We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous beach vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosemary Beach

Rosemary Beach
78 North Barrett Square, Rosemary Beach, FL 32461
866-655-2912
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Swimming, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rosemary Beach is a neo-traditional town located on northwest Florida's gulf coast, between Panama City and Destin, at the eastern end of Scenic Route 30A. Easily accessible by air or by car, the town is a 30-minute drive from the Northwest Florida Beaches International Airport and a one-hour drive from the Fort Walton Beach Okaloosa Airport. The Rosemary Beach Land Company and President Patrick Bienvenue had a vision they wanted to share with the world. In 1995, that vision became a reality and Rosemary Beach was born. Rosemary Beach Land Company’s development plan is founded in the principles of New Urbanism and Traditional Neighborhood Development. Inspired by other classic beach towns, the 107-acre, gulf-front town of Rosemary Beach was designed to bring back the notions of community, neighborhood and convenience. In other words, this slice of heaven on earth offers residents the opportunity to live and work in paradise. In their search for paradise, people often travel to the far corners of the earth, only to come up empty-handed. In reality, paradise is a lot closer than most people think. Long stretches of pristine beaches made up of the brightest of white sands. Refreshing breezes blowing off the waters of the Gulf of Mexico. The peace and tranquility of gently lapping surf, singing gulls and sandpipers. These are things that have been quietly awaiting discovery in a section of Florida's panhandle. These are the ingredients that make up the town Rosemary Beach--paradise found.Residents of Rosemary Beach are lucky to not only live and work here, but also to have the opportunity to play here. When work is finished and the rest of the errands can wait, Rosemary Beach is the perfect location for a vacation. Mild year-round temperatures, yet still a change of season; spectacular beaches free from crowds; the natural beauty of a beach-side destination located on a designated scenic road; aesthetically-pleasing architecture and award-winning, expertly-designed layout; convenient and quaint town center, amenities such as tennis courts, pools, dune walkovers to the beach and lots of green areas in which to relax; these are the qualities of the new paradise of Rosemary Beach.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous beach vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

What an absolutely fabulous vacation we had in Rosemary Beach! Our children, ages 6 and 3, loved every minute--on the beach, at the playground, in the pool, riding bikes, or just playing ball on one of the beautiful greens. We spend a week here in early May, and it was perfect. The beaches are gorgeous and the town is filled with charm. The memories we made here are priceless! We have fallen in love with Rosemary and hope to return soon!

Visited May 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    32
    6
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Piedmont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best beach in America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Wow! White sand, translucent Gulf of Mexico, and the best amenities I have ever seen. Its the whole package-family friendly layout, world-class restaurants, and walk-to-everything convenience.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Beach Vacation for Families and Design Junkies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Rosemary Beach is a new urbanist (mixed-use, walkable) neighborhood with stunning architecture and design 30 minutes from Panama City, Florida. A MUST for urban planners and anyone interested in design but also just about the most perfect location on Earth for a family vacation.

The beach is unbelievable: fine, fine white sand and blue green waters with blue skies filled with puffy white coulds. One of the most beautiful beaches anywhere. Great fun for kids and adults and very clean and when I was there--uncrowded. NO spring break college craziness, just families.

The town itself offers stunning homes and condos modelled after West Indian style, most available as vacation rentals. Only negative is that during certain times of the year you are required to have a 7 day stay which is not the case with the similar community of Seaside, Florida just down 30-A.

You can walk to the town center from every house in Rosemary Beach (which is the point of new urbanism) so restaurants and shops are in easy walking distance. Older kids can have the freedom to walk there by themselves which is an usual perk anywhere in the United States since in most places you have to get in a car to get to anything of interest.

Bike rentals are a very fun way to get around for the entire family.

Look to Rosemary Beach for a laid back beach vacation great for the whole family. The place is so awesome I was heasitant to even review it for fear of letting this great secret out, but it's such a special place/area I couldn't deny other families the joy we've found vacationing there.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We love Rosemary Beach. We try to go at least once a year. Occasionally make it down twice. Wonderful location to take our whole extended family. We are heading there again in a few weeks, ages 5 to 55, and something to please everyone. We rent bikes for the week, park the car and barely get it out while there. People are so friendly. Great restaurants. My husband and I try to make it to Onana and Paradis for a date. The kids love to have lunch at Cowgirls Kitchen. Everyone loves to make a stop at Sugar Shak in the evening for ice cream!!

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great family vacation spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Beach is beautiful, rentals are comfortable and nice, you can walk to everything you need and they cater to family fun. I highly recommend Rosemary Beach as a vacation spot.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosemary Beach also viewed

Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
Seaside, Florida Panhandle
 
Seaside, Florida Panhandle
Grayton Beach, Santa Rosa Beach
 

Been to Rosemary Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosemary Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.