We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“early year break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Derwentwater Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Derwentwater Hotel to your Saves list
The Derwentwater Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WEEKEND BREAKS FROM £132
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“early year break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I have been to loads of Shearings hotels (self drive breaks). They are excellant value. The Derwentwater is the same as most, probably in need of some decoration. However our room was fine and comfortable and was usual standard. The food was excellant and the best food that we have had out of all the Shearings hotels that we have stayed. I relayed this to reception on my departure, please do not let your chef leave. All the staff were very friendly and plesant and a credit to the hotel. The hotel is in an excellant location. I have no problem recommending this hotel and remember these hotels are value hotels, you get what pay for. My only complaint was £3.70 for a pint of lager was excessive and it was flat however the barstaff did pull new pints.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We strive to deliver excellent value for money, clean and comfortable rooms, friendly and professional staff along with good food - to read we achieved in all these areas is very rewarding. I will pass your feedback on to the team.

I hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    168
    82
    46
    32
See reviews for
62
255
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Firstly I think the photos available on numerous websites are slightly false and are not a true picture of this hotel. To start the room was small, it was cosy and has good range of amenities, but the decor was dated and definitely in need of an update. The bathroom was a decent size considering the size of the room, however the shower was very poor. The water trickled from the shower head. On our first night we had a problem with out toilet. It would not flush. So we reported it to reception staff who kindly put us in to another room overnight as there was no maintenance staff available and the room we were going to overnight was booked the for the following night. The next morning we took the key back and asked about the toilet, the woman on reception was quite rude and the first thing she said to us was 'there was absolutely nothing wrong with the toilet'. Well I beg to differ! Anyway we went back to our original room to find the toilet was working better but occasionally didn't flush! Just like the original problem! Anyway the breakfast options were good and the staff at breakfast were very helpful. Unfortunately I feel that this hotel charged too much for it's rooms and won't be staying again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerwentwaterGM, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Feedback is vital to us.

I will investigate the issues you have raised and where possible take corrective action, including speaking to the reception team member who you mentioned.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We both enjoyed our 3 night stay.Very pleased with breakfast and dinner with plenty of choices on the menu.The room was well up to standard and with fine views of the lake.Very close to Keswick, just a short stroll to town and return by boat " Keswick Launch" .The local walks mean no need for the car.The peace and quiet we wanted we found .The staff were very helpful making our stay most enjoyable.The cost was reasonable and we would certainly come again.

Room Tip: The room with views of the lake,gardens and fells ticked all our boxes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerwentwaterGM, Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback, it is very much appreciated and I am pleased to hear your stay was an enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Regards
Steve Stott
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Spent 3 nights DBB with friends. The hotel was extremely comfortable and the staff very helpful and friendly. The breakfast choices were substantial and good quality. The dinner menu gave a range of choices that were very good value for money and enjoyable. The hotel is superbly positioned to allow a wide range of walks without driving anywhere and is only about a one mile walk from Keswick. The free use of spa facilities at the nearby Oxleys was a fantastic addition to the break. We felt very much at home and would certainly consider a return visit. Next time we may even consider taking the dog!!! She would love it even more than we did:)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerwentwaterGM, Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear guest,
I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here with us at the Derwentwater with your friends and that the team were on hand to assist. The Spa is indeed a nice addition to have, especially after a long walk so I am pleased that you made good use of this facility. Please do come again and you’re dog is more than welcome too, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Steve Stott
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My wife and I were really impressed by both the location and quality of this place. We stayed in the luxury apartments (Buttermere) and couldn't find fault. Everything had been thought of, a true home from home! At the price we paid I was slightly concerned about turning up and finding it to be of a low quality, but I couldn’t have been more wrong. The hotel is modern and well decorated a lovely place to eat and drink; food was fantastic and reasonably priced. Staff were great, genuinely happy to help. Catherine (reservations manager) could not do enough to help when setting up our stay, she ensured we had spa passes for the nearby luxury spa (a must when staying at this hotel as the passes are free and entitle you to 10% off treatments too!) and that we could check in early to suit our plans. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerwentwaterGM, Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear guest,

What lovely feedback, Catherine and the team will be delighted to hear such glowing comments and I thank you on their behalf for taking the time to post them on here. We hope you will come back to see us on your next visit to the Lake District and look forward to seeing you again.

Regards
Steve Stott
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We went for a 3 nights stay at the Derwentwater Hotel, The hotel is in a great location with a 15 minute walk into Keswick. Has great grounds with its own lake also. Great for a morning walk with the dog.
The staff are great. We stayed B&B and the breakfast choice and quality was good with a cereal and fresh fruit buffet as well as the traditional full English, porridge, salmon etc.
The only down side to this hotel is the room, It needed slightly updating a little. The bed wasn't great with a creaky headboard, wallpaper was hanging off in different parts of the room and housekeeping wasn't great. We had a dog with us and obviously did a lot of walking and it was noticeable that in the 3 nights we stayed there the floor didn't get hoovered.
We also didn't get notified of how much it would be for our dog either.

The hotel overall was okay it just needs a little TLC and updating slightly.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerwentwaterGM, Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for giving us your feedback and I appreciate your comments about certain aspects of your room. The recent weather hasn’t helped in our continued preventative maintenance programme, I assure you however it is ongoing and I hope you will come back to see the improvements when you are next in the area.
I apologise that you were not notified prior to arrival about the additional charge for your dog, these charges are for the additional cleaning involved on departure to make the room and corridors good for the next guests. We hope this didn’t spoil your stay and that you will come and see us again soon.

Regards

Steve Stott
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

No need for a car as you can walk from the hotel to the country or the town of Keswick-a nice stroll. The hotel has a big conservatory- looking down to the lake- where you can sit and read. The atmosphere is restful and relaxed. The staff are there to help but not intrude.If we can get booked in again we will be there like a shot. So convenient for a short break-just up the motorway and left. Only there for 4 nights so did not take advantage of nearby Oxleys?(sic) health centre/pool and fitness suite but other guests praised it,so keen to try next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerwentwaterGM, Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience and we very much look forward to welcoming back in the near future.

Regards

Steve Stott
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Derwentwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwentwater Hotel

Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwentwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the serenity of our grounds, and you’ll find pastures teeming with wildlife. Gaze across Derwentwater and you’ll find majestic fells, shrouded in time and mystery. Within the hotel, you’ll find an excellent standard of service, and all the facilities you’d expect from a Coast & Country venue. You’ll find an intimate, relaxed feel throughout, and a warm, friendly service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Derwentwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derwentwater Hotel Keswick/Portinscale, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Derwentwater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.