We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place! Will go back over and over...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista del Valle, Plantation Inn

Save Saved
You added Vista del Valle, Plantation Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vista del Valle, Plantation Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Rosario de Naranjo, Naranjo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Naranjo B&B and Inns
Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Place! Will go back over and over...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Vista del Valle, is a wonderfully relaxing special spot. I am sad I just had to cancel my reservation for an up coming night, I was truly looking forward to going back! I stayed in the Mona Lisa cottage, it's very private and romantic, the outdoor shower is perfect! The staff was wonderful, ready to make sure your stay is perfect, they are very attentive to all your needs. I included the dinner with my stay, it was well worth the $50. USD, my friend and I had the filet with mushroom sauce, the meat was very good quality for Costa Rica, its hard to get a good steak in CR, they had very good meat. The dinner came with a nice bottle of wine, a salad/soup and desert, best of all, they happily brought it to my cottage.
I highly recommend Vista del Valle!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    39
    14
    15
    5
See reviews for
47
89
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Desamparados, San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Vista del Valle is an excellent place if you are looking for a relaxing place and spend sometime on a really nature rich place.

Service is really good and courteous.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We went to the Vista del Valle for a visit and lunch. The property is absolutely breathtaking. The beautiful flowers, trees, butterflies and birds in addition to the gorgeous view of Rio Grande canyon is something to behold. If you are coming to Costa Rica for a tour of the country, Vista del Valle is recommended as your first stop to get a real taste of the countries beauty..

It is a large plantation surrounded by coffee and orange farms with quaint bungalows, small cottages and rooms. It also has a swimming pool, jacuzzi and horseback riding. If a massage is in order, this service among many others is offered.

All of the fruits and vegetables is organically grown and fish, chicken and meats are all natural. The open air restaurant affords all the views of the valley while butterflies and birds pass by. Be sure to order the ginger lemonade which is very refreshing. You may want to bring your binoculars to a meal just so you don't miss anything!

The owners are more than accommodating and the staff friendly and warm. Basically every wish is their command so don't hesitate to ask.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheelersburg, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Absolutely amazing hotel with unique yurt-like cabins perched on the hillside with a panoramic view of the jungle. Owned by two American ex-pats - the restaurant has a wonderful menu of local cuisine which you enjoy in the covered and open dining room. Great pool, hot-tub and horse back riding available also close to tours of local coffee plantation. You will not regret this bit of paradise!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

By far one of the best places I have ever stayed. We had 3 charming wood suites that sat right on the jungles edge.
The restaurant sat on a cliff and was all open for beautiful mountain views. The staff was the friendliest we encountered on our entire Costa Rica adventure.
It is a short drive out of the city of San Jose, so a great place to relax and unwind after a busy travel day. We only stayed one night, but everyone in our party wishes we had stayed longer.

Vista del Valle Plantation Inn is a don't miss treat!

Room Tip: Visit their website to choose a room that best suits your travel style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Vista Del Valle Plantation is about 30 minutes from the San Jose Airport and a great place to start or finish your vacation in Costa Rica. We spent two nights there upon pour arrival and enjoyed a day visiting the surrounding area before heading to Arenal. The villas are lovely and have a wonderful view of the valley and beautiful gardens.. The open air restaurant was a great place for breakfast and dinner. Not sure I would want to have to drive to a restaurant at night as the location is a little remote. Our villa had no hot water our first day as it was not turned on and there was an outer building for us to us but the staff had not bothered to take time set it up. I got the impression that the villas are the nicest accommodation but they are privately owned and the hotel likes to rent their own units first!!! All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed here for three nights at the end of a three week trip to Costa Rica. Before we arrived, we feared that its location close to San Jose Airport might mean that it was a little urbanized but we were wrong! It is beautifully located on the edge of a deep valley and has the most magnificent gardens which are a joy simply to sit in. The pool is great and it is quite wonderful sitting by it, having lunch, and watching the many birds that live in the surrounding vegetation.

Our room, the Mona Lisa, was superb - a quiet cabin with hardwood floor, fantastic views, a private outdoor shower and a lovely terrace on which to sit. A Keel-billed toucan came an sat in the tree each evening and serenaded us and our local Black Iguana was entertaining to watch as he posed in a nearby tree.

There are a couple of good trails on the property - the easy Creek Walk and the rather more strenuous Waterfall Walk which is, however, well worth doing if you have a head for heights.

At night the twinkling lights in the distance of the outskirts of San Jose added to the atmosphere. The restaurant is good and the staff everywhere really lovely and helpful. And the hotel is less than half an hour from San Jose airport. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista del Valle, Plantation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista del Valle, Plantation Inn

Address: Rosario de Naranjo, Naranjo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Naranjo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Naranjo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista del Valle, Plantation Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full service Eco Friendly Nature Resort with Pool, Jacuzzi, Restaurant, Bar, Equestrian Center, Nature Trails, a 300 ft Waterfall, Nature Reserve, Butterfly Enclosure, & Spa Services. Many rooms have a Kitchenette, all have coffee makers, hair dryers, etc. There is WiFi in the restaurant, around the pool and office areas. The main lodge also has Internet. We also offer Concierge Services and have a night staff. We also have Meeting spaces for business travelers, Retreats, Reunions, Weddings & Events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Vista del Valle, Plantation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Del Valle, Plantation Hotel Province Of Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista del Valle, Plantation Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.