We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay here started off rocky but ended up being great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maikhao Dream Resort & Spa, Natai

Save Saved
You added Maikhao Dream Resort & Spa, Natai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maikhao Dream Resort & Spa, Natai
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   55 Moo 6, Kok Kloi, 82140, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
All Over...
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“My stay here started off rocky but ended up being great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I booked this resort for 7 nights after staying in Kata Beach. The price was excellent and that is the main reason why I decided to move north. I was looking for a 5 star beach front resort and this seemed to make the cut. I hired a transfer from my previous resort to this resort, and it was rather difficult for my driver to locate it. There are two resorts under this name one being in Phuket, and the other in Phang Nga. Initially, my driver took me to the wrong location even though I provided the full address. Off the highway, we could not find proper signage for this resort. When booking, be sure to note the correct directions; perhaps in Thai as well.

Upon check in I was greeted by friendly staff that provided warm smiles. I also enjoyed welcome drinks. I booked a garden view room and I found it to be very spacious at 53 square meters. The décor was clean and modern. The room had plenty of shelving and storage, a couch, lots of cushions and chairs which I was happy about. I was also given a welcome fruit basket which was nice. The internet was excellent, fast and secured. In terms of meals, breakfast was provided daily in the form of a buffet. There was a selection of fruit, hot dishes pastries and freshly made muesli and yogurts. It also had some cold cuts and cheeses however, the cheese was melted together and it looked unappetizing. Some of the breads provided were rather stale and dried out. Some days, they provided European style breads however most other days had sliced sandwich breads. The resort provided store bought juice and I was a little surprise as this is a five star and they did not have freshly squeezed juices. When I stayed there were two groups of tourists Chinese and Italian. It seemed like when groups were staying at the resort, food was better.

For the first few days, it rained and we took advantage of the free shuttle. It takes you to a nearby Tesco. They drop you off and pick you up in about an hour and a half which was nice. While in Phuket we visited a Big C but this Tesco was nothing like it. The Tesco was small and did not have a variety of ready-made foods like Big C. There was however a bakery, pharmacy and donut shop. Outside has a nearby 7/11 and food stalls where you can buy local food and snacks. The hotel said it is a local market. On a few occasions, on the way back from Tesco, the driver took us to a local fruit market and we were happy to buy mangos, pomellos and tangerines. There are also local massage and restaurants located towards the resort but not walking distance.

The resort is rather secluded and we took advantage of the in room dining daily. The prices are comparable to American standards. I wasn’t surprised as this is a five star. The overall quality of food was rather disappointing and in need of improvement. The serving size was rather small. My favorite was the cream of mushroom soup as it tasted homemade. I did try to order a variety of foods however, very few appealed to me for a second order. Having to eat there everyday was a bit of a struggle. The menu itself had variety, but lacked a few classics such as pizza or chicken fingers. It also lacked a variety of salads. One nice touch was during turn down service, staff would leave a plate of baked goods daily. I also liked the four bottles of water in room daily provided. Happy hour at the pool is provided and I only took advantage of this a few times as I didn’t really like my options for non-alcoholic. I opted to order my preference of freshly squeezed juices which generally were really good. When I was here, only one restaurant out of a few was in operation as there was heavy construction taking place. Although there weren’t many guests staying here aside from the tour groups, it would have been nice for more variety.

Moreover, in term of the pool, it was nice and big as I spent most of my time in the water. This made up for other things. The grounds are beautifully decorated with a contemporary feel. There are lots of touches and sitting areas which I enjoyed. In terms of the beach, I was shockingly surprised that when I first arrived it looked like a random local area. The beach was full of garbage, tree trunks, bottles, glass, bags, shoes and debris. This was the rainy season so naturally the sea swept lots of garbage in, however it didn’t seem like anyone was taking the time to notice this. Only after a few days, they started daily cleaning and garbage removal. It finally started to look like it belonged to a resort. I was glad for this. The sunsets were beautiful on the beach. I also enjoyed collecting shells.

