We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun place, amazing ice cream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guy's & Owd Nell's Tavern

Guy's & Owd Nell's Tavern
St. Michael_s Road, Bilsborrow, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Bilsborrow
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Hull
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great fun place, amazing ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We just had a drink and a ice cream sundae here but would love to return and try the tavern or the pizzeria.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    46
    23
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“New Year's Day family meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

There was a large family gathering and the staff were helpful . The only thing was due to being New Years Day it was very busy.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“No hesitation to go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I have stayed here, had restaurant meals, bar lunches and evening bar meals. I have experienced all that this establishment has to offer. The drinks service is good, it has always been very busy on the numerous occasions I have visited. Anybody expecting to receive their food order in 10 minutes is clearly used to microwave food.
Mike W.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch with questionable service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

A couple of friends brought us to Owd Nells Tavern after a long walk out at Beacon Fell for lunch. Understandably, it was busy at 2pm on the Saturday of a Bank Holiday, we eventually found an indoor table to wriggle into however it took quite a while for our very dirty table to be cleaned.

When ordering we joined a long queue which took about 10-15 minutes to get through to the order point at one end of the bar. Other staff were preparing drinks orders while one staff member took food orders, so they were attempting to make it efficient however with 2 or 3 staff down the bar doing very little, it would make more sense to open up another food order point.

The staff were very friendly throughout our visit however they did seem to be struggling to keep on top of demand.

A fantastic selection of beers including local ales, regional ales, fruit beers, bitter and internional lagers was only let down by the fact that quite a few seemed to be off service. It took me until my 4th choice to get one that was available, despite them all being advertised openly.

The food was very nice, tasted fresh, well presented, very hot and excellent sized portions. We'd definitely try again as the location is fantastic and it was nice to have a walk down the canal after lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“In Need of Tidying Up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

A while since we last visited, but called in yesterday for a coffe.On arrival the outside is in dire need of some colour, the outsides were drab and dirty and gave an impression of a run down establishment.However there were many people enjoying the sunshine and the queues for food were healthy. Prices for tea and coffee were ok, but the outside seating area again gave off a poor reflection.Given that the attraction is its quirkiness and quaintness of the old thatch buildings, its a shame that the overall impression is lost.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guy's & Owd Nell's Tavern also viewed

Garstang, Lancashire
 
Preston, Lancashire
Preston, Lancashire
 

Been to Guy's & Owd Nell's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guy's & Owd Nell's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.