We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach for adult fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hapuna Beach

Hapuna Beach
Highway 19, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Snorkeling, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the nicest sand beaches on the Kohala coast.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best beach for adult fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

More beautiful than any of the exclusive hotel beaches, with ample parking. We saw baby humpback whales right offshore and boogie boarded on the large waves. My kids were afraid of the waves, so they dug in the sand and played. Mom and dad tried to coax them in but could not. The next day, we took our kids to a calmer beach so they could swim, but they still dug in the sand most of the time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    161
    23
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cut bank mt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Faboulous beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We were there in late March, and went there twice. The first time we did not pay, but the second time it was a five dollar charge. It was well worth the price. The sand is beautiful, and a lot of shade in the upper portion. But don't forget an umbrella. You can also rent bogie boards, chairs, umbrella,s and a nice snack bar. The bathrooms need some tender loving care, but hopefully they will use the entrance fee for cleaning services. My three teenage grandkids had a great time. It is about a 45 minute drive north from Kona. Bring lots of sunscreen, as my feet and back can prove it. Silly me.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Favorite Beach on Big Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Loved this beach!!
When I went, it wasn't crowded--not sure if its always like that or if we're lucky. There were others but plenty of space that everyone is spaced far enough apart so it feels private. Quiet, relaxing and perfect for both playing in the water and sunbathing on the sand. The waves here were really gentle on my visit (great, because I can't swim), although I've heard there can be undertows certain times of the year. There are bathroom/shower facilities but pretty basic. I think the facilities at Mauna Kea beach nearby are better and cleaner, but I liked Hapuna Beach a bit better.
There seemed to be plenty of parking when we went, so I'm thankful we did not have to circle around like vultures waiting for a spot to free up. If you stay in the Kailua-Kona area, its only about 35-40 minutes away. The drive did not bother me.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A group of us were at this beach in January 2013. What great fun! Lots of nice sand, awesome waves. Hours of fun on boogie boards with everyone. Good parking.
Noticed a refreshment stand as we were leaving but didn't get anything from it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic beach...and honu if you're lucky!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Take the turn for Puako and hang a right; you'll see the parking lot not too far down. Beautiful beach, calm water, abundant wildlife, great snorkel or paddleboard spot! Last year we saw manta here, this year the green sea turtles were grazing for hours in waist-deep water, surfacing for a quick breath right next to us. There's shade if you want it, too. There are some lava outcroppings, but most water entry points are clear. There's a small (maybe 2 foot) drop off as you enter the bay; it's not a big deal unless you're not expecting it or looking for turtles poking their heads out of the water.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hapuna Beach also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Honaunau, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hapuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hapuna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.