We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Barn Inn

The Red Barn Inn
Tandridge Lane | Blindley Heath, Lingfield RH7 6LL, England
01342 834272
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 22 Restaurants in Lingfield
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kalgoorlie, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Unfortunately only had time for adrink here, so can't comment on food. Main part of restaurant is in a barn. Beautifully decorated and probably seats 70.suitable for functions. Just off A22 on the way from East Grinstead to M25.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    58
    22
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Judging by the crowd, this should be a very good place to eat. Unfortunately, the crowd was wrong. It had been a long and busy day and the chefs were probably tired and the food even more so. We ordered roast beef and roast lamb and got the so food quickly that I got a little suspicious. The first bite confirmed my suspicion. The potatoes must have been sitting out under the heat lamp all day. They were so though we could hardly cut them, and the beef was not much better. The gravy and vegetables were OK, as was the atmosphere, but that's usually not why you buy a roast dinner, especially not a £15 roast dinner. Go elsewhere if you want a good meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Absolutely terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a family Sunday lunch here on 3 Aug 2014. We found the food totally over priced, £15 for a small undercooked roast, of a very low standard, and served luke warm, we had the beef, lamb and salads, all of which were, well rubbish. If we weren't so embarrassed, and knew the area better, we would have walked out. The menu choice was non existent too. The waiters and waitresses seem clueless taking 3 different ones 3 separate occasions just to clear the tables. They also had the cheek to add service charges, without any consultation.

Avoid!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't believe everything you read!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Family of adult visit for birthday. Nearly cancelled booking having read some reviews but glad we didn't. Lamb was delicious and Eton mess chewy. The Frenchman referred to in another post was helpful, charming and warm. The waitress ordered our taxis without fuss when we couldn't get a signal on mobiles. We ate in "the pantry" as there was a wedding on but service was plenty fast enough. It wasn't cheap ( luckily I wasn't paying!) but most enjoyable.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Really impressed to find a pub I really want to go back to. The Red Barn is part of chain but does not suffer from this at all. Delicious lunch of delicious smoked salmon with a perfectly cooked soft boiled egg followed by a near perfectly cooked half a spit roast chicken. Nice to find a pub with a well thought wine list as well. Service was fast and friendly. A really good find and reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Barn Inn also viewed

 
Lingfield, Surrey
 

Been to The Red Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Barn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.