We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always brilliant.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skiddaw Croft

Skiddaw Croft
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portinscale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skiddaw Croft
Save
You added Skiddaw Croft to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Portinscale B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Always brilliant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Immaculately clean, great breakfast, comfy bed, parking, lovely knowledgeable proprietor about weather and walking, and a way to dry wet clothes after a day on the fells. A nice walk to Keswick for food and beer. Great views and location will be visiting again..........and again!

Thanks Jeanette.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

When travelling with children and dog it's often a challenge to find somewhere accommodating on all levels - Janette's guest house was warm and friendly, Janette made us all feel at home and she provided exceptional service - we'll definitely be going back for our next visit to the Lakes!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just returned from Skiddaw Croft and what a wonderful stay we had again. Janette is very welcoming and the B & B is excellent. The breakfast is superb, I would defy anyone to find better. We had a really good room which had excellent views over the Derwent. I think the weather was even arranged for us, the forecast wasn't brilliant but it only rained overnight leaving us the days to have some really long walks. Would recommend walking around the Derwent and over Cats Bells. The starting point for both is the hotel. The local pub, The Farmers Arms is excellent for a meal as well. We're already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

What a lovely B & B. Janette was so kind and helpful. The room was very clean & comfortable. The breakfast is probably the best we have had anywhere. What a lovely place Portinscale is. Just a short walk from Keswick and a good centre for many fell walks. Try Cats Bells, not too difficult and waht a view from the top. We're looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton-on-tees uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

we booked this b and b at quite short notice for our anniversary on the 14 th of july when we decided to go back to keswick to check on the progress of the ospreys.as usual at this time of year hoteliers were reluctant to give us just the one night we wanted but janette replied promptly to my e-mail but said she could only offer us a double en-suite attic room for the one night,which we took.we were a bit apprehensive when we arrived not sure if it was going to be a pokey little room but it was actually quite spacious and comfortable with a lovely view of the hills.the cooked breakfast was very good with a great variety of cerials and fruit and yoghurts on offer and delicious fresh coffee.we like the village of portinscale and stayed in a holiday home for a week earlier this year and we would certainly stay at skiddaw croft again if going back for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We booked this B&B last minute when we discovered that the weather was due to be good this weekend and what a fantastic find it turned out to be. As there is little information on the Internet I was a somewhat concerned but the place is great.
It's not modern or trendy, however Skiddaw Croft is exactly what you hope for in a B&B. Its immaculately clean, has a friendly owner, its in a beautiful location and the breakfast was great. We are a young(ish) couple with a three year old. We had the cosy sitting room to ourselves each evening and felt safe leaving our boy asleep upstairs. Overall, we couldn't have asked for more and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I have stayed at this B&B twice, and our friends go there regularly. Janette, the owner, is such a lovely woman. She makes you feel very welcome and can answer your questions about which walks are the best. She also makes the best breakfast. Its not only a delicious hot breakfast (traditional English) with local food, she also provides lots of fresh fruit, cereals, toasts, breads, and yogurts. I've already been back once, and will plan on going back again soon. Absolutely fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skiddaw Croft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skiddaw Croft

Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Portinscale
Hotel Class:4 star — Skiddaw Croft 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Skiddaw Croft Keswick/Portinscale, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skiddaw Croft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.