We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Derwentwater Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Derwentwater Hotel to your Saves list
The Derwentwater Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WEEKEND BREAKS FROM £132
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Carrickfergus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a week here. The food was excellent, a different menu each day, and the staff could not be more helpful. Room was clean and comfortable and we would have no hesitation in returning. Perhaps the decor in places could do with freshening up.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you have taken in writing your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and the team made you feel welcome, they are an asset to the hotel and I will ensure your comments are passed on.

I hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    168
    81
    46
    32
See reviews for
62
254
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Third time back, food good all round, bar was lacking staff most times, staff still friendly and helpful, rooms ok but lacking in ventilation ie a FAN, only small window will open if u can reach it,
Hotel now looking tired and in need of a make over

Room Tip: Lake side view second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you keep returning and find my team to be friendly & helpful. I will investigate your comments about a possible lack of bar staff.

We have recently completed the second stage of refurbishments in 12 months taking the total rooms refurbished to 35, with the rest planned for next year, We are also updating our public areas as part of this ongoing process.

I hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Our recent visit to this hotel was excellent. The location, the grounds, our room, the staff, were all brilliant. We only had a small problem with the food, and that was just that the fish had bones. Monday's "fish and chips" had a few, but Tuesday's cod was full of bones, and I consider that this hotel's quality, and its restaurant quality were let down by this. That is a pity, but it will certainly not stop us making a return visit as soon as we can. For myself, I found most rooms to be too warm, even with windows open, but that's probably just a personal thing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay, all feedback is vital to us.

I am over the moon to read you had such a good time, and the whole experience was to your liking.

I have noted your comments regarding the bones in the fish, and will look into this.

See you very soon.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed in the hotels apartments which are dog friendly. We were pleased with the size of the accommodation and cleanliness of bathroom, kitchen etc. however we felt the whole place is a bit "tired" and could do with a bit if a re-vamp. The kitchen had recently been modernised and included a dishwasher which is a god send. Everything you needed utensil wise was in the kitchen. We went across to the hotel conservatory with George and he was made welcome (apart from one employee who was quite rude and abrupt about him having a little bark now & again). I would definitely stay here again as the walks we did we're fantastic and the weather was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you have taken to write about your recent stay in Derwent Manor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay (even George). I have noted your comments, and thank you for bringing these to my attention.

I hope we will see you back soon.

Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

This Victorian hotel is situated in a very picturesque location with beautiful views towards Borrowdale and the garden is a wonderful area to relax in, there was even ducks in the garden.
It is perfect for rest and relaxation.
The rooms were very clean and spacious and all the staff were friendly, very efficient and they couldn't do enough for us.
The menu and food was excellent and the service was impeccable.

The Derwent Hotel has given me and my family some wonderful memories we shall treasure for life and will return again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, I will pass these onto the team who I am sure like me will be over the moon that you enjoyed your stay.

I hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband myself and our dog stayed at the Derwentwater Hotel on 30 May on a b & b basis. We both thought the hotel and grounds were lovely. We had a groundfloor disabled room which was roomy and spacious and very clean. The breakfast was excellent as was the evening meal. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We tried to stay the following night but it was booked up which does not surprise me. We will certainly be staying again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your stay. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, and the team looked after you. I will ensure this feedback is passed on.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The location of this Victorian hotel is by far its best asset: lovely gardens lead into a natural path and riverside walk to the shores of Derwentwater with it's beautiful views towards Borrowdale. Inside is a bit dim, despite obvious efforts to update the dining room and lounge. The atmosphere was a bit old folks home and we took refuge in the local pub. The bedroom had last seen a decorator in the eighties although was clean and comfortable enough despite the towel rail falling on my foot. The dinner menu was from the same era and I think the starters had come straight from the cash and carry at Carlisle although the steak was fine and the dining staff were charming. Breakfast was ok but they'd run out of butter. I think it was a bit pricey.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your stay.

I am disappointed to read some of your comments; I do not agree that the hotel is “dim” nor anything like an “Old folks home” and our food certainly does not come from a “cash and carry”

Many guests have and still do come to The Derwentwater for a relaxing break in a charming hotel with clean and comfortable bedrooms, good food and a friendly yet professional team.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Derwentwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwentwater Hotel

Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwentwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the serenity of our grounds, and you’ll find pastures teeming with wildlife. Gaze across Derwentwater and you’ll find majestic fells, shrouded in time and mystery. Within the hotel, you’ll find an excellent standard of service, and all the facilities you’d expect from a Coast & Country venue. You’ll find an intimate, relaxed feel throughout, and a warm, friendly service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Derwentwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derwentwater Hotel Keswick/Portinscale, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Derwentwater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.