We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disasterous service we would like to forget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travancore Heritage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Travancore Heritage to your Saves list
Travancore Heritage
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Chowara P.O., Chowara 695501, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chowara
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Disasterous service we would like to forget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We seleceted the location and this property to make our Dubai re-union a memorable one. Though the location, ambience and views were close to our expectations, service and basic facilities lacked lustre, which cannot be even compared to a one star property.

We checked in on a humid afternoon, after a 6 hour long drive, some of us from various parts of the world on overnight long haul flights. We booked two rooms by the pool, with spacious balconies facing the pool and views of the beach. Rooms had all basic features had no reason to complain.

Here it starts, in this age of electronic communications, we wanted to access the internet, we called the reception to give us the login name and password. It was shocking to hear from the receptionist, asking us to walk up the steep pathways on this humid afternoon and collect the same from the reception. A few stern verbal exchanges resulted in getting the username and password over the phone. After this irritating experience, we started searching for the room service menu, couldn't find in the room, requested room service for the menu. We got a pathetic photo copy, at the age of 50, made it a labourous effort to read. We selected what we wanted to order, called room service, here comes the next surprise, though we tried to order, we were told the same is not available, but after mentioning that the item is in their menu, the order taker obliged.

The evening, before going for a wet dip in the pool, we decided to order dinner, tried to contact the Chef to have something exclusive kerala dishes if possible, who was not available in the property at 7.30pm, and the Souz Chef was too busy to come to the phone. The restaurant Manager was not of great help, but we managed to place order, to be delivered at 9.30pm. Promptly delivered as desired, but surprises never ended. Though the order was for 5 guests, the food was delivered without any cutlery or crockery. Food was tasty though one of the dishes was a bit too oily.

Woke up the next day, ordered two coffees and teas, and we received two teas in one pot and the other pot was opened and served, which turned out to be tea too. Coffee order was forgotten, instead tea was served.

The distaterous service experience continues, the night before our departure we wanted a train ticket booking to be done and confirmed, but was told by the hotel travel desk it is not possible without credit card. We did it ourselves over internet and forwarded confirmation to reception and requested reception desk to get us a print out of our confirmed reservation. Question, does this exclusive property require a travel desk to print out the booking we made ourselves online?, or should they have made the booking for us and charged to our room(even with an added service charge)?. These are basic services provided by entry level resorts.

In short, if you are not bothered about value for money, dont care about the service you receive and have an ice cold temper, please stay to experience the fresh air and expansive resort. Chill out in the pool, have leisurely read in a hammock, enjoy a drink in the chaise lounge in the balcony, this property is for you, else please avoid the experience.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms near the seafood restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    139
    41
    21
    12
See reviews for
83
175
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spent 2 nights here at the end of an 18 day tour of India. Our tour schedule was heavy and this was a great place to round off our trip. Our room was a bit rustic but clean and comfortable. We understand that other rooms had been refurbished and were nicer but we were very happy with our accommodation. We also were lucky enough to have a verandah with a couple of armchairs. The grounds were well maintained and there was access to the beach, either by steps or lift. There were two swimming pools which were clean with lifeguards in attendance. The quality of the food was very good with some recognition that not everyone wants to eat curry at every meal. There was some entertainment during the evening meal. A return taxi to the beach resort of Kovalam cost 1,000 INR for 6 people. A highlight of our stay was to see the fishermen of Kerala bringing in the catch. However, you need to get up early to see this!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

What a great place. Arrived back from 18 beautiful days at the Travancore. Not an ideal location if you like to go for a wander around the locality, initailly a little dissapointed by the location, but after the first 24hrs we were in love. The hotel is set on a cliff top with stunning views and beatiful gardens littered with ornate dark wooden chalets of differing sizes, also a small block of apartments facing the beach at the cliff bottom (where we were stopping), its own pool and gardens to enjoy. Every staff member (bar the grumpy pool man) were so charming, polite and helpful, the reception staff attended above & beyond with any requests or querys we had. The food was exceptional quality, variety and beautifully presented - the evening buffet was fab, we used it every night and certainly were never bored with what was on offer(great value too). The rooms were very well cleaned on a daily basis, great air con, and even an outside fan on the balcony to give even greater comfort whilst sitting admiring the gorgeous view and listening to the waves crashing on the beach. Would go back in a heart beat, second to none for a relaxing and peaceful holiday.

