We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We catched the dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreamcatchers B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dreamcatchers B&B to your Saves list
Dreamcatchers B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   52 / 18 Ban Buak Khrok Thai | Tawangtan subdistrict, Saraphi 50140, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Saraphi B&B and Inns
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
1 review
“We catched the dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Annabel's somptuous luxury residence is nicely hidden away in the outerskirts of Chiang Mai. Getting there you need someone who knows his way around, but then she has a list off gifted cabdrivers that can bring you straight to her Upon arrival, early evening, the staff was able to improvise and prepare some of the most delicous food we had in Thailand. Even the kids raved. We decided to stay 3 days and thus 3 evening meals. The local fish was astonishing. The smell ! The herbs ! Breakfast was perfect, serving everything man can imagine: pancakes, home-made cakes, yoghurt, anyway-you-want-it-eggs etc etc etc....njammy,
The wooden rooms were impeccable: big beds, cleans heets, luxury soaps and shampoos, good A/C and we had a terrifiv jaccuzi.
Annabel has a huge ground floor living room, stacked with books, family games, lazy chairs and a wine/beer bar. This is where she resides most of her time, and keeps you informed on Thailand latest news . And: where she shares the real Dreamcatcher secret.
But I won't tell you !

Room Tip: We had the room with the jacuzzi, so if you like jaccuzi......
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    31
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
103
112
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have to apologise for taking so very long to get this review completed (we stayed in April 2013). We were so well intentioned, planning to get back from our holiday and getting all of our reviews done, but sadly life got a bit messy and in the way, and it is only now we’re back to some normalcy to be able to get reviewing again! Hopefully some find this review helpful!!!

The Lead Up:
We had planned a visit to Chiang Mai for Songkran 2013, followed by a visit to Sukhothai then on to Bangkok. Our original plan was to travel direct from Sukhothai to Bangkok, however after some checking of prices we found it was cheaper to return to Chiang Mai, overnight there, then fly with AirAsia down to Bangkok. As it was only to be a one night stay, we decided this night would be our “splurge” night - we normally travel quite cheaply (flashpacking standard as opposed to backpacking standard as we prefer our own room & our own bathroom), but like to include a special treat during a holiday. We decided we wanted a small, quiet, intimate hotel with a nice rooms and a pool - somewhere we could just relax, read a good book, with no need to go anywhere.

The reviews of Dreamcatchers were brilliant! We checked out all the “usual” booking sites, to find Dreamcatchers was not listed, but ended up finding a rate that suited us on Sawasdee.com (note that the minimum booking is now 2 nights - Annabel from Dreamcatchers honoured our 1 night booking as we had already paid through Sawasdee, at the time the Sawasdee site did not advise the minimum booking time hence our booking for a 1 night stay - in retrospect we wish we had allowed for 2 nights).

Our Experience:
Around a week before leaving Australia we emailed Annabel to reconfirm our reservation. We received some very helpful emails from Annabel giving the number of one of her staff (in case our driver needed directions to the B&B in Thai), and sending us the dinner menu for the night of our stay - dinner is available on a fixed menu basis, with arrangements to be made in advance, the day before arrival or on the morning of the night (if that makes sense) at the latest.

The drive to Dreamcatchers is through a village of narrow streets, you wend your way from the busy main road through tiny little roads until you get to Dreamcatchers’ gate. Behind the gate is an oasis with beautifully kept tropical gardens, and a villa spread over the property. Annabel came out to greet us, her staff helping with our luggage. We were also greeted by Annabel’s dogs - they are sweeties, friendly, happy dogs, who will say hello and accept a pat, but are also more than happy to plop themselves on the floor for a good rest.

A little about Annabel - she is such an interesting person, and if you do get the chance to stay at Dreamcatchers, we absolutely recommend getting to know her a little. Sabrina and I are not always the most sociable people on holidays - we’re happy to hole ourselves up in our hotel room of an evening, and wander the streets from dawn til dusk (both with aim and aimlessly), just the two of us. So it doesn’t actually bother us whether our hosts (be it in a big hotel or a small guesthouse) are friendly and chatty to us or not… But this time we just found we clicked with Annabel. She is originally French Canadian, but has lived out of Canada for a long time. She has spent some time in India before moving to Thailand - and has some wonderful travel and life tales. We enjoyed chatting on arrival, before dinner, and shared a tasty lunch (collected from a village vendor) with Annabel before our departure for our onwards travels.

