We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soppong River Inn

Save Saved
You added Soppong River Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Soppong River Inn
356 Moo 1 | Soppong, Pang Mapha 58150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Pang Mapha
Dordrecht
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here for one night in the river rim cottage while doing the Mae Hong Song loop on motorbike. Wish I could have stayed for more days but had to get back to Chiang Mai for a flight.

The whole place is very nice, a big and lush garden, friendly staff, good food and the cottage itself is amazing too. Very big and with a very good view of the river with an outside seating area.

Even if you take another room there is a huge deck with multiple lounge seating areas overlooking the river.

A beautiful place and very recommendable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    20
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
46
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Going by all the other reviews, my husband and I actually changed a booking in Mae Hong Son to stay at the River Inn. And we were very glad we did. We stayed in The Nest room, and its very reasonable room rate includes the mini-bar and breakfast. Beautiful garden, fabulous coffee, and lovely home cooking by the owner Joy, with gracious service by her daughter.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had been there in 2005. The place situated in a lovely spot on the river bank. Peace and quiet. Staffs were ever so friendly. Reasonable price too. Love to go back there again if we can in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this lovely Inn in the River Rim Cottage for 2 nights while we tried to escape to nature and we now appreciate why this guest house is rated so highly! On arrival, the lovely hostess offered us the River Rim room for 900 baht and we said YES as soon as we saw it! No A/C or TV but we didn't need either.

We had reserved a separate room over email, but the hostess did not have our reservation on file. Good thing there weren't too many people staying!

Pros:
- Gorgeous furniture and accommodation with lots of attention to detail. We LOVED our outdoor bathroom. It was so luxurious!
- Very clean with complementary water and coffee in the room.
- Beautiful common spaces: from the restaurant, to the walkway bridging some of the room, to the river... it's all just very peaceful.
- Great customer service. We were some of the only guests during our stay and while the hostess was sometimes a little difficult to find, she was always happy to help, whether it was to help us use the common room's computer, use the telephone to call Phuket, to order food, or to book a trekking tour!
- They were able to hold our luggage for us while we were away on our overnight trekking tour for FREE! How nice is that? Granted, when we returned, I noticed that my pack had been opened, but nothing was missing (probably because I had left no valuables!).
- Great restaurant! We generally try to avoid hotel food if we can help it, but we splurged here because it was so delicious! Over the two days, we had nearly every item on the "local Northern Thailand" menu and it was ALL delicious.

Cons:
- Mosquitoes!! But put on that bug spray and you're good to go. We used 30% deet and were fine. There's a beautiful mosquito net that worked well.

We were sad to leave and wish we had a few days to just relax and take in the scene. We would definitely stay again and recommend this lovely Inn to everyone making their way through Soppong!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanokorn I, Manager at Soppong River Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review, Lily. We must apologise for the small mixup regarding your reservation in our files, but we are happy that you could choose exactly the room that you wanted once you arrived. We are also happy that you enjoyed the furnishings and design of your room. As River Rim has a very open, Bali style roof design, some mosquitoes do come in during early evening, so that is why we provide the full canopy net over the bed. For guests that prefer differently, we always recommend one of our rooms that have screened windows and air conditioning.

We are always happy to store our guests' belongings if they leave for overnight treks. We store belongings locked up in our private residence until they return, and we value their belongings the same as we do our own. As you mentioned that your pack had been opened, we took this very seriously and were not able to find out how that could have happened. Rest assured that all belongings, regardless of value, are always looked after and secure.

And we also appreciate your nice comments about your meals in our Seven Elephants Cafe. We do try to feature some local specialties as you noted, and they are always prepared fresh to order and according to our guests' tastes.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we hope you can visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyong, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for the night after returning from a couple of nights in Mae Hong Son. We had an air conditioned room just meters from the river. A nice place to enjoy a beer, or even two.
The room was fine, a good base for sightseeing around the area.
We'll always take bug spray and coils with us, we spray the room before we go out for the day and have a coil burning outside our door. This is something we did here as well, so nothing different.

Room Tip: There's a market just across the road....you'll see it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Saen, Thailand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent a night here in March and loved it. The rooms are super cosy, comfortable and well appointed. All the rooms are set in a lush garden. The terrace by the river is great for a late afternoon beer. The meals we had were tasty, good fresh coffee and all reasonably priced. The owner is also very friendly and helpful. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: choose a room at the back by the river, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanokorn I, Manager at Soppong River Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind compliments, and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed your visit with us, and we do hope that you can come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I happened on this hotel by chance.

It is a quaint little hotel with only about 7 rooms all are fantastic and almost made like a tree house in the jungle. There is a nice Wooden deck overlooking the river. Although they provide Mossy coils, bring bug spray.
The food is really good and made to order, by the lovely staff.
A small, basic, lovely hotel in the jungle.
Well worth a visit, for something different, especially when the frogs which move about and give you a fantastic audio show at night.

A few things to do around the area, caves and thom lot bat cave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanokorn I, Manager at Soppong River Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We really appreciate your nice review. We all hope we can provide you with a natural, comfortable and relaxing stay, even when the the frogs in our garden and pond help with their songs at night.

We are glad you enjoyed the food in our cafe as well. While we do have a menu, we are always pleased to prepare whatever you like to order with what we have on hand, to the taste that you prefer. We all hope you can come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Soppong River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soppong River Inn

Address: 356 Moo 1 | Soppong, Pang Mapha 58150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Pang Mapha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Pang Mapha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural accomodations, each one unique, set in tropical gardens along the Lang River. The Seven Elephants Cafe offers both western food and SE Asia food, as well as espresso drinks and house cocktails. The extensive deck along the river is perfect for relaxing after a day of caving, hilltribe trekking, or just wandering around the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Soppong River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soppong River Hotel Mae Hong Son
Soppong River Inn Thailand/Pang Mapha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soppong River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.