We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this little escape. Just a few issues.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow to your Saves list
Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   35/5 Moo 6 T. Klongsok, Phanom, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Loved this little escape. Just a few issues.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

What a great escape from the beach. So relaxing at the bungalow and trip to the lake house was fantastic. Wish they would have posted an itinerary. I was confused with what we were doing and the staff thought we didn't have a night safari. Another member of the group had to argue so we went out. Safari's are from the motor boat. Hard to see animals with the loud motor scaring them away. Better off going on a kayak on your own. I'm a bit of a science geek and crave info on these trips. Guides were not forthcoming about wildlife, the park, the lake. I asked a lot of questions. Got some replies. Read up in wifi after and found they had given missinformation.

Back on land at the bungalows decided to stay a few more nights. Issue with the room and they didn't have a key. Kept saying they would fix it but never did. Luckily nothing got stolen.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    25
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
9
45
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malmö, Skåne Län, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We loved this place! Wonderful people working here that makes you feel like home from the second you walk in, always with warming smiles on their faces. The bungalows are really comfortable, and the prices are really good. The thai food at the resort is delicious, the cooks do a great job!
The nature is wonderful and you can go trecking in the National park looking for animals with a guide, or by yourself, either way the scenery is beautiful! Smileys have lots of activities and tours you can go on for good prices, all you have to do is ask them :)
The trip out to the Lake House was the best time of our lives, the beauty of the nature out there must be seen with your own eyes!
We will most definitely will come back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have had the wonderful opportunity to stay at Smiley's bungalow and lake house twice. I enjoyed my stay so much in December 2012 that I returned for a few more days in January 2013 and absolutely loved it.

The family that runs Smiley Bungalows are truly special people. They treat everyone as if they are a member of their family and they will bend over backwards to do anything for you. There is a reason they are called smileys! They were always laughing and smiling and having a good time.

The Bungalows

The bungalows are perfectly tucked into the forested hills and the scenery is breath taking - mountainous rock formations and jungle noises are all around you. A very peaceful and surreal place to spend time at. A perfect place for chilling. Especially in a hammock!

Don’t forget to ask about all the activities they offer from tubing down a river through a jungle of trees and beautiful mountains, elephant riding, touring sacred temples and hiking through really cool caves, they also provide great customer service. You will not be disappointed! One entrance to Khao Sok National Park is only a ten minute walk away from Smiley.


The Lake House

Is an incredibly beautiful experience not to be missed. Spending a few nights out on the lake will definitely be a highlight of anyone's trip. I know it was for me. Could have stayed here for a period of time.

The long-tail journey to the floating bungalows was such a beautiful journey, you felt like you were completely away from civilization. The floating lake house is located about 20 km from the pier and in a completely secluded bay on Chiao Lan Lake. The sounds of nature, from gibbons to cicadas were absolutely beautiful and the stars are amazing.
The cave hike with Dee was great fun and his knowledge of the flora and fauna was good.

They feed you fantastic meals, there is no one else around but the ones staying in the floating cabins and you have a beautiful warm lake at your doorstep to enjoy swimming and kayaking at you liesure. Or just lay in a hammock on the water’s edge. A True Oasis!! Don't miss the jungle hike to an 800m long cave while there. It’s an experience not to be missed.
Dee and the rest of the staff at the Lake house are GREAT and Dee speaks good English.

Thank you Phaiwan, Bao, Dee and the rest of the wonderful staff for making my stay with you so memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have stayed at Smiley's Bungalow during many trips to Thailand over the past decade. Never have I experienced a more loving, kind, dedicated family, nor have I found a more wonderful place to stay. The accommodations are great, and staying at Smiley's gives one a chance to see a part of Thailand the tourist trail normally misses. The family will bend over backwards to see that you're taken care of. Even writing this review I just can't wait to get back to Khao Sok again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed at Smiley's bungalow March 2012, both land and lake, and absolutely loved it. We arrived at night and didn't really see much in the dark, so when I stepped outside of my bungalow in the morning, I was shocked. I thought I'd walked right into the set of Jurassic Park. Amazing view, everything is vivacious and flourishing, jungle noises all around you and such a peaceful atmosphere. The family who runs the place are so nice, and really make you feel like you're welcome; not one bad thing to say about this place. I would go back in a second.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Words can't express this natural and beautiful position of bungalows. Smiley lake raft houses where the highlight of our holiday. This is a family based concern and we felt part of the family. Thank you Phiwan, mr coke can, Dee, and Gone plus kit, on the lakehouse your all amazing. We will return. See you in Shrewsbury in May Dee. Thank you for sharing a taste of true abd beautiful Thailand with us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was my favorite place to visit in Thailand! Smiley Bungalow is owned by a Thai family who are all very nice and super friendly. They try to make you feel as comfortable as possible. The food was great and the accommodations had everything it needed. I really couldn't ask for anything more. I recommend the Lake house trip as it is an amazing scene to witness. Nothing but you on a lake surrounded by jungle, very calming and beautiful. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow

Address: 35/5 Moo 6 T. Klongsok, Phanom, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Phanom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Phanom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow Hotel Surat Thani
Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow Thailand/Phanom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khao Sok Smiley Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.