We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxation getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Loma Minca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Loma Minca to your Saves list
Casa Loma Minca
Minca Hill, Minca 470008, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Minca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Medellin, Colombia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect relaxation getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Friendly, welcoming and chilled, Casa Loma was the best location to hang out and relax for a couple of days. The vibe is truly magical and the view sensational. The communal meals were absolutely delicious and a great way to meet other travellers and just enjoy a great evening. Definitely worth checking out this gem.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    33
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
2
50
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The location of Casa Loma is fantastic. It's perched atop a hill that allows for views all the way back down the mountains to Santa Marta and the Caribbean Sea. The sunsets from the top are incredible. We found this a very relaxing and charming place to stay for a few days. The communal area had plenty of hammock to relax and read a book during the evening, and the food served (both breakfast and dinner) was delicious. My only real complaint is that their website makes it look like some of the private rooms (Mirador, Treehouse) have more privacy than they do. In actuality, they are right on top of the communal area. Not a big deal but a more spaced out property would've been nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Getting there is tough, with a long uphill staircase, but the views are actually pretty cool, and sunset is a great moment at the hostel. Rooms and hammocks in the main area are basic, but nice, and bathroom are clean and in good shape. I heard people complaining about the showers in the camping area upstairs. I liked the private "den" where I stayed but the rooms upstairs are certainly a better value for couples/friends. Overall, the hostel has a good vibe, with most of the people working for Jay being fellow travelers who are volunteering for room and board for few weeks/months. That makes the place fun and everyone has been nice, but to be honest they were not very organized in the information dept. There is a small guide-book going around but for a place with lots of excursions to do, guests need to do a lot of self-searching and if your stay was as short as mine (2 days and 2 nights), you may miss out on some opportunities because nobody told you about it - even if you ask. Evenings of hanging out with fellow travelers are cool. Food is offered on premises, but it is only vegetarian and in my opinion a bit overpriced for the overall quality. After the first breakfast I decided to get my dinner in the village before getting upstairs. Overall, a good place to get a break from the costal life.

Room Tip: Get the hammocks or the single rooms in the main area. The den is right behind the kitchen, so nappi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My friend Prue and I stayed at Casa Loma for three nights last week, and it was absolutely magical. Jay and Anna were great, the breakfasts are sensational (best arepas I tried in Colombia) and the dinners are great too, made with lots of love. The bathrooms were clean, and the beds in the dorm rooms were comfy. We did yoga with the fabulous Nelson on the forest balcony (15,000 COP p/p) and had a great time under the cascades nearby. We loved Minca, which is a wonderfully friendly town, with lots of great places to eat and explore, including Cafe Tienda and the Lazy Cat. Highly recommend. Yes, it's a hike, but the views are worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

This hostel, located on the top of a hill in Minca is a stunning place to stay. We only stayed for one night but would have stayed for much longer had our itinerary allowed.
It takes about ten minutes to walk up and in the heat you may get a bit of a sweat on but it is SO worth it! You can see as far as Santa Marta and the sea in one direction and beautiful mountains in the other with lots of hammocks and seating areas to enjoy the views. We saw toucans flying past in the morning.
We stayed in a lovely private room, with an upmarket tree house feel to it but there are lots of different options for all budgets.
The owner is lovely, helpful and a great cook - useful when all the restaurants are at the bottom of the hill and you want a lazy evening.
If you are coming to minca this is the place to stay, a true one off experience!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Located at the end of a steep, but perfectly manageable path from Minca village. Well signposted. Wonderful view across to Santa Marta and into Sierra Nevada. Very friendly staff with good English. We took Mirador room which has a fabulous balcony with an unforgettable view of the sunrise and sunset. Showers are cold, but no hardship in the climate. Power cuts mean candles which add to the romatic atmosphere. Breakfast menu is extensive, remarkable considering the distance the food has to be brought. Dinner is good, but helpings may be small for hungry folk!! No wifi, but access is given to PC with internet, if needed. Wonderful walks from the Casa.

Room Tip: Choose the Mirador room for special view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

1. The directions (walking only) seemed innocent enough: Take a left before the church and follow the stairs right up to Casa de Loma. I am in excellent shape and had difficulty climbing 15 minutes of a variety of "stairs". Some of the stairs had the look of anger, of "forced labor"; and it only got worse. That was my 1st Red Flag.
2. Upon arrival, all of the "staff" who are also guests working off their tab and bar bill ignore you. As if your arrival is an imposition on the hangovers they are nursing. That's a real Red Flag.
3. The food was over priced and not very good; but if you go down those stairs, are you prepared for the walk back up...?
4. In addition to feeling trapped up there, there is nothing to do. The beautiful river and waterfalls are "down town".
5. RIGHT ACROSS from the CHUrCH is Casa Sillvi or Casa de Silvi at only $10.00 a night for your own room, private bath, river access on the property. LESS THAN 1/2 PRICE of Casa de Loma!!!

Room Tip: You can get a hammock at Casa de Loma for the same price as a room at Casa De Silvi right across fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Loma Minca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Loma Minca

Address: Minca Hill, Minca 470008, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Minca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Minca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Loma is a beautiful wooden hilltop house that offers one of the most amazing views from any hostel in Colombia, particularly at sunset!Situated above the town, you’ll overlook Minca, Santa Marta, the sea, plus the mountains of the Sierra Nevada and forest all at the same time—truly unique!Surrounded by tropical gardens and indigenous stones and paths, we offer complete tranquillity with no roads, cars, shops or neighbours; coupled with great food including our famous curry nights! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Loma Minca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Loma Minca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.