Room Tip: Don't opt for a beach grove room if you have mobility issues, quite a steep slope to negotiate t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hi , I have been a hotelier by profession hence I am generally very empathetic to hotel staff and all they have to put up with. This hotel's service though reeks of arrogance. It took us one hour to check in and when I requested for tender coconut water instead of the sugary fruit juice they were offering as the welcome drink , i was promptly told , it will only be served if I pay. I had never said I wont...The rooms are filthy, the bedside lampshades that must have been white in their hey day were now brown and had cobwebs. Ayurveda was nothing to write home about , the doctor was down right rude.Heritage Travancore is pure commerce with not a hint of hospitality!! I had booked for 8 nights but checked out after the first. Their loss ! As compared Somatheeram which I checked in to is a heaven of peace , tranquility and professionalism. Ayurveda is fantastic , doctors are helpful and therapists well trained. The food and beverage offering is fantastic , organic and non - veg too is offered. Take my word for it , go for Somatheeram...and avoid Travancore Heritage like plague

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Lovely unspoilt beach, a nice morning walk is to the nearby fishing village and watch the fishermen bring in their nets. Be prepared for some surprises, there are some sights of India that may shock you. Cover up when walking in the village as women are not readily accepted in beach attire (respect their ways and you will keep them happy). The children will crowd you and ask for "school pens", when you have none, they will ask for money, your sunglasses, flip flops anything you have on you really.
The hotel provide towels for poolside and fresh towels beach site with lovely beds and umbrellas. Very attentive and friendly staff, would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Beach rooms are lovely, some people say there is some distance to restaurant but there is lift and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here for our final 3 nights after a 2 week tour of South India and it was a perfect way to end our holiday. We had a room in the Beach Grove block which is near the beach and over-looks the lower pool - lovely spacious room on the first floor with a balcony and comfy chairs - ideal for that beer at sunset! We were welcomed warmly by cool drinks in Reception and shown to our room by a very helpful man. As other reviewers have said the grounds are large (and very pretty) and the lower block is quite a long, steep walk from the main area - there is a lift, but there is still an up-hill stretch to get back to Reception, not a problem for us but some older guests were struggling.
We ate in the main restaurant each night - had the buffet once which is extensive but don't think we did it justice, and then had the a la carte which was very tasty and reasonably priced. Breakfast was a buffet - again very good.
The pools were clean and not very busy - never had a problem getting sun-beds (though the Life-guard at the lower pool was the grumpiest man we met in our whole time in India!!).
Our only criticism and we knew this before we went is that there is no where to walk to - yes you can walk along the beach to the fishing village, but we felt like voyeurs looking at their poverty (take some biros, the kids will ask you for 'pens'). We went to watch the early morning catch being brought in by the fishermen, on the beach right outside the hotel, and also the open air Church and statue of Christ right on the edge of the beach is definitely worth looking at.
Free wi-fi but only in the Reception area - can also use their computers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed 3 nights after a long tour of India just to relax. A perfect choice. We had a premiun suite with views over the beach and ocean. The rooms were spacious, clean and well maintained and had all the facilities we needed. There are two nice supervised pools with service provided. Beautiful gardens are well maintained by friendly staff. Food was plentiful. The dinner buffet about average and the al a carte menu surprisingly limited (of indian fare), but good food and good value. If you stay there, don't miss an early morning visit to the beach to watch the fishermen land their catch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travancore Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travancore Heritage

Address: Chowara P.O., Chowara 695501, India
Location: India > Kerala > Chowara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chowara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travancore Heritage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Travancore Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travancore Heritage Hotel Chowara
Travancore Heritage Thiruvananthapuram Trivandrum
Travancore Heritage Kerala, India - Chowara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travancore Heritage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.