We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lantern Festival honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baannamping Riverside Village

Save Saved
You added Baannamping Riverside Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baannamping Riverside Village
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   59/1-4 Moo 7 Chonlapratarn Road | Khua Mung, Saraphi 50140, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Reduced again
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Saraphi
Point Richmond, California, United States
1 review
“Lantern Festival honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Baan Nam Ping Riverside Village Resort is a small (12 rooms) quiet friendly family run resort about 15km outside of Chiang Mai on the Ping River. Most of the rooms are one half of a bungalow building. They are large and clean and we never heard our neighbors in the other half of our bungalow. They each have a wide porch to relax on and most with a river view. There is a swing wide enough for 2 hanging from a tree overlooking the river and a woven hammock for lounging by the riverside.

And as a bonus, if you want to bring your canine companion the resort is very dog-friendly. In fact, the owner, Steffen, walks his dog on the grounds every day.

The very affordable room rate includes a large breakfast. If you ask for a "full option" breakfast, you'll receive 2 eggs, 2 strips of bacon, a bratwurst type sausage, a small platter of fresh fruit, fresh orange juice, toast, coffee or tea, AND you can still have a choice of cereal and/or yogurt. Most days we had our full breakfast and then didn't eat again until dinner time.

The resort offers free usage of bicycles to ride into the nearby town, or you can kayak up and down the river. They also offer motorized scooters for a reduced rate for wider exploration. If you want a package tour or private taxi this can also be arranged by the friendly staff. If you make it during the Lanna Festival in the month of November (where people release sky lanterns and river krathongs) the hotel will provide each guest room with their personal lantern and river krathong to join the celebration. This was an unexpected surprise and we enjoyed it greatly.

But the best part of the resort is the staff. We can't speak highly enough of them. They are very helpful, friendly, genuine and caring. Everyday they went out of their way to make sure that we were well taken care of and happy -- even when we were in a scooter accident and had to spend the night in a local hospital. And it didn't stop there. We stayed at the resort for another two days (for further recuperation) and they tended to us hand and foot.

We were there for eight nights and we can't wait to go back to stay there again. I wanted to honeymoon in Thailand after meeting the friendly people there while I was there on business trips. However, this was my husband's first time to Thailand. We spent a day and a half in Bangkok, but when we look back at our honeymoon we'll think of our time at Baan Nam Ping Riverside Village resort as the real heart of Thailand.

Room Tip: The unique aspect of Baan Nam Ping is that they have a variety of rooms to choose from. Each room h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffenfunke, General Manager at Baannamping Riverside Village, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. It was nice to have you here as our Guests. We hope everything going well after the Scooter accident. We got the Scooter back a couple of days after you leaving and everything worked well. We hope to see you again at Baannamping Riverside Village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    37
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
82
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

This was the first stop for my boyfriend and I on our 3 week holiday to Thailand, what a brilliant way to start! Firstly, the staff are absolutely excellent, from helping you book excursions, to recommending the best places to visit and cooking fantastic food. Nothing was ever too much trouble and we were made to feel so welcome. The rooms are gorgeous, clean and continually topped up with citronella which we didn't experience in any other hotel on our stay, yet it made such a difference to our run-ins with Mosquitos. The locations is quiet and peaceful, about 20 min taxi from Chiang Mai city (please don't let that put you off as way better than staying in the centre), the staff will help arrange taxis and they are cheap and extremely reliable (always on time wherever you agree to meet!). We had the same taxi drivers throughout our stay and each one was knowledgeable and helpful.

Chiang Mai is brilliant and we would definitely recommend visiting if coming to Thailand. We enjoyed elephant trekking, bamboo rafting, trekking through rice fields, temples, palaces, Thai boxing, shopping in Night Bizarre (also good for a few drinks), walking mile (night market every Sunday), Tiger Kingdom, orchid farm, gem factory and silk factory. All of which can be organised directly with the hotel at a reasonable cost and are well worth the visit.

Baannamping was by far our favourite hotel out of the 5 places we stayed within our 3 weeks and we would absolutely go back on our next trip to Chiang Mai.

Thanks so much to all the staff for the best 5 days :-) Tristan & Nicqui

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffenfunke, General Manager at Baannamping Riverside Village, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank's a lot for your Review. We always try to give our best to our Guests. You came here for holiday, not for getting headache about Trips an Tours. It's a pleasure to do this for you. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed there for THREE GORGEOUS LONG WEEKS. Clean, comfortable, beautiful, restful, just far enough from town to be secluded but close enough for a quick car or taxi ride from paddy fields and longan plantations to the buzz of downtown Chiang Mai. Very welcoming and friendly, efficient staff. Loved it, would recommend it to anyone and will definitely come back regularly.

