We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights of luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waipoua Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Waipoua Lodge to your Saves list
Waipoua Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4748 State Highway 12, Waipoua Forest 0376, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% OFF LIMITED DEAL
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waipoua Forest
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Two nights of luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Waipoua Lodge for two nights in January 2013, before returning to Auckland. Fran and Ian were most attentitive and entertaining hosts. The food was superb and spectacularly presented, with every attention to detail. The various elements of a dish always complemented each other. The suite was both spacious and very well appointed, with equisite toileteries. If we are able to return to NZ it would be our first point of call.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoodieF55, Owner at Waipoua Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you John & Ann for your lovely review.

The location of the lodge is an easy three hour drive north of Auckland and on the magnificent and undiscovered Kauri Coast which tourists can travel as their Pathway to Northland - a region of two very diverse coastlines and three important Maori cultural and spiritual locations.

The Waipoua Forest is the focus of the Kauri Coast and like many of the natural wonders of New Zealand is a little remote, but perhaps that is why our ancient kauri trees are up to 3,000 years old ... luckily untouched and saved from the pioneer loggers they are here for us to stand in awe and feel truly humble.

Kind regards
Ian & Fran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
125
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cahors, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent the last night of our honeymoon at Waipoua Lodge and really couldn't have chosen a better place. Fran and Ian opened the Lodge just for us and were fantastic hosts. We were greeted with warmth and smiles and with many nice little things such as chocolates, homemade biscuits and even a complimentary bottle of champagne. The room was absolutely lovely. The dinner was amazing and the little chat we had afterwards with our hosts very nice and interesting (they like to talk about their country, the kauris, and a lot of other things). The only regrets we have is that the weather was way too bad to use the spa and that we only stayed one night !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed only one night on the way back to Auckland. The accommodation is everything you would expect - very luxurious and lots a room. The hosts - Ian and Fran were terrific, very friendly and welcoming (as were Mr McFuggly, Hamish and Bonnie !!)
The dinner menu has plenty of options to choose from, and the three courses are portioned so that you can enjoy the full meal - and you should as the food is lovingly prepared and presented, and the tastes are delicious.
Ian and Fran describe themselves as the current "custodians" of the Lodge and its history, if you get the chance - treat yourself to a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromma, Stockholms Län, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our family stayed one night - December 22nd - with Ian and Fran on our way down south from Ahipara. Their warm welcome, the friendly atmosphere, the lovely building and the beautiful setting alls exceeded our expectations! We had the most lovely meal (and some real good wine too!) with christmas crackers and were also welcomed in to the kitchen to learn from expert chef Fran how to make a lemon soufflé! Before bedtime the children were invited to the christmas calendar to pick a christmas chocolate from the 22nd! We slept in the lovely furbished woodshed, used the lovely vanish products such as the body scrub and rotorua mud face mask and had a good nights sleep before a superbly cooked breakfast after which we headed south felling as royalties! Family Ringstedt from Sweden

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent 3 wonderful days here resting after a busy year. The hosts were amazing, friendly, warm, generous and very accomodating - while still giving us space when needed.
We could be involved - I learnt how to make ricotta and soufflé (just to name two), and feed Bessie and Holly - or you could just retreat with a large collection of DVD's to choose from.

When we decided to explore we were giving a delcious picnic basket to help the hunger pains during the day.

The location is great - close to all the key walks as well as a few beaches but very peaceful and quiet. We enjoyed the music of the Tui's all throughout the day.

The dining options were amazing. As a vegetarian I was giving a range of options especially for me to dine from and each was delicious.

WiFi is avaliable but cellphone coverage is limited - perfect for escaping the world.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

hello dear fran and Ian,
We have now arrived back home in Germany. Today we would like to once again sincerely for your hospitality and thank the wonderful time with you. We enjoyed it very much, so great care of you to be.
We wish you a wonderful Advent and Christmas season. Many good guests and especially health. Your Monika and Reinald

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Very nice stay, friendly host and excellent cuisine. You feel like at home.
The room was very spacious, with a very nice bathroom. You can do a short walk in the own garden with an extension in the forest. The Kauri forest is nearby.
Thanks Fran and Ian we loved the stay in your B&B.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waipoua Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipoua Lodge

Address: 4748 State Highway 12, Waipoua Forest 0376, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Waipoua Forest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waipoua Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waipoua Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true New Zealand hospitality. Waipoua Lodge - creating a memorable guest experience. Waipoua Lodge is a little piece of luxury etched in history where you can experience true New Zealand hospitality whilst travelling Northland’s Twin Coast Discovery Highway. This circular route provides two diverse coastlines which offer in just one region, so much of the natural environment which is our beautiful Aotea-roa (land of the long white cloud). Nestled on a ridge overlooking the vast Waipoua Forest – home of the ancient and iconic kauri trees, Waipoua Lodge offers relaxing, warm and authentic New Zealand hospitality and the perfect location from which to explore the beautiful and often undiscovered Kauri Coast - Pathway to Northland and Naturally New Zealand’s Ancient, Eco & Cultural Destination. With the mixture of yesteryear in the old Kauri lodge, home to artefacts from the Kauri logging era, to the four acres of garden and tranquil bush walk surrounded by pasture and forest … you will be inspired and all within an easy 3 hour drive from Auckland. Host Ian offers personalised guided tours of the local area and hands on talks and demonstrations of the history of the ancient kauri and the early pioneers and gumdiggers. If you have a love of food, cooking and entertaining, then dining at Waipoua Lodge will be an experience to remember. Spending some time with host and chef Fran at the lodge's cooking school could simply be the ‘cream on your dessert!’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Waipoua Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waipoua Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.