We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kiaora” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Footprints Waipoua

Footprints Waipoua
29, State Highway 12, Waipoua Forest, New Zealand
+64 (0) 9 405 8207
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours, Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kiaora”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

What Koro and team have done here is to take you for a walk through the forest to see it also from the Maori perspective. Well done guys, been with you twice and will go again

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great evening in the forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This tour was fantastic! We thought we were just going for a walk in the forest but it delivered so much more. Matiu was an excellent and knowledgeable guide. During the evening we learned so much about the local flora and fauna, not just about the Kauri trees. Going out at twilight was really atmospheric and we really enjoyed the Maori songs and the stories.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful and moving experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Guide Bill did not pick us up for a tour but for a journey! Walking through the forest and seeing this beautiful giant Kauri trees in the twilight combined with his Maori legends, prayers and songs was very touching and focusing us on respect for nature and its wonders. Before booking we were not sure whether our 6 year old daughter would keep interest during a 4 hours tour but she liked it so much also because Bill treated her as part of the visiting Fana (family) - so we highly recommend it to all visitors also with kids. A lifetime experience we will never forget thanks to the trees and Bill.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice walk in the forest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a nice walk in the Kauri forest and visited the holy Kauri trees. The Maori guide had interesting stories and songs. We recommend this tour.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Maori Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

A very unique approach to appreciate Kauri trees and Waipoua Forest. Our guide a Maori Bill did a great job of explaining the mythology & importance of the Kauri trees to the Maori people. We thoroughly enjoyed his Maori prayers and songs. Althjough the tour was 4 hrs it did not feel long at all. Highly recommned but did feel the cost a littel high.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Footprints Waipoua also viewed

 
Waipoua Forest, Northland Region
Waihi, Waikato Region
 

Been to Footprints Waipoua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Footprints Waipoua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Footprints Waipoua to your Saves list