We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect...definitely want to visit again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baannamping Riverside Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Baannamping Riverside Village to your Saves list
Baannamping Riverside Village
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   59/1-4 Moo 7 Chonlapratarn Road | Khua Mung, Saraphi 50140, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saraphi
4.5 of 5 stars 198 Reviews
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect...definitely want to visit again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed there for 6 days with my family including my 1-year-old babygirl.
The resort is surrounded by nature but still not so far (30 mins) from the airport. Some may think it's too far from the downtown but I think it's not so far considering that I felt like I was in some very remoted resort because it was so quiet and surrounded by nature.
We had to cook for the baby because she couldn't eat regular food. They gave us an electric pan and dishes so that we can cook in the room. Anne even gave some cooking oil eventhough I didn't ask for it. Anne and Sub took care of the baby while we eat at the restaurant there so that we can eat comfortably. I didn't ask them to do so, they just did...how kind!!
They always took care of my family and arranged everything for us. I could have the most relaxing holiday because of the staffs there. I was so touched by their kindness. I've never felt such welcome in other resorts. I definitely want to visit again.
Thank you so much Anne & Sub !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffenfunke, General Manager at Baannamping Riverside Village, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
thank nyou for your Review. Also Ann and Sub enjoid to have you and your Family here.
Everybody had fun. It is nice to hear, that you such a nice time at our Place. We really hope to see you again. Regards from Ann and Sub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    38
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
82
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I love this quaint resort with it's riverside bungalows and amazing staff. Keep in mind that you are 18k outside of Chang Mai and will have to go into town via shuttle or taxi. Both are easily arranged and very inexpensive.

I enjoyed being out in the countryside and seeing the creatures that live in the area. There are some bugs and lizards, but nothing that would make me not want to return. (I love lizards). The sound of the birds in the morning and waking up to the river flowing peacefully outside is wonderful and relaxing. The grounds are well kept and the pool is great for a swim in the day after returning from Chang Mai.

Best of all however, are the staff and management. Ann and Toy were wonderful and so incredibly helpful when we needed information. I feel as though they are part of our extended family!

And don't forget the food! The food was delicious and made in a very sanitary kitchen with fresh yummy ingredients. The Thai curries are to die for and the breakfast fried rice is the perfect way to start your day.

I plan on going back to relax and visit with the people there!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the river. I particularly liked the one closest to the river, on the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffenfunke, General Manager at Baannamping Riverside Village, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your Review. It was a pleasure to have you her in
Baannamping Riverside Village and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Baanamping for 4 days, me and my husband enjoyed the time there very much. As it's located at a natural place, insects are everywhere.
As our bungalow was at the riverside, so we could enjoy the view every morning. And I like their swimming pool, small but very cool.
Staffs are kind and make me feeling like home. They even let us ride on their motor bike to go around the places nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffenfunke, General Manager at Baannamping Riverside Village, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your Review. It was nice to have you here as our Guests. You are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The grounds of the venue are nice and peaceful. We arrived and asked for an upgrade as we were not happy with the room, they upgraded us to a much better/bigger bungalow but with quite a hefty price. My husband was poorly which we were the and the owner gave us medication which was good as you are out in the middle of nowhere. The owner books the taxis into the centre for you, but we felt they were ripping us off, so better to book privately. We had an ok stay but would prefer somewhere in a better location next time.

Nearly forgot to say - there are ants everywhere. They gave us some spray which I am sure poisoned my husband!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffenfunke, General Manager at Baannamping Riverside Village, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
First of all thank you for your review. We are trying allways the best for our customer, we are in an nature Place and Ans can be there. If we are giving a spray to our Guests ( an natural based Spray), definitely it will not poisoned or harmed our Husband, as you mentioned, your husband allready was in an poorly condition when you arrived.Our Guests can always order the Taxi by themselve, the Price will be the same. We dont have influence to the Price, we never ripping off somebody. We allways try to give an good Service to our Customer. We are sorry that our Place not fulfilled your expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Excellent food we ate most nights there. Food fresh and tasty special tasres where catered for. The kitchen is clean and food bought daily. The staff and manager are second to none. Relaxing but enteraining. Anne can do anything for you. I learned thai from the cleaners in exchange for teaching them english. Tranquil location. Apart from the other tourists children squeeling around the bungalow. But dont let that put you off. If you have kids its great. If you want a quiet spot asked to for a room away from the swing. We slept well as kids were in bed by ten. And relaxed through the day. This is the only time we have spent most of our time on the resort. We would go back which we never normally do. A little out of the village and chiang mai. But Anne will organise a tour of your choice cheaper than in chiang mai town. And it will be personalised. They will arrange transport to the bus stop in the village where you can get to chaing mai cheaply. Free ride to and from baan tawai too.

