We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our long lost Irish cousin in Colombia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Green Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Emerald Green Guest House to your Saves list
Emerald Green Guest House
Next to Police Station | Minca, Minca calle 1, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Minca
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Our long lost Irish cousin in Colombia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Me and my girlfriend headed to Minca for one night but ended up staying two even though we were short on time. Niall, the Irish owner made us feel right at home (since we're Irish too). We would generally avoid Irish bars when travelling as we love to experience the culture of a place but Niall really is the best man for tips about Minca. He gave us the best options on our budget for seeing everything in Minca and is a really passionate soul about his newfound home. We felt right at home here and it has a wonderful melange of Colombia/Irish tradition. Niall was more of a friend than a guesthouse owner and we had a few beers with him each night- him usually telling us some great stories about the locals. The only thing that was missing was some Guinness! Would highly reccommend this place if you want to relax, enjoy the nature of Minca thus getting great hospitality!

Room Tip: Theres only two rooms so book in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
51
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spent only one night at Emerald Green but really liked it a lot and would recommend it to anyone. One can tell that a lot of care has been put into the building itself, as well as at making the guests feel welcome and well taken care of.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Marta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Come to Minca and stay at the Emerald Green House Hostel and feel like in Family, enjoy the company and guide of Nail around the wonderful river and waterfalls full of pure Nature.From the room balcony and dining area you can watch the birds and listen to the river.

Nana and Spencer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Nial and Rochi welcome visitors to their beautiful home. It is easy to find just up from the police station in Minca. From the room balcony and dining area you can watch the birds and listen to the river Nial organises nature walks and bird watching tours (in English with a hint of Irish) in the area at a very reasonable price (including home cooked lunch) . His wife, has been running the restaurant La Cochina de Rochi for 3 years and has a well deserved reputation with Colombian and foreign visitors. I was made very welcome, fed well and had a great hot shower!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Marta, Colombia
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great place, lovely people and excellent food at very reasonable prices. Didn't stay the night but intend to do so. I'd highly recommend to anybody wishing to see the beauty of Minca and it's surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay in Minca, close to the centre of the village (next door to the police station) so within easy reach of all of the trek starting points.

We met Niall outside and, as fellow Irish people, he brought us in for a cup of tea! We were actually booked in to Oscars, so after having a chat, a cuppa and a slice of Rochia's (Niall's lovely Colombian wife) delicious homemade chocolate cake and a look at the amazing rooms, we headed off to honour our booking (dragging our feet as we went). Oscar hadn't honoured our booking though and after trekking all the way in to his hostel we trekked back out to Emerald Castle with smiles on our faces.

The rooms at Emerald Castle are a new addition to Cocina D Rochi and are just beautiful and on a par with what is being charged in the hostels in Minca for a private room - but you get so much more! Great location, great river views (and sound), great food on the premises and just the warmest loveliest welcome that you will ever find. As well as that, the rooms have a balcony overlooking the river, are beautifully decorated, immaculately clean, really comfy beds, and are ensuite with hot showers.

Niall is a wealth of information on the local area and can take or organise tours for you all around the area. We had four absolutely fun filled and action packed days thanks to Nialls good advice and organisation. I would love to say that the food was the best in town - but I can't because we had nothing to compare it to since we ate there every night! (We really don't think the food could be anywhere near as good anywhere else.) We just loved feeling like we were at home away from home and were really spoiled in every way by this lovely couple. (Rochia even made up a mix of special oil for me to rub on my sore knee!)

We just can't say enough about this lovely couple and their beautiful place. Go and see for yourself!

Room Tip: Both rooms are great. One can sleep up to 4. This is not a party hostel, just a lovely relaxing home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Emerald Green Guest House just opened so everything is brand new and clean. The place is owned by an Irish and Colombian couple Niall and Rochi. We loved our stay there! Although there are many restaurants in Minca, Rochi´s food was so good that we ended up just dining there. Our room was very big, bright with balcony that had amazing views. You must try Rochie´s pork chops with teriyaki pepers yuum yuum! Niall had a few beers with us and was telling us very interesting stories about Minca and the region from the past when was in the hands of FARC. Another bonus was that because of the location of the guest house there were no mosquitoes which was a nice change after being eaten alive for days.
We loved the place and would totally recommend it

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerald Green Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Green Guest House

Address: Next to Police Station | Minca, Minca calle 1, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Minca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Minca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Emerald Green Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Green Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.