Dreamcatchers has 4 rooms, if a family chooses they can actually rent out the whole place. Dreamcatchers is also Annabel’s home - reception is in Annabel’s living space with lounge / study, little bar / kitchenette. All really nicely decorated, and light and airy with lots of doors and windows. Apart from being stylish, it is actually very homely, and you feel comfortable right away.

The rooms at Dreamcatchers are huge, and wonderfully comfortable. Our room overlooked the swimming pool, on ground level. We had a little lounge area, a stocked mini fridge, tea & coffee facilities, twin beds, a study nook with wardrobe and study desk. Behind the beds a partial wall hides a luggage bench, with basin and mirror. A shower room to one side, and toilet room to the other. Both the shower and toilet overlook a small stream that runs along the back of the property - very pretty and calming (and at times a bit disconcerting to be able to look outside while doing what one does in the toilet). As is common in a lot of Thai properties (due to the capacity of plumbing systems) the toilet includes a bin for your toilet paper, and a hose to help clean up.

Outside our room was the pool area - one of the most beautiful features of this property. There is a gorgeous elephant fountain wall along the back of the pool - one of the things that first caught our eye when checking out this property! The pool is of a good size, and gets the sun for much of the day so is at a nice temperature (not freezing cold, and not bath water warm). Sabrina says that we must must must mention the wonderful seat that goes along the length of the pool as you slip in - Sabrina’s not one to swim laps, but she is happy to just sit and enjoy a pool (so long as it’s not freezing cold) so for her having this seat made it all the more relaxing for her. The end of the infinity pool overlooks the stream along the back of the property. You can prop yourself quite comfortably on the edge and just watch the river flow by, and if you’re lucky the birds and squirrels frolicking in the trees!

If you’ve had enough time in the pool, you can kick back in the hammock chairs in the covered cabana area, or Annabel can arrange for one of the local ladies to come in and give you a massage. I had a wonderful Thai massage out in the cabana area - my first ever, something I had wanted to try but hadn’t had the chance, it’s strange how awesome it feels to have someone taking your limbs to full stretch! Sabrina decided on a more traditional oil massage, and as it involved some stripping down, chose to have it done in our room - there was plenty of space!

Dinner was delicious, and there was MORE than enough food. We enjoyed an absolutely delicious Tom Yam Goong (spicy seafood soup), and the noodle dish Phad Seeyew (a flat rice noodle dish with vegies and chicken), followed by pumpkin & walnut cake, and apple crumble with ice-cream, all complemented with some red wine - yum! While the price of the meals is more than you will pay in town, the serving sizes are more than ample, and we rolled back to our room that night - very thankful that the room was so close so we could flop on our beds and groan under our giant bellies (tee hee).

Location:
Dreamcatchers is around a 20 minute drive from the centre of Chiang Mai. You can arrange for transport in to town, though for us staying at Dreamcatchers was a chance to do a little bit of nothing for a while. Annabel has put together a great little information pack (kept in the room) with information about various tours guests may enjoy joining! You could also go for a wander through the village and check out local life. For us, having only one night, we just enjoyed the relaxation!

Summary:
We loved Dreamcatchers and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone who wants to get away from the hecticness of Chiang Mai! It is not the cheapest place to stay in Chiang Mai, but it is by no means overpriced! It is relaxing, beautifully kept, and a really great way to renew your energies. We love the city of Chiang Mai and revel in its buzz, but have to admit it was actually really pleasant to have a day of down time before we delved into the bustle that is Bangkok.

