We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake View Guest House

Lake View Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lake View Guest House to your Saves list
Lake View Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Portinscale B&B and Inns
Worcester
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

A warm and genuine welcome from the loveliest of hosts. Lots of special touches like Catherine's home made biscuits and raspberry gin liquere in our very comfortable room. Quality bathroom with lovely toiletries, comfortable sitting room, tasty breakfast with home made jam and lemon curd. All super clean and a great place to stay. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lancs
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

had 3 nights here in Portinscale near Keswick. The owners Christine and Stuart were amazing, the attention to detail was fabulous. There was a couple staying who had several dietry problems, which were more than catered for. Local knowledge for walks and views was exceptional. Keswick was a 20 min walk away, which was handy for shops and night life. Lake Derwent was only 5 mins walk away and had lovely views upto the mountains. Will stay here again when we can.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have just got back from 3 wonderful nights at Lake View Guest House, our first stay here but, hopefully not our last. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, nothing seemed too much trouble for Stuart & Catherine our hosts. The room was very warm, spacious and comfortable, the guest lounge was warm and very cosy and the breakfasts each morning were absolutely fantastic. We look forward to our next visit. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms will be of equal quality however, we had the double room (3) and we would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night - last minute decision to stay in the Lakes, and was found this place by tourist information in Keswick. Only a stone's throw from Keswick, but away from the noise and bustle of the town. Really comfortable room, great service and breakfast. Choice of two very different eating places in the village. Why stay in Keswick when you can stay here?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Clean, friendly, excellent food and outstanding value for money! Location - Portinscale near Keswick - quiet and peaceful but handy for major roads in the area. Owners were discreet but very helpful and not intrusive. Menus were excellent, worthy of 5* hotel but a fraction of the price. There was clear pride in the service given. Packed lunches were great - a boon for travellers and walkers alike. Looking forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have just had 2 nights at this lovely B&B and are already planning our next visit. On arrival we were greeted with fresh tea and coffee and home made cake and a very warm welcome. Rooms are much more spacious than standard and the bathroom had both a powerful shower and a bath....which we used for a long soak after a hard day on the fells!

Little touches make lake view a little special....like the home made biscuits in the rooms and the quality toiletries. The guest lounge is warm, comfortable and welcoming.

A absolute gem of a place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just literally returned from a 4 night stay at Lake View. Whilst we have been regular visitors to the lakes over the years this was our first time actually staying in the northern lakes. We wanted to walk in Borrowdale and used this lovely guesthouse as our base. What a wonderful choice it was everything was just right, from the breakfast to the well appointed double room, we couldn't fault a thing! And we were blessed to have two wonderful days of sunshine which made the view of Derwent Water from our window all the more splendid. Many thanks for a great first time northern lakes experience!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Guest House

Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Portinscale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake View Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine Edwardian house situated in the heart of Portinscale enjoying an elevated south facing location overlooking lake and fells. Three comfortably furnished rooms offer ensuite facilities. Relax in the sitting room after wonderful home cooked food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Lake View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Guest House Keswick/Portinscale, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake View Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.