We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Bakery B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Bakery B&B to your Saves list
The Old Bakery B&B
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Fore Street | Uffculme, Uffculme, Cullompton EX15 3AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Uffculme B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“brilliant place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

wonderfully restored, comfortable accommodation, with DAvid and SArah as friendly and helpful hosts. Beautiful breakfast, with quality ingredients, in superb dining. lots of thought and attention to detail shown. discriminating guests will not be disappointed.
really enjoyed the evening sat out in the well stocked gardens, watching the swallows dive and twist on the thermals, looking at the church and village rooftops, and feeling thoroughly pampered.
Everything about the place is of a good quality- service, cleanliness, room provision. breakfast, wifi, village, location. not often you come across such a gem as this.

David and Sarah, wish you continued success with your b and b. Many thanks from

Room Tip: choose whatever is free! We had New england room- contained some stunning photographs, as well as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Old-Bakery-5, Owner at The Old Bakery B&B, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review and for your very kind words. We do hope to see you again in the future. Sarah & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
22
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We recently stayed one night at the Old Bakery whilst visiting the area, with our two children aged 10 and 6 years. We picked the Old Bakery based on other people's trip advisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. The building itself is beautiful and very large, beautifully and tastefully decorated by the owners David and Sarah. David and Sarah could not have been more welcoming, and helpful, the perfect hosts! We stayed in the Copper room and the Paris room which shared a shower room, each room is very spacious and spotlessly clean. Beds were also very comfy and we all slept well. Sarah cooked us a delicious breakfast the next morning. All in all we could not fault our stay and would definitely recommend to anyone staying in the area, if we are travelling in the area again we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Old-Bakery-5, Owner at The Old Bakery B&B, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We are so pleased that you had a good time at The Old Bakery following your visit to Diggerland. Thanks for taking the time and trouble to write a review. David & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have just spent 3 wonderful nights at the highly recommended The old bakery B&B
David & Sarah made us feel very welcome very homely feeling clean excellent breakfast
lovely garden would love to go back soon. fantastic place,

Anne & Roger

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Old-Bakery-5, Owner at The Old Bakery B&B, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Do come back and visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just came back after a night at the Old Bakery - absolutely fantastic. Clean, friendly, loverly breakfast - all you could want. Look no further. Apparently you have to write 200 characters but there really is nothing more to say.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Old-Bakery-5, Owner at The Old Bakery B&B, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments. Leah was very pleased you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uffculme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I moved house recently and had to find a few days accomodation for my 89 year old mother.

The accomodation was superb and the degree to which David and Sarah went to every effort to make mum "at home" was exceptional.

Absolutely lovely building and great people and very reasonably priced for the standard it has to be said.

If you're in the area for business or pleasure this is one that you should look at over a mere hotel.

Whilst the visit was in March and inertia stopped me leaving a review before I won't experience peace from mother until I've left a review reflecting how much she enjoyed her stay.

J

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Old-Bakery-5, Owner at The Old Bakery B&B, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks so much! We are glad that your mother liked her stay here and we hope that you enjoy your new house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I just spent 12 nights here and Sarah and David went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. The room was spacious and very comfortable, the breakfast delicious and the gardens georgous. This B & B has a homey atmosphere with all of the little details meticulously covered. Whether for business or pleasure, we would both highly recommend this to everyone.

-- Ron and Kathy Harrell
Raleigh, NC, USA

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Old-Bakery-5, Owner at The Old Bakery B&B, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Do come back again! Sarah & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed at The Old Bakery B&B for 4 nights during a business trip recently. The place is immaculately clean and meticulously maintained on a daily basis. The room I stayed in was spacious and comfortable with all the amenities required. It had a large comfortable double bed with nice quality linen. The bathroom, although not strictly en suite was adjacent and for my use only so it was as good as. It was very spacious with a large bath and nice powerful shower unit. The breakfast selection is extensive ranging from continental to a very tasty and expertly cooked full English. Nothing was too much trouble for David & Sarah even going to the extent of offering me a lift because I couldn't get a taxi one day.

The only downsides are parking isn't perfect, however, it is adequate and finally there isn't anywhere within walking distance to get anything nice to eat. The local pub in the village isn't the best but is ok for the odd meal or two during a short stay. This clearly isn't reflective of The Old Bakery and I would not hesitate to stay there again or recommend to friends or family.

All in all a great friendly place and a very pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Old-Bakery-5, Owner at The Old Bakery B&B, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for your positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Sarah & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Bakery B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakery B&B

Address: 5 Fore Street | Uffculme, Uffculme, Cullompton EX15 3AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Cullompton > Uffculme
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Uffculme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Bakery B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Bakery is a comfortable and stylish Bed and Breakfast in the heart of the village of Uffculme in Mid-Devon. The property is about 300 years old and although totally modernised, retains many of its original features. The bakery has now been converted into a games room which is popular with our younger (and older!) visitors. We have a stunning courtyard to the rear of the house where breakfasts may be served in the summer, and you can take afternoon tea in the beautiful walled garden which has wonderful views over the rooftops of Uffculme to the rolling Blackdown Hills beyond. In our home you have a choice of four comfortable rooms with en suite and private bathrooms and single, double and 4-poster beds. The large rooms have space for an extra fold-up bed on request. Uffculme is in the heart of an incredibly beautiful area of mid-Devon, full of wonderful places to explore whatever your interests, stunning countryside and breathtaking views and walks. We are within easy reach of many renowned beauty spots and are close to Tiverton, Cullompton, Wellington, Honiton, Taunton and Exeter. About 30 minutes drive from the nearest sandy beaches at Exmouth, the north coast of Devon can be reached in about 50 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Old Bakery B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Bakery B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.