We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hapuna Beach

Hapuna Beach
Highway 19, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Snorkeling, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the nicest sand beaches on the Kohala coast.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Hapuna beach is gorgeous. The sand is clean and white, and the water there seems warmer than other beaches we visited during our trip. The shallow water reaches far out, so you can swim far away from shore and still touch. This was especially wonderful for my children. The water is calm here, and the waves gently roll in, but don't pull hard going out. Snorkeling here wasn't as interesting as A-Bay or Spencer beach, because most of what I saw was just a seemingly endless expanse of that clean sand. That was fine for me, because we were there to swim and enjoy the ocean with our children. We were there on Mothers Day, and even though there were lots of people on the beach, it was so large that we didn't feel crowded at all. Hapuna beach was one of the best highlights of our trip to this area.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    161
    23
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing clear water beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We visited this beach a number of times while staying in the Waikoloa resort area. Definitely our favorite beach on the Big Island. Only a 10 minute drive.

It is easily accessible. Has restrooms, showers, lifeguard and best of all crystal blue waters.

This is not a calm beach. The waves can get very big and strong. You just have to be careful. We were there in November and there was always a lot of parking and not crowded.

We ate at the food vendor there and the food is very good and reasonably priced. My favorite was their salads with or without chicken. Very fresh and tasty.

Definitely a must see when visiting the Big Island.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Breathtaking sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

This is the beach you imagine when you think Hawaii. It is simply gorgeous. Take chairs, towels, water and sunscreen. You will want to stay a while. There are changing rooms and bathrooms, but be aware that if you stay through the sunset, these facilities have no lights. You'll need a flashlight. Another thing to note is that Hawaiian beaches require you to have a permit for alcohol. We ignored the signs in front of the neighboring resort that said "guests only beyond this point", and found their pool bar for a drink. They were happy to take our money, and the bartender was fantastic. And since we paid a ridiculous price for our Mai tais, we felt comfortable using their beach chairs to watch the sunset. Best. Sunset. Ever. Highlight of my trip.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA shores
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good family beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a nice sandy beach on the Kohala Coast, near the Puako neighborhood. It isn't as good a beach for boogie boarding as I had read it would be, but it was a nice mellow beach for snorkeling and for swimming. Bring lots of water...and a beach umbrella. There is VERY little shade here, but a nice beach with snack bar, snorkel rentals and restrooms.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very clean, beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Waikoloa and ended up going to Hapuna beach 5 out of 7 days of our stay. It is not far to drive and it is beautiful. Great waves for boogie boarding or just goofing around in the water. There is even a snack bar and a shack you can rent umbrella's, snorkels and boogie boards. We loved it there and highly recommend it. There is a $5 to fee to park as it is a state park but it is well worth it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hapuna Beach also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Honaunau, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hapuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hapuna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.