Room Tip: Couples for a quiet room ask to be housed away from the swing. All rooms was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffenfunke, General Manager at Baannamping Riverside Village, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Jane and Colin, thank you very much for your Review. It was also a nice time for us to have you here in Baannamping as our Guests. We really hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was the a great place for our family to relax and enjoy True hospitality from a great staff at this jewel in Thailand, It is close enough to Chaing Mai City but in the midst of the countryside and quiet roads on the River Ping so peaceful. We had a lovely room with full facilities and very peaceful to relax for a few days. The staff , Dorin and Toi were very kind and prepared some very special vegetation food for us on 4 nights and we felt we always had personal service and nothing was too much. Toi arranged a complete day of touring with the very reliable local taxi, Mr. Dumri who also collected and delivered us to the airport at a very reasonable cost. On one of the days the owner Stefan took us to the local handicraft market which was a delight to see in the early morning without all of the usual tour buses on people and Stefan again collected us as timed. Ann the owner was always on hand with answers to any of our queries and she also arranged for a masseur to come and give us a real traditional Thai massage and I can tell you I did not know that some of my limbs could move in so many directions it was true experience and we felt the benefits the next morning so much we had another massage the next day. I would have to say this is a great resort but more importantly the people and the caring approach. We would definetly return and happily recommend this excellent value resort to people who enjoy the true meaning of a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffenfunke, General Manager at Baannamping Riverside Village, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was an pleasure to have you her in Baannamping Riverside Village.
When you come next time, you must have the massage more often. Hope to see you again.
Steffen, Ann & the Baannamping Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We chose this place because we wanted to see the Ping river and the nature side of Chiang Mai. It didn't let us down! We real impressed by the wonderful environment and lovely bungalow we stay, and Toi gave us a real warm welcome. On the day we arrived, we missed Baan Tawai handicraft village opening hours----it was too late and they were closed, then we rode bikes (the hotel borrowed the bikes to us for free) to the nearby local market, and we had a very interesting experince of viewing natural landscape among the country road. Ann and Steffen gave us a wonderful superise that they kindly offered us a free drive to Baan Tawai and took us back to the hotel after we did some shopping there. How lovely it was! And in the hotel restaurant we had eaten the best Tom Yam Kung soup in this trip! We would definitly recommend Baan Nam Ping to anyone, and we will come back next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffenfunke, General Manager at Baannamping Riverside Village, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is always nice to hear that our Guests enjoyed their stay with us.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baannamping Riverside Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baannamping Riverside Village

Address: 59/1-4 Moo 7 Chonlapratarn Road | Khua Mung, Saraphi 50140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Saraphi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saraphi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baannamping Riverside Village 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful, secluded riverfront villas on the Ping River in lush tropical setting.This is a rare find, just a few minutes drive from Chiang Mai city. A paradisical setting in 9 villas offering 12 suites. Superb, caring Thai service with a smile. Management is German. Ideal for a honeymoon, getaway holiday, company or group retreat, even a family reunion for all ages. A fine restaurant and bar for guests, located on the property with an excellent menu all day and evenings.Relax in this charming environment under the spell of a beautiful stretch of the Ping while buffalos graze under the trees on far side of the quiet river. All rooms are oriented to the view, Misty morning fog rising, lazy afternoons, sunsets and stars, and a staff at your service. We await your visit and will always welcome your return to Baan Nam Ping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Baannamping Riverside Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baannamping Riverside Village Hotel Khua Mung
Baan Namping Riverside Village Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baannamping Riverside Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.