We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista del Valle, Plantation Inn

Save Saved
You added Vista del Valle, Plantation Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vista del Valle, Plantation Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Rosario de Naranjo, Naranjo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Naranjo B&B and Inns
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We arrived at Vista del Valle at midnight in the rain with a rental car which was a bit of a stressful experience - rental car that is! It was easy to find even just 25 mins from the airport and off the main highway #1. The awesome gate staff waited for us and showed us directly to our room - which was very helpful in the dark and rain!
The spacious rooms are spread out over the property overlooking the jungle valley. Sleeping to the sound of the jungle each night is magical.
The property is beautiful, views from the pool and dining area are stunning. The staff is very friendly, the horse trekking is fun, the owners are passionate about CR.
We would highly recommend staying here for a few days at the start of your CR trip or towards the end.
I consider myself very well travelled, especially in developing countries. Once in a while I come across a special place - Vista del Valle is definitely on the list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    39
    14
    15
    5
See reviews for
47
89
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alta, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Vista del Valle is nestled in a quiet valley only a short distance from an international airport. Unbelievably a private jungle awaits with its own banquet of flora and fauna, organic feasts, exotic birds and shy jungle creatures that can be coaxed by respectful observers.

It is a place of awe. Seasonal rainfall insures lushness beyond the imagination. This piece of heaven does not require a helicopter drop into the middle of nowhere. It is easily accessible by car yet remarkably private for the person who truly wants to escape the madness of the work a day city. However, high speed internet, wifi and telephones available 24/7 for those who must stay connected.
Whether you are seeking a honeymoon escape, a private retreat, a family gathering for fun in nature or just a place to kick off your sandals and dream, rocking chairs and hammocas beckon. What are you waiting for?
If you want solo privacy to write, incept a Vision of just listen to the wind, we have small, self contained bungalows surrounded on all sides by breathtaking vistas and jungle. Those seeking pampering will find pod villas with a bath room large enough to house a massage table for private spa time.
Trails lead in and out of everywhere. Every turn reveals yet another secret of this magical place, including a magnificent waterfall.
Do you need your own think tank? It also will soon offer a rare combination of sophisticated conference center, completely immersed in its own forest. This is a spectacular opportunity for a group to grow a Vision, write a film script, or, perhaps, design a new paradigm, far from the maddening crowd and distractions of a busy outside world.
And just when you think you might get bored with all the peace and serenity, join a shopping diva who will whisk you away to little known markets with incredible weavings, art and designer outfits.
Of, maybe you seek Lost Horizons. This is only for the precious few who long to connect at the heart with cultures long ago dismissed by modern civilization. Vista del Valle will soon offer very private journeys to experience the heart of Mother Earth’s caretakers, the indigenous tribes who must now be guarded themselves.
This is a multifaceted jewel. Which facet will you choose?
I stayed at this marvelous place for two nights and three blessed days. I have travelled worldwide and have never seen such beauty. Amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our stay at Vista del Valle was a wonderful introduction to Costa Rica. We stayed here our first night after a long trip, and it was wonderful. The Mango Manor was very comfortable for our family of five, and there were beautiful views over the canyon. Our children loved the beautiful gardens with tropical plants and we ate too much because the food was so good.

Room Tip: They all looked good. Mango Manor was spacious for 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at Vista del Valle the first night of our honeymoon, and our first night we'd ever been to Costa Rica. I'm so glad that all of the other hotels we chose exceeded our expectations! I wanted to like this hotel because it came recommended in travel books and the grounds were very beautiful. When we first entered our room it smelled so bad! It was so musty, it was like no one had stayed there in forever. Unlike the pictures of the El Nido posted online, we had one key for one door. There were doors on the other side that were locked up. The curtains were clearly dusty/dirty. There was a bed with a mosquito net and another cot in the corner. We ended up sleeping on the little cot, because the mosquito netting was also dusty. The kitchenette area and bathroom looked very old. It smelled so musty in there that even my pillow smelled musty. Then the next morning there was no hot water at all in the shower. My husband took a cold shower and I was relieved to leave.

The grounds were very beautiful and the food at the restaurant was good. I just think the most important thing at a hotel is cleanliness. Also, the El Nido was close enough to the office that we heard a phone ringing a lot.

We had a problem with transportation as well. They were supposed to send a driver to meet us at the airport. He was supposed to hold a sign up against the glass with our names. We waited and waited and it turned out he had just left and given our sign to someone else. This person even had trouble finding the hotel when we finally found him outside and he drove us. Hopefully, they can improve their rooms and service to match up with the beautiful grounds!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

They have a relatively few number of cabins, so the complex has a small intimate feel. Restaurant was great, beautiful views. Our only challenge was finding the place, the location shown on our iPhone map wasn't accurate; however, we just phoned and got the directions (they are off the beaten track). Highly recommended, we would go back.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Vista del Valle, is a wonderfully relaxing special spot. I am sad I just had to cancel my reservation for an up coming night, I was truly looking forward to going back! I stayed in the Mona Lisa cottage, it's very private and romantic, the outdoor shower is perfect! The staff was wonderful, ready to make sure your stay is perfect, they are very attentive to all your needs. I included the dinner with my stay, it was well worth the $50. USD, my friend and I had the filet with mushroom sauce, the meat was very good quality for Costa Rica, its hard to get a good steak in CR, they had very good meat. The dinner came with a nice bottle of wine, a salad/soup and desert, best of all, they happily brought it to my cottage.
I highly recommend Vista del Valle!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desamparados, San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Vista del Valle is an excellent place if you are looking for a relaxing place and spend sometime on a really nature rich place.

Service is really good and courteous.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vista del Valle, Plantation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista del Valle, Plantation Inn

Address: Rosario de Naranjo, Naranjo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Naranjo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Naranjo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista del Valle, Plantation Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full service Eco Friendly Nature Resort with Pool, Jacuzzi, Restaurant, Bar, Equestrian Center, Nature Trails, a 300 ft Waterfall, Nature Reserve, Butterfly Enclosure, & Spa Services. Many rooms have a Kitchenette, all have coffee makers, hair dryers, etc. There is WiFi in the restaurant, around the pool and office areas. The main lodge also has Internet. We also offer Concierge Services and have a night staff. We also have Meeting spaces for business travelers, Retreats, Reunions, Weddings & Events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Vista del Valle, Plantation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Del Valle, Plantation Hotel Province Of Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista del Valle, Plantation Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;