We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect beach, Peaceful resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sevenseas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Sevenseas Resort to your Saves list
The Sevenseas Resort
4.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   221 Moo 2 Koh Kradan Island | Koh Libong subdistrict, 92110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
3.5 of 5 stars 137 Reviews
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“Perfect beach, Peaceful resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Love the place, we traveled with a one year old baby. The resort was beautiful clean with very friendly staff. The food was also good, especially seafood was really fresh. We'll definitely go back to the Sevenseas Resort, such a peaceful quiet paradise island.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    43
    24
    16
    12
See reviews for
21
81
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I counted the hours waiting to get out of here!
5 stars? Keep dreaming!
Not only that it's overpriced about more than double that it should be (even in low season price) but I wouldn't stay here for free!
The room- no table, no chair, no place for your clothes, almost no light (used torch in the room) old tv, no glasses for drinking, rust smelling shower water, same smell for the "unique" soap. feels like a fish in aquarium- for minimal privacy need to keep curtains shut, no internet in the room and not even cellular signal and much more horrors!
And on top- Ugly pool ,ugly buildings,
the garden and all the resort is not well taking care of, and again- extremely overpriced.
I stay in Thailand every year for 3 months- sometime in luxury places, sometimes in simple places, all are nice. This sevenseas resort, is the worse!
Time and good money was lost for nothing!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kantang hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This resort is one of the only ones on this small, beautiful island, so it is very quiet. There is a coral reef in the waters right outside the resort, so we were able to swim and see lots of fish and other aquatic life. It is close to other islands in the area, so day trips are an option, as there is not much to do on Koh Kradan itself.

The food at this resort was very good. But, since it's an island, and pretty much the only game in town, the prices are much higher than on the mainland. Just be aware of this. Most entrees are $10 USD or more.

Another item to be aware of is the stray dogs in the area. Our daughter got chased by one on the beach, which has never happened at any of the other Thai beaches we have been to. Also, as with other islands, there are a lot of mosquitoes, so be prepared for that.

Overall, though, a positive experience & I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a few days on a beautiful, quiet island.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Dreamlike, if we have to describe our stay in one word! thank god we gave in to our travel planner's ( andaman sky ) insistence that we should take this gamble. i'll say precisely why it was deramlike for us : This is one of the last remaining resorts which have a house reef , meaning you could go snorkeling right off the beach and see gorgeous underwater life. Anyone who has spent some time in Thailand knows that this has become ultra-rare : nowadays you need to go on a fullday boat excursion to see anything better than some grey-colored fish and dead coral on the seabed. So the snorkeling had us, and our boys, totally thrilled. Then our bungalow : just gorgeous interior, absolute seafront. I will say that we had a more luxurious bungalow (called Villa Siri), and that possibly the lower categories may not be so impressive (they looked a bit bland to us). Then the staff : just the sweetest people you will ever meet. Here the people are not jaded from masses of tourists coming by every day, they are such happy people. And we went with that flow - by the way this is ALOT lower priced than any 5-star resort - I dont get why people would post just blatant lies on tripadvisor (i read some older reviews).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in a couple of Thailand's island resorts in the past, so I had something to compare this to... and I left feeling a little ripped off.

When we first entered our room, I immediately noticed that a few things hadn't been maintained over time... the curtains were a little stained, a few marks on the walls, a bit of mould observable under the bathroom sink etc. Not big issues you might think, but remember you're paying a lot of money.

The cleanliness of the beach was very disappointing. There were plastic bags, a beer can, a wellington boot etc. washed up right in front of the hotel and no one seemed interested in clearing it up, which was such a shame as it is what you're there for after all. Some parts of the beach even further along were coated in debris (cans, bottles etc. sitting around the trees in front of the other establishments which were shut during the low season). You might argue Seven Seas shouldn't be responsible for cleaning it all, but they should at least make their own bit spotless - I could have cleaned it myself in less than 15 minutes.

What else to say? The resort has a few dogs and cats running around, occasionally fighting during the early hours, occasionally jumping on the tables in the restaurant. The cats I can live with, but having a dog bark for getting on an hour over an evening meal and no one shutting it up was a bit disappointing.

I hate to be so negative, as some of the staff were very polite and courteous and the views from the beach towards the horizon are beautiful. I even thought the restaurant food in the evening was very good (I wouldn't even moan about the price of it) and the breakfast was enormous. But these positives don't really make up for the dirty beach and the noise of dogs fighting outside your front door at 3am - other resorts in this price bracket don't have these let downs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

what an amazing resort and location ! it's a bit of work to get there, but the reward is to be back in time to the original, pristine Thailand experience.
A dream beach, with a coral reef right in front ( you can snorkel to the reef ). Totally quiet and ocean views all around. The staff was v friendly, and we enjoyed the real Thai food, such flavors ! again, recommending also our travel planner Andaman Sky , who advised us a Villa Siri at the resort - clearly the best roomtype. We had the best unit, totally quiet and seafront. We will be visiting again, we haven't found this authentic experience anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Another great place ! Quite out-of-the-way, would never have heard about it if our travel agent ( Andaman adventures ) hadn't recommended it to us. I just scrolled through some of the less positive reviews, just to see what people could hold against this resort. The objections make no sense, and some are flat-out false, almost makes one think of a campaign against this locally-owned and operated resort ( as opposed to international chain hotels ). Someone even said "go stay at Pimalai instead, at half the price". What is that about ? We stayed at both Pimalai and Seven Seas on our recent holiday, I can tell you : Pimalai is DOUBLE the rate of Seven Seas, not half !?! Now Pimalai was great indeed, but we had a blast at Seven Seas also. Its just a different thing. In each price category, we found both resorts to be great offerings. And we've seen a few.

Room Tip: choose the "villa siri" roomtype
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sevenseas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sevenseas Resort

Address: 221 Moo 2 Koh Kradan Island | Koh Libong subdistrict, 92110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trang Province > Kantang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kantang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sevenseas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Sevenseas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sevenseas Hotel Kantang
The Sevenseas Resort Thailand/Kantang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sevenseas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.