We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price is decent considering the room quality and hotel loaction” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Hotel Perth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Metro Hotel Perth to your Saves list
Metro Hotel Perth
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Canning Highway, South Perth, Western Australia 6151, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sparkly Weekend Special
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Perth
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Price is decent considering the room quality and hotel loaction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Flew in too early for my work flight and needed somewhere to stay. trying to book a hotel for the same night in Perth is not easy luckily though there was one room left at the metro. Night staff were quite friendly and efficient, the room was large and full of the necessary amenities and the price wasnt too bad considering the room quality and distance from the airport. Only issue I had was the mini-bar was not in the room but had to be purchased from reception.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIrvin, General Manager at Metro Hotel Perth, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your response. Yes Perth is a very busy place and as you have alluded to Perth hotel pricing operates in a market that is driven by supply and demand principles. Our property is close to the airport, within minutes of the CBD, offers free parking (which the CBD hotels do not) and we engage very pleasant and helpful staff, all of which assists us in being able to offer value to our clients.

I am regretful that we are unable to offer mini bars in the guest rooms but do offer this facility from the front reception. I trust that you will join us again when next in Perth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    43
    47
    19
    17
See reviews for
12
35
17
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I've stayed here about 20 times during the past 12 months, and it has become a real home away from home. Staff are ultra friendly and helpful. The rooms are large, spotlessly clean, and have superb views over the Swan River to the Perth city skyline beyond. All rooms have balconies, and for those of us who like fresh air it is quite safe to sleep with the door wide open, and the air conditioning off. Breakfast is surprisingly good for the price paid. And, since the present chef arrived, evening meals also are good value and well presented. Staff are remarkably adept at getting taxis to come exactly when you want them. And there is a bus stop at the door if you want to travel cheaply. Overall, this is one of the best value for money hotels in Perth.

Room Tip: The higher the better: the top floor (#10) is the best of all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIrvin, General Manager at Metro Hotel Perth, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Bob,

Thank you for your feedback.

It amazes me that there are such vastly differing opinions in of this property posted on tripadvisor. As a regular hotel patron and traveller you would be far more balanced and realistic with your level of expectations than those who travel infrequently.

I think we do a great job and thank you so much for endorsing your sentiments on trip advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hotels in Perth are expensive but considering this hotel was closer to the airport the noise factor was from the cars on Canning Highway and we were on the 9th floor and could still hear the traffic night and day. for $190.00 a night it was ok but not the best to stay at.

Room Tip: High Floor away from the road if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIrvin, General Manager at Metro Hotel Perth, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are addressing concerns created by road noise at the property. We are at present installing new windows on the Canning Hwy side of the property and using a new product called whisper laminate which is a barrier to most noise. The rooms on the lower floors have been successfully completed and the feedback has been amazing. It will not be long before all windows have been replaced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I am really surprised at the reviews for Metro Hotel. My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights for my birthday and we absolutely loved it. The bed was HUGE and so comfortable! Check in was efficient and easy. The room was very spacious and had all the amenities you require. The best feature was a big balcony that opened out with views over the river and city.

The hotel was in such a great location. 5 mins from the Crowne Casino and 2 min walk to a bus line that takes you directly into the City.

I would recommend staying here. The rooms were big, clean and comfy. Don’t stay away because some of the reviews because I am so surprised they are not better!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIrvin, General Manager at Metro Hotel Perth, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I too am surprised by a lot of the negative comments made on trip advisor, many are not acurate and I am thrilled that you stayed with us and made your own assessment about the property and its facilities .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The position of the hotel is good and reception staff were polite. The room was comfortable and the standard of cleanliness couldn't be faulted. Nice, without anything being exceptional. The only negative was that I thought it was a bit pricey for what you got.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIrvin, General Manager at Metro Hotel Perth, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your response, yes we are a far cheaper alternative than the Casino and our staff are very welcoming. Smaller hotels are often a much nicer alternative option. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Despite the poor reviews, my husband and I stayed here for one night on new years eve and we had a wonderful stay. With a fun night planned at the casino, initially we wanted to book a room at the Crown, but all the rooms were sold out. (well the rooms that we could afford anyway) So I looked up hotels close to the casino and came across this one. I made the booking very last minute (the morning of our stay) but we got a very good rate which we thought was exceptionally great value for money. To be honest the outside of the hotel could do with a bit of a make over, but inside it is lovely, very clean, modern and well presented. The two male front desk staff were very friendly and welcoming, and the two ladies in the restaurant on new years day were very attentive and helpful. We would definitely stay there again. A great hotel if you are planning a night out at the casino, but want a cheaper alternative to staying at the Crown. A taxi to the casino from here costs around $10.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIrvin, General Manager at Metro Hotel Perth, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thankyou for your response. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Perth being Perth, everything is overpriced and average at best. This hotel was fine for a night, but not much around there and not as close to the city as I thought. Neat and tidy, pretty basic, good enough. Was over $200 for the night, but then again it is Perth. Might stay again, but would be trying hard to get a better location...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Metro Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Perth

Address: 61 Canning Highway, South Perth, Western Australia 6151, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > South Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to the Metro Hotel Perth. We are part of the Metro Hospitality Group. Which is the longest 100% Australian owned and managed hotel chain in Australia. Our hotel in South Perth is located a few minutes' walk from the picturesque Swan River foreshore and only 10 minutes from the CBD of Perth. We are the only hotel in Perth to command sweeping views of the Swan River foreshore in the daytime and the city skyline in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Metro Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Hotel Perth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.