We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Hills Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phanom
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elephant Hills Tented Camp
170 Moo 7 | Khlong Sok, Phanom, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Phanom
Rungsted, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best experience ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

After 4 days Jungle lake Safari with Elephant Hills our verdict is clear: that Elephant Hills Jungle Lake Safari is of another League. We have never tried anything like this: From feeding and washing the elephants, sailing down the Sok River in Thailand's jungle, trekking through the millions of years old jungle, spotting Gibbons in the early morning when the jungle awakens to swimming and relaxing in the fabolous floating tent camp. Everthing was arranged to perfection .The set up both in the Jungle and in the floating Camp was excellent, everything was done according to the highest standards and our guides cannot be recommended too much. The Elephant Hills Safari is simply a must - if you have not been there, you have to go. And we will definetely come back!

Room Tip: All tents are identical with very good toilet and showering facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephant_Hills, Camp Coordinator at Elephant Hills Tented Camp, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear AlexDenmark

Greetings from Elephant Hills.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. It was great to read that you had such a thoroughly good time and enjoyed both of our camps.

I look forward to seeing you in the future.

All the best.
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    290
    49
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
89
201
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Spent four days of our honeymoon here. Rooms, food and service were all excellent. Would go back but possibly two to three days are enough.

Met some great people and found the whole experience very enjoyable

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephant_Hills, Camp Coordinator at Elephant Hills Tented Camp, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear acekicker77

Greetings from Elephant Hills.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. It is great to read that we have had another satisfied guest. I look forward to seeing you in the future.

All the best.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Really enjoyed this experience -we stayed for 3 days esp the elephants but also the boat trip and just being in the camp.Everyone ate together and we got to meet lots of lovely people including Tony who was in the next tent and who was bright and funny -we even met up again in Phuket! The tents are wonderful and the food is great and I had a morning to myself by the pool which was so peaceful .There is no pressure to do anything and you dont have to be really fit to be there and take part in the walks or canoeing etc I enjoyed visisting the local market on one of the trips which was a real eye opener and the surroundings around camp are fantastic. Thanks to Mark Bamboo and Vicky but alos everyone who made this trip fantastic

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephant_Hills, Camp Coordinator at Elephant Hills Tented Camp, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear harry1994

Greetings from Elephant Hills.

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had such a great time and will pass on your comments to Bamboo and Vicky.

All the best.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I traveled to Elephant Hills in August 12 and was a little concerned as it was the Wet Season so I only booked one night stay, wont make the same mistake next time. I booked over the internet relay easy and super fast. Even if you only have 2 days it is well worth the long drive to see this place. Refreshing change from busy Phuket it is quiet relaxed and the open common areas and tented style accommodation makes it easy to talk to fellow guests.
The elephant experience was great loved the opportunity to feed and wash the elephants just wish I could have stayed longer.
All the staff are great rely know their stuff and seem to include all in the activities of the day. The activities were suitable for even the most unfit of us which gave an opportunity to get out into the jungle, relay liked the jungle lunch stop. Nice to have uncomplicated thai style food served simply in an open air pavilion the day starts and ends hear. At night there was a demonstration of Thia dancing and a cooking demonstration in this area more reason to get out of the Luxury tent and join in the fun.
Tented accommodation was much better then expected very comfortable all you could need for a good nights sleep. The en-suite open air shower and loo great and very practical ( even had a hair dryer). Great to listen to the sounds of the rain forest while in bed at night. Camp manager spends much of his day in the common area was great source of information and am sure would sort problems out very quickly. He had suggested to a couple who had booked to go back to Phuket and then had planed to go out to one of the islands that they could go to the island and save a day. Well worth an email to find out if their is a better way to arrange your holiday.
Only disappointment was I did not book the 3 day package.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephant_Hills, Camp Coordinator at Elephant Hills Tented Camp, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear BombaySally

Greetings from Elephant Hills.

Thank you for writing such a thorough and pleasing revieew. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you in the future.

All the best.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights and three days at elephant hills.... And didn't want to leave. The elephant experience (yes we loved Ha Ha the baby elephant), but getting the elephants their snack, feeding them, watching them play in the dam then washing them was something our family will never forget.

The food was great and they really looked after our family member with allergies. I can say enough about the staff or our guide! Nothing was a problem, very thoughtful.

Yes we did all the water things (canoe, kayak, river junk, speed boat) saw a fishing village, lots of amazing cliffs/ jungle trek etc so we were really busy but that worked well for my active teen /preteen. The private beach was a rare find in Thailand, just us and the little crabs, perfect water temp... Sigh

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephant_Hills, Camp Coordinator at Elephant Hills Tented Camp, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Cherylne F

Greetings from Elephant Hills.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with. It is always rewarding to read that our guests have had a great time and enjoyed their stay with us.

Look forward to seeing you in the future.

All the best.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had the 3 day, 2 nights at Elephant Hills + Rainforest (floating) Camp. It's all *very* tame and family friendly. The food was an unexpected highlight, spicy or not, take your pick, it was all really really nice.

Getting up close with the elephants was a unique and enjoyable experience, and the rainforest camp was fantastic, very relaxing, loved being able to walk out from the bed and jump straight into the lake.

We heard monkeys all around the camp, and saw a few with binoculars that quickly disappear into the trees once you *finally* catch them in your sights!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephant_Hills, Camp Coordinator at Elephant Hills Tented Camp, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Scott M

Greetings from Elephant Hills.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us, I am glad to hear that you had such a good time and enjoyed our Rainforest Camp;s design.

All the best.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our family of four (teenage boys) stayed two nights. We had one night at the main camp and one night at the floating rainforest camp. The elephant experience was amazing, washing and feeding them was one of the highlights. All the activites were great, food fantastic, accommodation top notch. Our only regreat was not staying two nights at the rainforest camp. Vicki was our guide. She has a fantastic personality and full of information. There is also enough time for relaxing so it is a good balance of activies and chill out time. Thanks Elephant Hills for a awesome time!

Room Tip: A must to stay at both camps
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephant_Hills, Camp Coordinator at Elephant Hills Tented Camp, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Philippa R

Greetings from Elephant Hills.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. It is much appreciated by all of us at Elephant Hills to read that our guests have had a great time.

By only staying one night at the Rainforest Camp, you have a good excuse to return.

All the best.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elephant Hills Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Hills Tented Camp

Address: 170 Moo 7 | Khlong Sok, Phanom, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Phanom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Phanom
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Hills combines the African Safari tent camp idea with the breathtakingly beautiful environment of Khao Sok in Southern Thailand. Furthermore, the resort offers 2-5-day soft adventure tours, including kayaking, lake explorations, mangrove expeditions, jungle treks and the unique Elephant Hills elephant experience. Here you get to wash, feed and interact with Asia's largest land animal in a sustainable and fun way. Elephant Hills does not offer Elephant riding out of respect towards the elephants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elephant Hills Tented Camp Hotel Surat Thani
Elephant Hills Tented Camp Thailand/Phanom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Hills Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Elephant Hills Tented Camp to your Saves list