We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incapable&uninterested staff, bad service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of At Home Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added At Home Resort to your Saves list
At Home Resort
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   68 Moo 6 | Klong Sok, Phanom 84250, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Phanom B&B and Inns
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Incapable&uninterested staff, bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in november, wanted to stay 3 but left after 2.
Positive: the room was clean, surroundings nice

Negative: During arrival, first thing one of the young, bad English speaking boys said that we had to pay and a map with the available tours were handed. Not a good start.
Reception and 'restaurant' area very dark, not inviting at all, nobody ever ate here, only the staff walked/sleeped there. Early in the morning and late in the evening everything was closed, nobody there.
After the first night our room was not cleaned, and no new towels were supplied. Again very uninterested staff, some didn't say anything and looked at you as they were thinking 'what do you want?'. At the bar more not that friendly Thai people just looking at us.

Of the many places we have stayed in Asia, this was the one with the most incapable, unfriendly, unwilling staff. If you want a friendly place with normal service to stay, don't stay here. Options enough in Khao Sok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We selected this resort after some research on the internet. Just two came up, morning mist and this one. Although at home has no swimmingpool it is still good value. Upon arival with our 1yr old Son the staff welcomed us and took our bags to the room. They even carried the baby stroller up the stairs to the room. A babybed was readily available and room was already airconned and very clean so we could put our Son to sleep easily. Breakfast is nothing special but does the trick, although you can order from the menu banana pancakes, our sons favorite... Lunch and dinner are good, we didnt feel like going to annother place for food. THe staff is very friendly and helpful. Their English is somewhat lacking which has caused some confusion, but nothing serious occured. They try very hard and go to lengths to help you. They were quickly to make friends with our son so felt at home. The tours They offer are the same as anywhere but quite good. Exception was the jungle trek. We had à Guide who was more interested in taking pictures from spiders them properly guiding us. We could have done The track alone.

Room Tip: The concrete bungalows are clean and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
368 reviews 368 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The last vew days of my vacation in Thailand without planning it, we came to Khao Sok National Park. After searching for a hotel in this Area, finnaly we found At Home Resort. I choosed this hotel because of picture on the website. I need some quiet days before going back home. When I entered this hotel that has a wonderful view, I did really feel that I'm in a resort, no swimming pool or spa but it is a resort. Kindly and helpfull staff. Great food and reasonable price. The room is clean with AC and TV. In the evening you only hear the music of the jungle. It was raining 3 days long during my stay but It was very nice to stay in this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have booked At home resort using agoda, and it is located near Khao Sok national park. We stayed 3 nights in a wooden chalet. These are very cosy, air comditioned and tv equiped. For wifi you need to go to the restaurant. Bathroom has good shower. We stayed during the start of the rainy season, which in this case means 90% rain during day and night. Though we did not spend much time outside in the surroundings. Just enjoyed on the front porch, the natural scenery of sounds and birds, meditate, watched tv and had a delicious meal in the restaurant where a friendly staff welcomed us all the time. We really feld at home in "At Home Resort".

Room Tip: You an choose for a standard (concrete) room, but a wooden chalet was a welcome change for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Didn't want to leave.

Very hospitable staff- took our bags straight to our room after we arrived from a long journey.

We did the night safari tour which was fun. We also did the lake tour, long day but enjoyable travelling across the lake and discovering creatures on the jungle walk- your shoes will get wet for sure.

Try the pineapple smoothie and thai pork basil stir fry. Lovely sitting on the deck looking at the view and enjoying the peace and quiet.

The air con in the rooms works a treat which can be rare in thailand.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed at "at home resort" for one night last night (9th July) with my boyfriend after a few mix ups at khao sok paradise resort meaning the room we had booked wasn't available. We will be staying there tonight and so review to follow!

The staff are amazing, couldn't be more helpful if they tried. We were greeted by two men who took our bags and carried them straight to our delux cottage. We didn't even need to go through a check in procedure, they were already expecting us.

The rooms are small wooden cottages placed along a decked platform. The view is breathtaking. We had AC, hot water, a TV (that played English films on one channel every now and again) and a comfortable bed. I would say this place would be great for those who like the idea of being close to nature but aren't too keen on being without their comforts. The sounds around the cottage could have been playing from a relaxation CD. I haven't felt as peaceful as i did there during my 6 weeks in Thailand.

The food is great and reasonably priced. I had chicken and cashew nuts for lunch which cost 120 baht. The pineapple smoothie is a must try to anyone visiting here. The portion sizes aren't tiny either which was very appreciated after a few weeks of never really feeling full up.

There is one staff member in particular who I'd like to mention as being an asset to the resort. I'm not sure of his name however he has tattoos and was always there with a smile. His English wasn't great but I got the impression he was the only person there that day who could speak even a bit. He was happy to help us with anything and he made our stay even more pleasant.

In terms of location it is about 1km to the park entrance. My bf and I walked it in about ten minutes and it's all flat road. There isn't much around, but I guess that's all part of the relaxing experience. After a few weeks in places such as Phuket and Phi Phi, it was nice to walk down the road and not be hassled for a massage!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at "At Home Resort" in March 2012 and would definitely recommend it to anyone who's planning to spend a couple of days in Khao Sok Nat'l Park.
Pros:
- very good location,
- immaculately clean rooms with a wonderful view,
- excellent fruit shakes,
- helpful staff (will organize all tours you wish to participate in)

Cons:
- none

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to At Home Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home Resort

Address: 68 Moo 6 | Klong Sok, Phanom 84250, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Phanom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Phanom
Hotel Class:3.5 star — At Home Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our natural surroundings Thai contemporary design vacation home provides you with all comforts of home and hospitality service. The resort is quietly nestled in the breathtaking region of an untouched evergreen Thailand rain forest with a spectacular view of limestone mountains and wide range of local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your At Home Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Home Resort Thailand/Phanom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage At Home Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.