We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT snorkeling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waialea Beach (Beach 69)

Waialea Beach (Beach 69)
Between Hapuna and Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“GREAT snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is my favorite beach in Hawaii. Hidden away (you need to take a small access road from the entrance to Hapuna) with plenty of shade, great coral, beautiful sea life - our family loves to spend time here on our trips to Hawaii. Best thing is that we've seen a turtle (honu) each time we make the trek.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    26
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Beach 69 is a hidden gem. White sandy beach, lots of shade if you want it, great snorkelling, shower, bathroom and close parking. There is a lot of shade along the shore line not too far from the water's edge so those looking for a break from the sun can still see the water and watch the kids play. The waters get a little choppy in the afternoon which makes for good boogie boarding but the snorkelling is still good if you swim off shore. The sand is great for sand castle building as well. We only found the beach after pulling into the parking lot of Hapuna and asked the parking attendant if Hapuna is a good place to snorkel. She advised to head down the road to Beach 69 and we are so thankful for her help. This is the best if not one of the best beaches we have been to.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We discovered this beach by accident as we turned off earlier than we should have to go to Hapuna Beach Park. I actually thought they had re-paved the access road. But then when we arrived, it turned out to be a very lucky mistake. The parking lot is fairly small - maybe 40-50 cars maximum? But it was still empty enough at 11 am on a weekday. The restrooms and showers are a very short walk from the parking lot and the beach itself is another very short walk from there.

The nicest thing are the trees along the beach area. You can sit under a tree for shade and still be right on the beach. Or you can move up a couple of feet and be in the sun. There are some rocks (after all it IS the Big Island, the one with an active volcano...so a few rocks are expected). We brought floats and spent a lot of time just lounging in the water kicking enough to keep us relatively in one place.

We found a little niche among the trees and set up our chairs. The water was warm, and sandy with a gradual entrance into the water. Lots of keiki (young children) were playing in the water. I also saw a number of snorkelers who said it was a good spot to see fish (we hadn't thought to bring our masks).

Bring a cooler with waters and lunch - you will be all set!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawi, Hawaii
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pick up rubbish, if you care”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

If you go to a beach and theres rubbish everywhere and you dislike it, then why not grab a bag or something and fill it up!!! Maybe if everyone did this there wouldnt be so much rubbish. Not much help to complain and not actually take any to the bins! Did you just walk away empty handed debbie m?

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best place to snorkel with a kid!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

While in Hawaii we snorkeled at KoOlina in Oahu but there were few fish, we went on a snorkel boat tour on the big island and got sea sick, and we found Beach 69, which we loved. We snorkeled there twice, each time comfortable with the surf and rocks that support a great reef! We saw turtles, puffer fish, and parrotfish, plus many more. We loved that it was not busy and there was shade! We loved this beach!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waialea Beach (Beach 69) also viewed

Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Island of Hawaii, HI
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Waialea Beach (Beach 69)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waialea Beach (Beach 69), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.