We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great courses and beach area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauna Lani Resort Golf Club

Mauna Lani Resort Golf Club
68-1310 Mauna Lani Drive, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9704
808/885-6655
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows, two golf challenges - the North Course and the South Course - are both 18-holes at par 72, and known for the beautiful black lava and putting greens.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great courses and beach area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Both North and South courses are very beautiful and very well maintained. If you can only play one the South course is the one to play. Number 15 par 3 is as beautiful a hole as you'll ever play. Stayed at Exclusive Resort home with access to Fairmont facilities which are very nice. They have nice small, sheltered beach with great swimming and snorkeling. In whale season you'll see them spouting from the resort and golf course. Great time!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    25
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maui
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Francis & Noboru would enjoy the conditions here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Mauna Lani's two courses are stellar in terms of design and maintenance. The resort's service, however, was a little too laid back for most of us. Nonetheless, we came to play and we enjoyed the two courses a lot. The South is more difficult, with lava outcroppings galore. The North is more straight-forward. It is actually a little tighter. Greens are very grainy and hard to read. Greens often sit up so you have to flop pitch shots off tight, often wet lies. Lots of subtle breaks on the big greens. There is no GPS on the golf carts but yardages are well marked on sprinkler heads. There are no hole sheets on carts to indicate where pins are on greens. That's the very minimum esp for a course that bears the name of one of Hawaii's greatest players, and is host to the Sate Open. (Note: the big boss was out sic, so maybe that was prob). Never checked, but if there is a yardage book it is likely too costly -- we found this pro shop to be a little pricey and for zero out of 10 of us to not even buy even a hat says something -- we all spent $$ at Hualalai).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“South Course was very fun to play”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Wife and I both enjoyed playing here

Staff was pretty good and except for my wife's nice Calloway Head cover disappearing while we had lunch at the bar, everthing was great.

Greens had revovered from the "punching" and were tough to putt with the wind blowing pretty good.

Fair test with a good variety of longer and shorter holes. Was not very busy and we played quickly.

Would recommend highly

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“One of most beautiful courses ever played”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

The course was slightly under repair ( punched greens), but it was still fun and amazingly beautiful. Being extra balls in case the lava gods don't kick your ball back out onto the fairway. We played the south course and had a great time. Bring a camera for the "signature" hole. We got a cooler filled with ice and water at the beginning, a bucket of balls for the dricing range to warm up and the starters gave us cold towels at the end of the round. So refreshing!
Great rental clubs too... Taylor made burner 2.0
Go. Enjoy. You won't regret it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice courses but...try to find it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I want to start out the review but telling you that your experience will be much better if you can find the darn place. The hotel we were at (5 minutes away) said to drive up HWY 19 and then turn left and there it was. OK, that's easy. Well...right away after you turn left there was a traffic circle and after trying the first turn (nope), and the second turn (again nope), I said heck with it and started to leave. That's when I saw the third turn off with a teeny sign saying golf course. This was 45 minutes later. Missed my tee time - but that's ok...the place was empty. I played the South Course (recommendation of Pro Shop), and except for 1 or 2 holes, it was mainly playing through condos and villas. Are all the courses on this island like that? The course itself was very nicely groomed, but as someone mentioned, no GPS units on the carts and a tiny map on the scorecard. So, once again, you have to find the 150 yd marker and walk the distance off. Very very old school golf. If I had not been playing with someone staying in the condos, I would have spent most of my time trying to find out which way to hit the ball. And also, do not confuse the over the water hole (140 yds), with the real over the water hole up the coast at the Mauna Kea golf course. The Pro Shop was nice and the people were nice, but not what I was expecting from Hawaii Resort Golf. More like a muni.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mauna Lani Resort Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Mauna Lani Resort Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauna Lani Resort Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.