We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food is OK but the service is poor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Orchid

Thai Orchid
Mends Street, South Perth, Western Australia WA 6151,, Australia
(08) 9474 1888
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 30 Restaurants in South Perth
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Perth, Australia
1 review
“The food is OK but the service is poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This place is really good if you like views over the CBD at night. That is provided you book early enough to bag a window seat.

The menu is OK but there are a few non-authentic things on it. The food was reasonable in price and some of it was tasty but altogether is was average. Unfortunately the service was lacking as we brought the wrong dish twice as was another table. We put this down to the fact that the waiter did not seem to be listening when taking our order. This would also account for why we had to cancel some of our order when it did not seem to arrive.

All in all it was very average and did not live up to its billing. We will be going back to our normal place in Northbridge in future.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A refreshing experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I tried this thai restaurant last week and as we walked through the door we were greeted with smiles and how beautiful are all the staff, they are immaculately dressed and it was just such a refreshing change to some places you go to. We had a lovely table with a view and my duck was melt in the mouth stuff! My husband had beef which he said was very nice as well. It's BYO and there's a bottle shop underneath so all in all a really easy and delicious evening out!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Thai food with views of city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great food, service, BYO and very good value.
Book a table overlooking the river and the Perth skyline.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The BEST Thai Food around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Exquistie Tahi food, brilliant service, good portions, BYO and good value.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved The Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Went her for my partners birthday, the only thing I didn't check was if it was licensed and it not however there is a bottleshop just downstairs. Service was good and the food delicious and reasonably priced. Would definitely go back again. You need to book as its popular and even though I did, they didn't appear to have the booking although I suspect it was the interpretation of the name that was muddled.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Orchid also viewed

South Perth, Greater Perth
South Perth, Greater Perth
 
South Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Thai Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Orchid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.