We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New in town....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chalet Tearooms and Restaurant

The Chalet Tearooms and Restaurant
The Chalet, Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RF, England
+(44)01768772757
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British, Ice Cream, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Tearooms by day and a restaurant by night, serving high quality food and wine in a stunning location near the shores of derwent water..
Sunnyvale, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“New in town....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Chalet had been recommended by Sarah at Littletown Farm Guest House. The Chalet only had been operational for 5 or 6 weeks when we dined there. Angela is a gracious host and server while husband Stephen is a very accomplished chef.
This was an unexpected pleasure out on this little country road and we highly recommend it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
packhorse123, Owner at The Chalet Tearooms and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for your review thanks to sarah for the recommendation, by the way the chefs called peter ha ha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    41
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Went twice whilst on holiday. Great food. Very clean. Nice menu and you can see the chefs cooking. We are both chefs and I teach culinary arts at college so we are very particular as to where we eat. If you want decent food go there

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
packhorse123, Owner at The Chalet Tearooms and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks for your kind review hope to see you again soon

kind regards peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were staying just 2 doors away from The Chalet and decided to have a meal there on our final night (they only open for dinner on 5 nights of the week). It was one of the best meals out that I have had! We didn't opt for a starter (as the dessert menu looked too good to miss!). My husband had the roast lamb and I went for the duck. Both were beautifully presented. The selection of vegetables and potatoes were first class too. Then the desserts. We both went for the creme brulee. It was the best creme brulee I have ever had, and again beautifully presented. With an excellent bottle of red wine, the bill came to £59, which for the quality of food we received we thought was excellent value. The restaurant itself is very new and very modern. Clean lines, light colours and furnishings, huge windows and a view into the kitchen to see how things are prepared. I couldn't recommend this restaurant more highly!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
packhorse123, Owner at The Chalet Tearooms and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks for your kind review being a new bussiness this is very helpfull, hope to see you again soon kind regards peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portinscale, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You shouldn't go here ... you must go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

After one week of very moderate restaurant food and horrible pub food ... this was a relief!

Very welcomed by the staff we entered a restaurant what we thought from the outside was an icecream bar. But once inside it appeared to be a very well furnished and tastefully decorated restaurant all with natural materials and colours.

And now the food ... most pubs promote 'good food' while providing horrible food, but this was really GOOD FOOD! All courses were very tasteful, but especially the meats of the main courses we had (duck/lamb) were all very tender with a good variety of potatoes and fresh vegetables. Also a good selection of affordable wines. So our TripAdvise is: 'Don't go to the restaurants in Keswick, but go here!' Walking distance from Keswick.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Chalet recently opened as a restaurant in the evening and what a great job they are doing.
Fully refurbished and extended with simple but sophisticated decor creating a relaxing atmosphere.
But it is the food that makes it really stand out with an interesting menu and presentation to compete with the best. We had an excellent wine and overall an evening to remember, we will be back.
We wish the owners every good luck with what is going to become a very popular restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chalet Tearooms and Restaurant also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Chalet Tearooms and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chalet Tearooms and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.