Room Tip: The rooms are beautiful, you won't go wrong whichever you stay in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here very much. Annabel is an excellent host and makes superb chocolate cake desserts. We also would recommend the crepes with banana and chocolate sauce for breakfast, very yummie!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had two big rooms in one old building, downstair and upstair. it is traditional Thailand style architecture. Swing pool and swing besides the pool are very comfortable, you can spend all day there. Annabel and her stuffs offered the best foods and service to us. We just stayed like at own house, my kids had a great fun with her friendly dogs and kitties. Wish We could be back someday, for it is really a place to capture your dream!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiderdorp, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Annabel runs ths beautiful place in efficient and friendly way. Everythings works, requests are taken care of right away, all necessary info is provided. Rooms are big and lovingly furbished, all amenities are present, breakfasts are nice, pool is great and sourroundig is garden really beautiful. But for us this small paradise was just too remote from the city, taxis were quite costly and you really needed to pre-arrange your return to be able to get home stress free. The drive did take between 25-40 min depending on traffic.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Dreamcatchers was a terrific property for us having just come from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok. The property is lovely, styled in the old teak, Thai fashion. Our favorite part of the property is the pool with its elephant relief waterfall. There is nothing better than returning from an outing to a dip in the pool on a humid day.

Two other aspects of our visit deserve particular comment. First, the food was excellent. Despite being a bit out of town with a corresponding opportunity to charge high prices, Annabel charges very reasonable prices for very good Thai or Western food. We particularly recommend the pasta carbonara for those seeking variety.

The other element on which I would comment is Annabel's strength in recommending vendors for activities. Without fail, she recommended vendors that met our desires. From elephant safaris to in-house massages, her ability to match our wants with the right vendor was spot on.

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Staying at Dreamcatchers was hands down one of the highlights of our entire trip. The space is beautiful, comfortable, and relaxing. Though only a few minutes outside of town, it still feels like this incredible and secluded retreat. In terms of the actual atmosphere and environment, the pictures (though beautiful) don't really do it justice. Not only are the rooms gorgeous, but the peace and quiet of the area was breathtaking. Whether we were relaxing by the pool, on the porch, or even just taking a walk down the road- it was all such an experience. Annabel is extremely accommodating and pointed us in all the right directions for what we wanted to do activity wise, even making our reservations for us at the Elephant Nature Park. The home-cooked meals were some of the best we had (especially the omelets!), and the atmosphere of the outdoor dining was hard to beat. The menu has several different options (all delicious) for each day of the week, but the variety of choices is great. I was traveling with two girlfriends of mine, one of whom preferred more "western" food choices so she was thrilled about the variety that Annabel offered. I would absolutely recommend it to any traveler looking for a relaxing stay, and we're already planning to return next Spring!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreamcatchers B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamcatchers B&B

Address: 52 / 18 Ban Buak Khrok Thai | Tawangtan subdistrict, Saraphi 50140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Saraphi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Saraphi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dreamcatchers B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the place to be if you want to have a total tranquil and peaceful interaction with nature but with easy access to the busy city center which is a mere 15 - 20 minute drive. Dreamcatchers B&B was developed and is owned by a French Canadian lady and is under Thai management. The friendly staff will make you want to stay forever. This exquisite B&B has a salt treated swimming pool plus all amenities that you would find in a luxury 5 star hotel. Guests feel secure in our warm family friendly environment. We have 4 separate individual air conditioned bedrooms, each in their own private unit with en-suite bathrooms, mini bar, coffee machine and free wireless internet. :2 Queen Deluxe, 1 Twin / King Deluxe and 1 Junior King Suite with private outside shower & Jacuzzi as well as a full en-suite bathroom. All set in a rustic Lanna style decor, surrounded by trees and tropical flowers with a view of Doi Suthep Mountain and a lovely infinity swimming pool to wake you up or to simply ease away the fatigue from a day of trekking and the heat. The property is surrounded by a lovely canal enhancing the peacefulness and the calming serene sounds of nature. Breakfast is included in the price. In house Massages are available as well as dinner at an extra cost. Rent all rooms and have your own private villa or if you are a solo traveller / couple / couple with children rent an individual appropriate room. If you want to rent the entire villa Please see our listing on Trip Advisor "Vacation Rentals" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Dreamcatchers B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreamcatchers Bed And Breakfast
Dreamcatchers Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreamcatchers B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.