We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Derwentwater Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Derwentwater Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Derwentwater Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keswick, Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Portinscale
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

What price customer service? Well very expensive in our case. Reception staff ok but unable to help as hotel was full when requested a room change as the bathroom facilities were suited to a child rather than adult. On asking our room number - receptionist knew what we meant so surely something should have been done long ago. Shower was a struggle for someone 5'3 but any taller and you had no chance. More water leaked down hose than shower head. Bath panel dirty with peeling paint, rusty radiator and very poor quality. We had booked double room - imagine our surprise to find two rock hard single beds pushed together - very uncomfortable and poor nights sleep as result. Unable to see out of windows as glass panes had blown and full of condensation. The whole hotel was shabby, damp with peeling wallpaper and water stains. The conservatory leaked and constantly splashed onto settee where seated. Bar manager had no manners, and even less understanding of customer service - he is an absolute disgrace and certainly not an asset to the hotel. Unable to find a clean table at breakfast as the staff appeared to have no concept of what clearing tables was about. There was a constant stream of visitors for breakfast who seemed bewildered about where they could be seated. I would expect so much more but sadly received so little - until the bill - £125 for one night room only. Scandalous due to the poor room and facilities. A budget hotel would have provided better standards than those at this one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am very surprised at your comments and will investigate thoroughly what you have said, ultimately our aim is to provide value for money and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

One thing which does surprise me is that your review in comparison to others is very negative, differing significantly, and some of the things you have mentioned sound like you are talking about another hotel entirely. Having said that I thank you for spending time writing about your stay, and giving us the chance to put right what we can.

I am sure if you visit again your will have a very different opinion of the hotel,, and notice improvements.

Once again thank you for your time in reviewing the hotel and I hope you will give us another chance.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    129
    57
    38
    27
See reviews for
47
195
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Arrived early - good start as friendly receptionist allowed us to check in early. All down hill from there! Room 205 - to be avoided at all costs. Damp, dingy, dirty, outdated. En suite facilities? Well if you were no taller than about 5 foot it might have been acceptable - my husband being 6 foot had to act as a contortionist to even get under it! At 5'3" even I struggled and more water ran down the hose than out of the shower head. Complained to reception but hotel full so could not move us, so accepted we would have to put up with it. That would have been okay if it had not been for the most rude, obnoxious and surly bar manager who had no concept of customer service whatsoever. The bar facilities were supposed to be open until 11pm - our parents wanted coffee at 10pm but oh no - too much trouble. Couldn't have orange and lemonade in a tall glass - these were for pop only!! I could go on!! After an uncomfortable night trying to avoid the gap between the two single beds which had been put together to make a double (great!!) we encountered breakfast!! Not one single table had been cleared so everyone entering the restaurant were left looking for somewhere to sit. The whole time we were there, only one table was cleaned (and that was because someone complained). A complete shambles and there was only one male waiter who seemed remotely interested in customer service. Had been looking forward to a relaxing stay - in what was supposed to be a "good" hotel. Reality was damp walls with peeling wallpaper, windows full of condensation which you couldn't see out of, leaking conservatory and very little in the way of good customer service. Would I recommend? I think not!! It has been a very expensive stay £125 for one night - room only with such poor facilities. We would have been better booking a travel lodge because that would have been far superior in standards in our opinion.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am very surprised at your comments and will investigate thoroughly what you have said, ultimately our aim is to provide value for money and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

One thing which does surprise me is that your review in comparison to others is very negative, differing significantly, and some of the things you have mentioned sound like you are talking about another hotel entirely. Having said that I thank you for spending time writing about your stay, and giving us the chance to put right what we can.

I am sure if you visit again your will have a very different opinion of the hotel,, and notice improvements.

Once again thank you for your time in reviewing the hotel and I hope you will give us another chance.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Excellent venue for a totally relaxing Holiday. Only a short walk to the waters edge. We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed every moment. Food ( Breakfast and Evening Meal ) superb quality and looked forward to evening meal every day....Nice presentation too !

Reception staff, very helpful and accomodating. Dining Staff efficient and very pleasant too. We shall be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, of which we are all pleased to read - being that you have rated us so highly. We are very proud to be located in such a relaxing area, with plenty to do as well as offering good service, food and overall value for money.

I hope to see you again very soon, with the light spring evenings it's te perfect time of the year to visit.

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Mansger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just spent a lovely weekend break in a spacious apartment. Lots of space, beautiful views and in a location that is out of the world. Reasonsbly priced and all The mod cons you could need. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5* rating, I am delighted to read that you had a great time.

I will look forward to seeing you again soon, when hopefully the weather will be equally as good!

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had been down to the Southern Lakes, Kendall etc, last year, but now the chance to see the really big, and beautiful lakes and mountains etc of Cumbria. Spectacular Scenary, You would have to go, a long way, to beat it anywhere, in the Uk or anywhere else.
Do Try It. ! We also had good weather, sun, and all, which is great for the lakes. Also went up to the coast The Solway Firth, wonderful experience, including fabulous bird santuaries etc.
Hotel for this part of the Country was very good we had a room facing the Lake which is worth paying extra for
Food was very good, wines average, dinner fine, breakfasts first class, service excellent, served with a smile. A good break experience do try it for yourself, Paul and Joan Bennett

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake (Derwentwater) it is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, which is very positive. Its lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay.

I am sure there is still plenty in the northern lakes you have yet to see so I hope to be able to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I had visited this hotel for a short break in January when the heavy snows came, we expected to struggle for warmth with the deep snow and low temperatures but the hotel was kept very warm, the large conservatory with views down to the lake was heated very well in the circumstances and was a very pleasant spot to relax in the late afternoon after a day on the hills. The food was the usual high standard provided by Coast and Country Hotels with the option of A' la Carte to supplement their already excellent inclusive menu. The staff were very helpful and I would recommend this hotel as excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, feedback from our guests is very important to us.

I am delighted to read your comments, and I am sure the team will be delighted when they see your kind words.

I hope we will have the chance to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Although this hotel could do with updating and a bit of TLC it is in a wonderful location near the lakeside. There is a lovely pub in the village called the Farmers Arms which has live music on a Saturday. Lovely walks around the lake and Keswick is in walking distance.

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on the hotel following your recent stay. I will ensure the team get to read your comments.

I hope that our breathtaking location near the lake can draw you back soon!

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Derwentwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwentwater Hotel

Address: Keswick, Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Portinscale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwentwater Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the serenity of our grounds, and you’ll find pastures teeming with wildlife. Gaze across Derwentwater and you’ll find majestic fells, shrouded in time and mystery. Within the hotel, you’ll find an excellent standard of service, and all the facilities you’d expect from a Coast & Country venue. You’ll find an intimate, relaxed feel throughout, and a warm, friendly service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Derwentwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derwentwater Hotel Keswick/Portinscale, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Derwentwater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.