We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Malvern Rd, Leigh Sinton WR13 5DZ, England
01886 833917
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Had a fantastic meal this evening! Staff were very welcoming and friendly. Meal was homemade and delicious! Couldn't fault anything! Would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    3
    0
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Much better than it was”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We went to the Oak for lunch with my Grandad who lives in the village. It was very quiet for a Saturday lunch time (we were the only customers) and I wonder if people have been put off by some of the reviews on here. We had a lovely lunch (especially recommend the beef curry which was the special of the day and fantastic value at only £5). Staff were friendly and efficient. My only criticism was the music which was quite loud, but the staff were happy to turn it off at Grandad's request.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Better than the previous reviews suggest!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We are staying at a nearby B&B and were told that the food here is "okay but the ambience is nil". We have now corrected our land lady's misconception! In fact we've enjoyed our food, the friendliness of the staff and the locals. The food is mostly cooked fresh, although I think the pies are bought in. The pies are delicious - I especially enjoyed the pork, cider and sage pie, complete with the pie's own gravy! When I say we enjoyed it, we went back three nights in a row...it's just a shame that we are off home tomorrow!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch just like a mama used to make.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Well i'm going to start by commenting on the awful reviews on here,and i find it very strange that there are a series of one dot comments/ratings.seems a bit suspicious to me.In fact think should be maybe looked into by T A.Me and my family's experience is totally different,i started using this lovely pub about four weeks ago,after moving in to the area.Firstly as a watering place after a days graft,the ales are exceptional,and the landlady is accommodating,pleasant and always happy every time i've been there.We tried to book last week for sunday lunch,but it was fully booked.So this tells me something must be good about the food there.So we managed to get there this Sunday gone,what can i say.Delicious,well presented with vegetables you can eat,instead of the rock hard veg you get in some places.There is a range of size portions from large to medium to,childs portion.which they kindly let my mother have,as she is a very small eater.I did not have the desert i was full,but my partner and mum did,and they enjoyed them to.Ok ive not had anything else off the menu,but to say its an unwelcoming pub,is way off kilter.Ive written quite a few reviews,sometimes good about places and then if its not upto scratch later i will comment again.So far here at The Royal oak,everything has been top dollar.well done keep up the good work,and pay a visit folks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awful, small and unwelcoming”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Popped in for a drink to try a different local pub, was small, cramped and the bar-staff were terrible. Seemed as so we disturbed them and they didn't really want you there unless you were a regular.

Never again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline1931, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hello Ryan!!

I am very sorry that you as a man aged between 13 and 17 felt this!!

Can you describe for me the bar staff you are referring to??

I would love you to come in and discuss your comments as all genuine feedback is welcome.

Yes the bar is small. It is an old half timbered pub built a few hundred years ago!!! what exactly do you expect. If you want a spacious pub don't visit a small village country pub.

I completely dispute your allegation that the locals take priority over visitors. We have had many visitors that would disagree with your comments. I feel you have a ulterior motive for this review and I hope that anyone reading this will be able to see through it.

If it is genuine then come and see me I'll be happy to hear the exact reasons for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Cradley, Herefordshire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.