It really is a nice resort once things are in order, which they have improved upon the last few days of my stay. Thus, I wanted to give it another try, I have extended my trip and decided to stay here again. That will be in another review.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    31
    12
    11
    4
See reviews for
33
80
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

A spur of the moment week long trip which did not disappoint despite being off season and a little bit isolated. The staff were so friendly and very keen to perfect their English. Housekeeping excellent (just received a lost T-shirt in the mail today, thank you!) Grounds and pool area well manicured. Highly recommend their culinary expertise, cooking classes and spa treatments. Walk along the beach to the Rabiang-Lay restaurant or ask for Nicky the driver to take you locally to the Ruean Mai Kaen restaurant. Charlee is an excellent Tailor at 'A-Prime Custom Tailor' in Turtle Village. Try the Raya restaurant on Dibuk Road, Phuket town. Will be back some day ...

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor light and airy, very spacious. If possible, stay away from current building si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A spur of the moment week long trip which did not disappoint despite being off season and a little bit isolated. The staff were so friendly and very keen to perfect their English. Housekeeping excellent (just received a lost T-shirt in the mail today, thank you!) Grounds and pool area well manicured. Highly recommend their culinary expertise, cooking classes and spa treatments. Walk along the beach to the Rabiang-Lay restaurant or ask for Nicky the driver to take you locally to the Ruean Mai Kaen restaurant. Found an excellent Tailor (Charlee) called A-Prime in Turtle Village. Try the Raya restaurant on Dibuk Road, Phuket town. Will be back some day ...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed here in August end. Here is what you need to know:

Room: We were in a Garden View room and it is really nice. Big bed, big bathroom, great furniture. The TV was a bit small for the room though. 32 inches I think.

Ambience: Great ambience, well decorated hotel, a stones throw away from the beach. Great pool.

Staff: EXCELLENT! Friendly, helpful and always looking to help.

Food: Pretty good. Great variety. I'd give it 4/5.

Spa: Pretty good. Clean, great atmosphere.

CONS:
Location: This hotel is far from Phuket. No other restaurants or other hotels within walking distance. The beach is great for sun bathing but the waters there are rough and the sea bed rocky, so if you are looking to swim in the sea, this place is not for you.

Seclusion: When we were there, there were maybe 4-5 other rooms occupied. Since there are no other hotels nearby, it can become very lonely. The beach is empty.

This is a good getaway but it can get lonely.

Room Tip: If you like a good view, ask for a room on a 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Passed by this place on my bicycle ride. So later on I had a stay at the pool suite for 3 nights. The room is in a nice deco though but just didn't expect there are other rooms above this pool suite. Not a major problem though, as I would enjoy spending time at the big pool.

The restaurant Natai is worth trying. Try to get a table on the beachfront with the sliding door open.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

So happy that the chef was creative with glutenfree food options, as this is usually problematic when travelling in countries where this is not commonplace! Staff were courteous and always happy to try and please with a smile. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a fantastic 6 days at the Maikhao Dream Resort and Spa. Right from the time we reached the hotel till the time we left, we were taken care of very personally by the staff, at the reception, at the restaurants. In particular, the Front Office Manager, Pornthip and her team welcomed us and helped us organize various day trips while we were there. We felt very much at home and welcomed at the resort. The pool is amazing. The restaurant is good and we were served very graciously. In short, we had a relaxing holiday at the Maikhao Dream Resort and Spa

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maikhao Dream Resort & Spa, Natai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maikhao Dream Resort & Spa, Natai

Address: 55 Moo 6, Kok Kloi, 82140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Takua Thung District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Takua Thung District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Maikhao Dream Resort & Spa, Natai 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maikhao Dream Resort & Spa, Natai is situated on the sandy shores of Natai Beach, Phang Nga. A boutique 56-room beach resort features 5 room categories with partial or full seaview and pool views. Elegantly designed to reflect traditional Thai architecture and decor in a modern style. It offers 5 Star luxury facilities for long summer holidays, weekend family getaways and romantic honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Maikhao Dream Resort & Spa, Natai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maikhao Dream Resort Natai Hotel Takua Thung
Maikhao Dream Resort & Spa, Natai Phang Nga Province, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maikhao Dream Resort & Spa, Natai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.