We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“such a fun place to stay in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fun Fun Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mae Fa Luang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fun Fun Inn
Save
You added Fun Fun Inn to your Saves list
189 Moo 1 | Mae Salong Nok, Mae Fa Luang, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“such a fun place to stay in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The first thing that caught my attention when I saw the name Fun Fun Inn was how funny it was. We spent one night in Mae Salong, up in the mountains with cool weather and I fell in love with the place. Being able to speak Chinese, this village holds a special place in my heart because of the friendly villagers who can speak Chinese. They identified themselves more as Thai, but they still abide by their Chinese values. There are beautiful tea villages to visit and one can sing karaoke at night to accompany their dinner. The rooms are clean and the wifi connection is good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Nice hotel located almost behind 7/11. Close to local restaurants, tea stores, local morning market. Nice bright room with good view from the window ( I stayed in room 201 ) . In the room rate is included the continental breakfast - coffee, bread and jam.
Very accommodating staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twentynine Palms, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is one of the best guest houses I have encountered. Clean, quiet and very accommodating. It is on par with better European guest houses and prices are very reasonable - including high speed wifi free!

Room Tip: Second floor has better views - but it is proximate to tea farms and other fun things to visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington dc
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I was disappointed not to see Fun Fun Inn in the top rating.. This is a delight, very clean, quiet and close to everything. The manager is very helpful. If you plan to go to Mae Salong, do not hesitate to look it up..restaurants are only 50 meters away.
Danielle

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

In a town (mae salong) where I encountered a ridiculous amount of surly looks and overpricing by local Chinese, Fun Fun Inn was my oasis and sanctuary.

+ spotlessly clean brand new rooms
+ excellent value at 500 per night
+ the whole fun fun family were friendly and welcoming
+ internet and water pressure fine
+ good location 50m down a quiet alley from seven eleven
+ although no air con, fan was definitely enough in august
+ comfortable bed

- my room was just big enough
- didn't offer to clean room or refill water. Very small in the grand scheme of things.

Tip: ignore lonely Planet and avoid sue hai chinese restaurant halfway between the hotel and tmb bank on the left side of the road. The boss was arrogant and the food poor and overpriced. Sue hai charges 40 baht for a bowl of rice! The highest I've ever seen in 4 years in Thailand.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here in January 2012. The room had 2 double beds, but was very smaal. There wasn't much space left to walk around. Room could've been cleaner. For breakfast and diner we walked across the street to Little Home Guesthouse, which was actually our first choice, but was unfortunately fully booked. Food was great there. Overall experience was ok in Fun Fun Inn, but not great.

Room Tip: At the end hall is probably better, because the reception had their tv on all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fun Fun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fun Fun Inn

Address: 189 Moo 1 | Mae Salong Nok, Mae Fa Luang, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Mae Fa Luang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Mae Fa Luang
Also Known As:
Fun Fun Inn Thailand/Chiang Rai Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fun Fun Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.