We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service, food not great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waterloo Cross

Waterloo Cross
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Waterloo Cross to your Saves list
Waterloo Cross
Uffculme, Cullompton EX15 3ES, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uffculme
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good service, food not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Nice pub, which was comforable and with pleasant surroundings. The kids menu was quite good and kids deserts were good value at £1.35. It always seems to be the kids drinks that are poor value for money, so it would have been good if squash was included in the meal price even if that was 50p more. The service was very good, Ben was polite and quick to help out. The food was OK, but the two meals that came out first had "old" chips whick were dry and stodgy but the next meal with chips had fresh hot crispy chips. I wish i had moaned and asked for fresh chips. I had the chicken with bacon and leak sauce, which was a bit tasteless I thought. The chicken was nicely cooked but with the tasteless sauce and stodgy chips I was a bit disapointed. Shame as we liked the setting of the pub and we are looking for a pub to make our regular for meals out as a family. Value was OK.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    36
    26
    11
    11
See reviews for
31
33
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
devon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This pub used to have an excellent repuation locally for good food. Since it was bought out by a big chain things seem to have slipped. We went here for dinner with friends. I must confess that it was cheap - £77(ish) for the 4 of us, but as none of us were drinking, that's without the cost wine - which would have added at least £12.00 to the bill, so not a huge amount of difference. The menu is wide-ranging, but a bit strange for an English pub. There is a selection that includes curries, Thai-style food, all kinds of pies, 'gourmet burgers' & also steaks etc. I'd prefer a smaller menu of freshly cooked local produce that they used to offer. I can't fault the service - my friend complained about receiving cold chips & they were replaced quickly & without quibble. I don't think I'll be back as there is better food available at a similar price locally.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo-cross, General Manager at Waterloo Cross, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Sorry to hear you did not enjoy yourself at the waterloo cross inn, we do appreciate feedback from our customers and your comments have been passed on to our food development team.

As a "chain" we do have to adhere to the nominated suppliers chosen by our food development team. These companies are put through rigorous checks to ensure they comply with our exact food standards. They must be able to meet a high demand without comprimising on quality and animal welfare. I believe some smaller local food suppliers would not be able to meet this criteria and supply the demand of which our 600 busy food houses require.
Where we can not guarantee local produce we hope this does not mean it is any less in quality, and in addition to our company menu we do offer daily house specials.

We are very sorry to learn you will not be coming back to the Waterloo cross, and we appreciate your comments non-the-less.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed for just one night, very large room, clean enough, nothing spectacular but for the price an excellent choice to break up the journey. Staff welcoming and adequate breakfast the next morning. Will bear this place in mind for future stays in the area...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed for one night. Room was nice and spacious, large tv in room, complimentary water a nice touch, bathroom adequate - shower cubical no bath.
We ate at the pub - food was ok.
One negative was the septic tank needed emptying and caused an unpleasant aroma with in the pub. This in turn attracted large blue bottle flies inside the pub.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The Waterloo Cross is part of the Marstons chain and whilst not offering top class standards everything was fine on our recent stay. Good food and service (my lasagne was very good) and very comfortable rooms. Great choice at breakfast and all piping hot. Don't expect the Ritz but be ready for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Recently over nighted at the Waterloo Cross en route to Cornwall for a family Christening. The location is ideal as it’s so close to the M5. We had booked a family room which was immaculately presented, spotlessly clean, comfortable and cosy, a home from home.

Having settled in we ordered supper. Whilst the children got stuck into Tortilla Factories, my wife and I enjoyed our meal. Excellent quality and affordable. The beer was great too.

The next morning we enjoyed a breakfast which catered individually for all five mouths. Fruit juice, cereal, croissants, bread toast and a full English. Will definitely say again.

Room Tip: Family Rooms Available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
201 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Moving from Cornwall to Devon, I needed a hotel close to both the M5 and Cullompton where I had business the following day.

The room was perfectly functional and clean enough and it offered free wi fi and a decent enough signal strength.

This hotel is one of the Marston pub chain outlets, so if you are constantly on the road like myself, you will find the menu depressingly familiar. I opted for the Steak and Ale pie which arrived with soft soggy pastry, suggesting it had been heated in the microwave. Served with new potatoes, carrots and peas it cost about £8, so pretty average pricing.

Breakfast the next morning was simply average too. The menu highlights the fact they use pork and leek sausage. The reality was less tempting being greasy and without any trace of leek. The poached egg was undercooked as was the bacon.

On the plus side, the cost was reasonable. It is a well situated hotel with good parking and the bar has cask ales. Sadly the decor and layout lack any individuality. The staff were great, but the food just needs a little tweaking.

Off to Malvern next. Lets see what we find

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterloo Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo Cross

Address: Uffculme, Cullompton EX15 3ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Cullompton > Uffculme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uffculme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterloo Cross Hotel, on the border of Devon and Somerset, is a charming and friendly inn with 11 en-suite rooms. The Waterloo Cross is easily accessed, just five minutes from the M5, but also boasts a beautiful countryside setting. The hotel offers a traditional pub experience with a cosy interior and outside seating for the summer months. Cullompton is a great location for exploring both neighbouring counties or for hiding away for rest and relaxation. We serve pub food all day if you are looking for a meal or snack, or you can just relax in a cosy corner with a pint of real ale or glass of wine. Hotel accommodation room rates include our fantastic breakfast and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Waterloo Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo Cross Hotel Cullompton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterloo Cross, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.