We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GOOD PLACE TO SEE THE NORTHERN LAKES AND THE CUMBRIAN MOUNTAINS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Derwentwater Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Derwentwater Hotel to your Saves list
The Derwentwater Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WEEKEND BREAKS FROM £132
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Rochester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“A GOOD PLACE TO SEE THE NORTHERN LAKES AND THE CUMBRIAN MOUNTAINS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had been down to the Southern Lakes, Kendall etc, last year, but now the chance to see the really big, and beautiful lakes and mountains etc of Cumbria. Spectacular Scenary, You would have to go, a long way, to beat it anywhere, in the Uk or anywhere else.
Do Try It. ! We also had good weather, sun, and all, which is great for the lakes. Also went up to the coast The Solway Firth, wonderful experience, including fabulous bird santuaries etc.
Hotel for this part of the Country was very good we had a room facing the Lake which is worth paying extra for
Food was very good, wines average, dinner fine, breakfasts first class, service excellent, served with a smile. A good break experience do try it for yourself, Paul and Joan Bennett

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake (Derwentwater) it is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, which is very positive. Its lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay.

I am sure there is still plenty in the northern lakes you have yet to see so I hope to be able to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    168
    82
    46
    32
See reviews for
62
255
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I had visited this hotel for a short break in January when the heavy snows came, we expected to struggle for warmth with the deep snow and low temperatures but the hotel was kept very warm, the large conservatory with views down to the lake was heated very well in the circumstances and was a very pleasant spot to relax in the late afternoon after a day on the hills. The food was the usual high standard provided by Coast and Country Hotels with the option of A' la Carte to supplement their already excellent inclusive menu. The staff were very helpful and I would recommend this hotel as excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, feedback from our guests is very important to us.

I am delighted to read your comments, and I am sure the team will be delighted when they see your kind words.

I hope we will have the chance to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Although this hotel could do with updating and a bit of TLC it is in a wonderful location near the lakeside. There is a lovely pub in the village called the Farmers Arms which has live music on a Saturday. Lovely walks around the lake and Keswick is in walking distance.

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on the hotel following your recent stay. I will ensure the team get to read your comments.

I hope that our breathtaking location near the lake can draw you back soon!

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel is situated in a lovely quiet village just 20 mins walk outside Keswick.The grounds are great for a walk and have beautiful views. The public area in the hotel has been nicely decorated and is very comfortable to sit in. The meals were nice and a good choice if you are b&b or half board,we ordered lunch one day and it was very nice.The staff made the hotel experience very pleasant as the were so helpful and happy and the dining staff were very efficient,nothing was a problem.The only let down was our room,it was clean but tired,in need of repair and decorating although I noticed the upgrade rooms were very nice and newly decorated with good views. I would stay ay this hotel as it was value for money.If you want to use the spa you have to book a slot soon as possible at reception,it was worth it and its free.

Room Tip: 108,we saw in it when it was getting cleaned,think you would have to upgrade but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, such reviews are a great tool to help us measure the opinions of our guests.

I agree with your comments, and will ensure the team get to see them, including the kitchen and restaurant staff who you have mentioned.

I hope that we can tempt you back soon.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnley
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Disappointing room despite paying more than friends whose room was twice the size of ours. Some problems in the dining room due to inadequately trained New staff.despite the criticisms the public areas and grounds are impressive, and the food quite good.

Room Tip: Upgrade if possible
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make comment following a stay with us.

I have noted your comments and will ensure the team get to read them, it is true that recently we have had some new staff in the dining room who have now settled and completed their training, we are working hard to improve all areas of the hotel and I will look at this further myself. Thank you for drawing this to my attention.

It is pleasing to read your comments about the public areas, and I will ensure Dan our Head Chef gets to see your comment that his team made good food.

Once again thank you for your review.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here over the easter break for three nights with other family members 6 adults in all.
The staff were very helpful and friendly.The rooms were clean but quite dated,the shower in our room did not work despite it being "fixed".The conservatory has lovely views overlooking the gardens but the furniture is so uncomfortable and rather cheap looking.The decor overall could do with an update to a more tradtional lakeland inn theme.We had acess to lovely Spa facilities a short drive away which was a real bonus.
The food however leaves much to be desired,most of what we had was bland and tasteless,the vegetables were unedible arriving cold ,and most were frozen.Roast beef was served with frozen yorkshires,frozen corgettes,green beans and sweetcorn,a strange tasteless combination.
There was little evidence of any fresh ingredients used in any of the meals.It is owned by Sheerings holidays and I suppose this mass marketing of catering uses the cheapest of ingredients.My opinion is that this hotel has potential due to its setting to be really good but is let down by lack of attention to detail.It lacks any sense of individual identity which is a pity.But I guess you get what you pay for ,and overall we had a good time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

I am delighted to see the staff praised for being "helpful and friendly"

I am however suprised and disappointed with your comments about the food, these comments are very contrasting in comparison to those in other reviews as well as on guest comment cards. Regardless I will look into this area and thank you for mentioning this.

Our spa facility arrangement is very good, and something which I try to use when I get the opportunity! - It is good that the facility is being utilised and well recieved by guests.

I hope that we may see you again soon.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have stayed here twice now (that's recommendation in itself !)

We thought about a room upgrade, but then decided the standard rooms are OK, they have
All you need.

The food is excellent, and they have improved the breakfast servings since our first stay, it's better
Now, well done !

Lovely huge gardens with ducks pond and even private lakeside area.
Keswick is great, and about 15-25 mins walk, depending on pace, and is a nice little walk, to take
After eating, when in Keswick we like to sample the shopping and the pubs, its a really friendly place and we will be returning again and again !

We have been to Keswick about six times now - and the sun has shone every time ! We can't believe it either, but it has. Can't guarantee It of course, but, you never know.

There is a spa with a pool but as yet we have never had to use it, but it looks good...

Room Tip: Can upgrade if you want a nicer room, refurbishing the whole hotel slowly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186PeterS186, General Manager at The Derwentwater Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, it is always good to recieve feedback, especially from returning guests.

Our standard rooms are of a fair standard and as you have said "they have all you need"

To read that you found our food excellent is wonderful and I will ensure the kitchen team get to see your comments. We are always striving to improve and it is good to read that we have made improvements which have been noticed by our guests.

I hope that you will visit again soon - however can you give me some warning as if you can arrange the sun (again!) I will make the most of it.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Derwentwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwentwater Hotel

Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Portinscale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portinscale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwentwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the serenity of our grounds, and you’ll find pastures teeming with wildlife. Gaze across Derwentwater and you’ll find majestic fells, shrouded in time and mystery. Within the hotel, you’ll find an excellent standard of service, and all the facilities you’d expect from a Coast & Country venue. You’ll find an intimate, relaxed feel throughout, and a warm, friendly service at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Derwentwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derwentwater Hotel Keswick/Portinscale, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Derwentwater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.