbed; her mother gives the chair-rides. One of the guides said that only females are used, as the males are difficult to manage when they come into 'Musth.'
The chair rides are half an hour, with a step into the river, without the riders getting wet.
For the more adventurous, there's bathing with the elephant, including a great photo-op of standing up tall, astride the elephant!
After the ride or bathing-cleaning, there's a complimentary dish of slices of watermelon, with a cold cup of bottled water.

I accompanied five acquaintances--they chose to ride the chair-topped ellies, while I refrained, choosing to chat with the manager.
I choose to turn from supporting activities requiring the cruel, abhorrent, abusive use of PHAJAAN, or 'Kraal' or the 'training crush.'

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Elephant Riding, Bathing & Swimming with Elephants in Kanchanaburi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Muang Sing Elephant Camp in Kanchanaburi is similar to other Elephant Camps in Kanchanaburi. Normally, they offer similar activities, such as: Elephant Riding, Bathing and Swimming with Elephants, taking the advantage of the proximity to the River.

The Riding is normal in the bush area; which is available in many Elephant Camps, even outside Kanchanaburi.

The price normally is THB 600 per person (sharing of two for each elephant), OR single payment of THB 1,200 (for single person ride) for half an hour. The same price costing for Elephant Bathing or Swimming with Elephants (i.e. THB 1,200 for single person for half an hour).

Now, Kanchanaburi is far and takes more than 3 hours’ drive in each direction from Bangkok. Normally, Elephant Camps close before 5 pm. Therefore, if you are interested in Elephant Bathing and Swimming with Elephants, it is recommended to stay in Kanchanaburi area one night before; to have full enjoyment for these activities or to leave from Bangkok very early, if you are thinking for day trip in Bangkok.

I would recommend visiting Elephant Camp in Kanchanaburi, if you are looking in particular for Elephant Bathing and Swimming with Elephants. Elephant Riding is avail in different locations and it is recommended to compile it with visiting the Floating Market; where Elephant Camps for riding is available next door.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend a cuple of hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We went to the Elephant Village while staying in Kanchanaburi. I always wanted to ride an elephant, so we thought, why not. We got there and everyone was very friendly. First you chose what you want to do: Ride the elephants, take a shower with them, feed them etc. We chose the simple riding tour. We went to the place where you "mount" the elephant and a minute later we sat on one. I was scared at first that the seat we sat on would slip and we'd fall off, but fortunately this didn't happen. The elephant knew where to go, even without his "master" (who sat on his head) telling him. At some point, the master dismounted, asked for my camera and took a loooot of pictures of us on the elephant. It was fun riding the elephant, and we got some nice pictures. Afterwards we decided to feed them as well. You pay 100 Baht for a whole basket of bananas, and the elephants are very happy to be fed and you can play with their trunks (but be careful, when they sneeze you will have goo all over you!). All in all it was a nice experience. The elephants seemed healthy and well fed. A little bored, but wouldn't you be bored when you had to walk around all day, carrying tourists? :D

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muang Sing Elephant Village also viewed

Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Sai Yok, Kanchanaburi Province
 
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 

Been to Muang Sing Elephant Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muang Sing Elephant Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.