We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset Specials” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
68-1330 Mauna Lani Drive, Shops at Mauna Lani, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
(808) 887-0800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 69 Restaurants in Kohala Coast
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Queen Kaahumanu Highway
Westby, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sunset Specials”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been eating at Ruth Chris Steak Houses for over 20 years, never have been disappointed.
Waikoloa Ruth Chris,fantastic sunsets, and specials from 5PM to 6PM a must to check out, including Wine Wednesday's 25% off on bottles of wine. Service is always excellent, appetizers, drinks, and food, still the best as it has been for 20 years

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    39
    18
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Dinner on the Big Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Second experience with this Ruth's Chris. I had a great family Thanksgiving dinner there a few years back and just took a party of ten there last week. The service was first rate. The menu was mostly traditional Ruth's Chris with some local flavor added. We had the Ahi Poke as an appetiser and several had the local Asian inspired fish of the day. Several split entree's or salads and there were no issues in doing so. Great experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“I hope they're all not like this”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Way, way overpriced for the quality. My guest and I each ordered the ribeye steak medium rare. The quality advertised was "prime" which means lots of marbling and tenderness. I should have known better when the place setting came with sharp steak knives. The steak was cooked exactly as advertised, warm pink in the middle, so it wasn't the chef, it was the steak. Both of us had to hack away at this fifty dollar (?) half inch thick piece of meat from the grocery store.
I couldn't figure out what sort of sauce it was in or why there was sauce, but I see from another review that it was put on a sizzling plate of butter. No wonder I barely made it back home to evacuate my bowels. Way too much grease.
I seldom eat beef, but when I do, I love that steak house flavor, you know the one, but it was lacking here. A month ago I bought a New York from Safeway and fried it at home, and got the exact same flavor (except Safeway's was tender).
We also had to wait about an hour for the server after we were seated. When he showed up, he was really pushing the wine, too. The food did come hot, though.
When Ruth opened her Chris Steak House in Sacramento, my friends all raved about the size and the quality, so I was looking for something really terrific. Evidently when Ruth and her family sold out to the big corporation (NASDAQ: "RUTH"), the bean counters took over from the chefs. I hope all of the other franchises are not like this one, but I doubt if I'll find out because I'm not going to take another fifty dollar chance.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food and service as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I ate here one evening while we were staying at the Mauna Lani Bay hotel. As always the food and service were excellent, just what you would expect at a Ruth's Chris restaurant

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had an amazing dinner here, as one of our last nights on the Big Island. Service was good (but not extraordinary), and the meal was delicious! We shared the clams for an appy, which featured a great sauce, but the clams themselves were incredibly small. We also shared a side of asparagus, which were tasty.

My girlfriend ordered the rack of lamb, which was cooked perfectly! It was incredibly tender, and flavorful. I had the surf and turf (my steak was cooked a perfect med-rare, which so many other restaurants these days fine hard to do; but the lobster was tough and overcooked). All in all, a wonderful dinner!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.