Room Tip: Each bungalow is different so discuss your needs with the wonderful staff. We needed an air-conditi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffenfunke, General Manager at Baannamping Riverside Village, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you here in our small Paradise. We hope to see you again. Don't wait to long. Regards from our Staff also. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

stunning Location,very nice and comfortable Bungalows,Steffen,Khun Anne and the Staff are very,very nice,helpfully and it is allways a Pleasure to meet them.The Resort itself is located in Saraphi,set in a quiet and beautiful Piece of Land right on the Riverbanks of the Ping River.
Tourist which are looking for a pleasant Stay in a Greenery but close to the Town of Chiang Mai are on the right Place here.
Try out the tastful Thai Kitchen on Request.Just tell Khun Anne which Kind of Thai Food you like and you will be excited about the wounderful presented Dishes..
Thank you both for a very nice Evening and see you next Year,same Place,same Time

October 30the 2012, Barbara and Rudolf Cigler Pattaya

Room Tip: all Bungalows are very quiet.For asolute Privacy choose a single Bungalow,because the most of the Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffenfunke, General Manager at Baannamping Riverside Village, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Barbara and Rudolf. Thank you for your Review. It is always a pleasure to have Guests like you in our Resort. We are trying our best to so satisfy our Guests. See you again, next Year,same Place, same time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

we stayed here with 10pax in 5 rooms and it was awesome again, the location and especially Steffen&Ann's wonderful hospitality make you feel that you never want to leave. Had a great swim and waterworkout at the saltwater pool right by the river, an absolutely delicious diner, freshly cooked for 10pax, breakfast freshly done with whatever you want and they even organized our favourite beer and served it chilling cold, what a treat
free wifi is only one thing to mention, everything is just great
thanks Steffen&Ann c u next year

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffenfunke, General Manager at Baannamping Riverside Village, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Mag, it was a pleasure for us to have you here again. As you know, we alsways try to make our Guest happy. See you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We live in Thailand and love to find peace and quiet from time to time. This place is the "jewel in the crown" of all the places we have stayed. From the moment we arrived to 5 days later when we left, the staff helped us feel relaxed and welcomed. The staff here are exceptionally trained and have a passionate customer focus that I have not seen anywhere else throughout Thailand and Asia. The food is extremely tasty and wholesome.

The bungalows are set facing the river, which was reasonably high when we were there, so we enjoyed a kayak one day. The kayaks and bikes are free to use, if you get sick of relaxing on your spacious verandah while reading and watching the trees and enjoying the peacefulness. The bungalows are well laid out with all the facilities you need. If there isn't something there you need the exceptional staff do their best to please. There is also an excellent pool (see pictures) which is quite clean and refreshing after going on a ride or kayak.

Just a couple of things to be aware of:
- nearest shops are around 2-3 kilometres away, so if you want snacks you should take them with you first OR take a bike to the village and buy supplies (we did the later).
- you do get Platinum level satelite TV in your room, BUT True Visions (the monopoly provider in Thailand) fails to deliver clear vision on any of the movie channels. Note - this is not a problem with this accommodation place, it is a problem with the substandard service offered by True Visions throughout more isolated places in Thailand.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone - it is clearly the very best place we have stayed in, in Asia and is worth it!!! I cannot speak highly enough of it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffenfunke, General Manager at Baannamping Riverside Village, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your Review. Especially if we get an Review from an Foreigner living in Thailand and travel a lot, because you can compare. We hope you come back to Chiang Mai and staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The location is fantastic- right on the river. Very tranquil and just the tonic needed after a few hectic days in Bangkok. We had initially booked into a standard room but when we arrived and walked past the superior rooms we soon upgraded!! The standard room was fine though. The bathroom is outside which wouldn't be to everyone's taste I don't suppose but was clean and functional.

The superior room is stunning and massive. You have a kitchen area with a fridge which is good for keeping the water (or beers!!) cool and comfy chairs on the deck outside.

The people here really do make the resort special. They couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome, from lending us bikes to travel to the local market to advising on all the local sights and organising transport for us to get around. Food was really tasty and fresh- and romantic setting to dine watching the sunset over the river!!

One thing you have to do is borrow one of the kayaks and have a paddle up the river- quite a strong current at times so you have to go like mad to get upstream but is all worth it on the way home when you can just kick back and enjoy the views!!

wonderful stay with fantastic people!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room- you won't regret it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffenfunke, General Manager at Baannamping Riverside Village, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. We try always, to do our best, that our guests can enjoy their stay at Baannamping. It was nice to have your here as our guests and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baannamping Riverside Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baannamping Riverside Village

Address: 59/1-4 Moo 7 Chonlapratarn Road | Khua Mung, Saraphi 50140, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Saraphi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Saraphi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baannamping Riverside Village 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful, secluded riverfront villas on the Ping River in lush tropical setting.This is a rare find, just a few minutes drive from Chiang Mai city. A paradisical setting in 9 villas offering 12 suites. Superb, caring Thai service with a smile. Management is German. Ideal for a honeymoon, getaway holiday, company or group retreat, even a family reunion for all ages. A fine restaurant and bar for guests, located on the property with an excellent menu all day and evenings.Relax in this charming environment under the spell of a beautiful stretch of the Ping while buffalos graze under the trees on far side of the quiet river. All rooms are oriented to the view, Misty morning fog rising, lazy afternoons, sunsets and stars, and a staff at your service. We await your visit and will always welcome your return to Baan Nam Ping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Baannamping Riverside Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baannamping Riverside Village Hotel Khua Mung
Baan Namping Riverside Village Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baannamping Riverside Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.