We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freezing at night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Feather Down Farm - Canfields

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rudgwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Feather Down Farm - Canfields
Save
You added Feather Down Farm - Canfields to your Saves list
Lynwick Street, Rudgwick, Horsham, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Freezing at night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Canfields Farm is an amazing place, with beautiful, well equipped tents. The owners were very welcoming and inforative too but there was just one thing that ruined it for me... It was freezing at night! The feather down website boasts well insulated tents that keep the warmth in, but we were so cold we had to use two duvet covers each and hot water bottles. Not a pleasant sleep and hence not worth their high rates. Reconsider unless you are visiting in the summer months.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was our first experience of a Featherdown Farm and we were so unlucky with the weather! Despite the cold we had a fantastic time. The children had so much fun feeding the orphaned lambs, collecting eggs and meeting the cows. The beds were extremely comfortable and the tent well equipped. The beef provided by the farm for our bolognese was amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Returning to Featherdown, Cranfields we wondered if it would be as good second time around but it was better! We are a blended family of six and our 4 children quickly made friends with the other 8 children there and they simply had an amazing free and unrestricted week of fun.

Sarah and Tim are great hosts, they really couldn't do enough for you - Tim even came to the rescue when my car battery was flat.

Can't really fault the place. If its a fun week of luxury camping you're after look no further.

Kevin

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

The family who run this Feather Down Farm site couldn't have us made us feel more welcome.
The farm is in a beautiful setting with a large field for the children to romp around in and a wood for them to explore. Because of the way it is all enclosed it feels very safe. The children loved having animals (sheep) wandering around outside the tents and the morning egg collection was a highlight.
This was our first Feather Down Farm weekend and so we were delighted with the magical tent, the comfortable beds, the clean yet cosy interior and the thoughtful way it had been kitted out to make family holiday life easy but fun. This was especially welcome after a hectic departure from London - it was the easiest camping experience ever!
Our party consisted of 3 generations - the way the tent is laid out meant we all had privacy at night.
A huge outside table under a tiled roof was a great place for us to come together with other families to eat and chat and for the children to play.
The shared shower and w/c was spotless and the water piping hot.
The small farm shop supplied us with the forgotten items like morning coffee and milk and was a source of useful local information.

We will be back - maybe with a little gas camping stove for the early morning cup of tea.
We'd like to try an autumn trip to make the most of the wood burning stove...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I have just come back from Feather Down farm where I stayed with 3 friends and our 8 children. The setting was idylic, the tents were fabulous and the kids ran free the whole time. Who knew chickens would be more fun than telly and computers? We really enjoyed the farm walk, collecting eggs in the morning ready to have for breakfast, cycling along the disused railway line and making fires at night to roast marshmallows on. Sarah and Tim were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend this to other people

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

This was our first time we had visited a Featherdown farm. We cannot rate this holiday more highly. The setting of Canfields Farm was idyllic set on the edge of a wood with cows & chickens in the field next to the tents. Being only 1 hour drive from London you really felt completely away from the grind.

Special highlights for us were the ability to introduce the children to camping whilst still maintaining a balance of high spec facilities. The children enjoyed the cabin beds, gathering wood for the fire, visiting the farm shop, taking the farm tour & the noises of owls in the woods. We enjoyed the quirky features such as oil lanterns, the stove, the pizza oven, the feeling the children were completely safe to roam & the thick duvets for a good nights sleep.

Tim and Sarah the hosts were completely hospitable and could not have done enough to make our stay more enjoyable. Ok it may not be cheap but for this location you get what you pay for. Peaceful surroundings, unique tents (without the pain of putting up !!) and family outings on bikes we could not recommend more highly this location. A big birthday next year so we shall be back for more!! Full marks from us.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

A fantastic location and our 3 year old was able to run around and have fun whilst always in view and safe. Tim and Sarah made sure we were comfortable and answered any questions we had but at the same time let us get on with relaxing.

Five stars; we will stay again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Feather Down Farm - Canfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feather Down Farm - Canfields

Address: Lynwick Street, Rudgwick, Horsham, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Horsham > Rudgwick
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Rudgwick
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandwiched between the North and South Downs, Canfields is one of Feather Down's more intimate farms, well within an hour of London. Just behind your tent is a brilliant natural playground in the woods where your children can safely roam free. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Feather Down Farm - Canfields, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.