We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch always something to look forward to” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rose & Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Rose & Crown Hotel to your Saves list
The Rose & Crown Hotel
105 Swan Street, Guildford, Swan, Western Australia 6055, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guildford
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch always something to look forward to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I come here to eat on my visits to Perth twice a year. By Perth standards it offers fair value, good cooking and large portions. One of the nicest outdoor venues for eating. Duck pate followed by pork belly are excellent and the children's menu offers good food - no need for them to eat nuggets.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    43
    31
    16
    11
See reviews for
27
34
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Rose and crown is one of the most beautiful places to stay around perth, staff are all excellent and the food was great, quiet and peaceful for a short business stay.
close the the train station so the city is only minutes away,
Try the salmon its to die for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here last week on business and would not stay again.

The good news was that the staff are friendly and the location is good.

The bad news was that the charge was high for a room with no FOXTEL and the prices at the pub are a little on the 'wankish' side.

Having said that, there was a Pizza joint just down the road wanting to charge $30 for a Pizza!

The main thing was that I stayed in room 20 which has a paper thin wall which meant I was disturbed by the people next door coming in late and then waking early. Thankfully they did not get busy as I would have had a running commentary!!!

Secondary was that I was given 2 breakfast vouchers (included in the room price - but no option to deduct for non use) even though I was leaving on the 'red eye' and not able to use 1 and did not get around to using the other for the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Rose and Crown Hotel, in Guildford, went there for lunch on a sunday. Setting is wonderful, quite, leafy, clean, nice outdoor area. Complementary water, brought out constantly without having to ask, good customer service. Order Caesar salad, $22.00 nice, but certainly nothing special. Also order black and white liqune, with broome bugs, still looking for the bug we think it might of escaped of the plate, was also served with 2 prawns, while the dish was pleasant, it was a small serve and my husband was left still hungry. The chicken parme was very nice and a much better serve and well worth the money. While the service was good, and food all came out together, I would say it was overpriced for what we received. Would I return, yes, but not in a hurry.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Went for lunch with my three cousins, service was adequate, the food was pretensious for pub food, the wine was nice. The puddings were good three out of four, but the bill was horrendous. Fish and chips for four, puds and a bottle of wine is not good value at £156. Yes I am English, I know about good pub food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I recently went to a function for my fathers 70th birthday at the Rose and Crown. It has a lovely atmosphere and would make a great location for a sunday session of drinking however the menu in the function facility needs improvement.
We had a choice of Steak, salmon and chicken salad.
The steak you only had the choice of having it medium. Not great for those who prefer their meat either well done or rare.
The salmon was a decent sized portion and probably the best of the three.
The chicken salad used what looked like processed chicken and had far too much basil leaves making the salad overpowered with basil.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

For a place of outstanding ambiance the food and service is terribly disappointing, we again persisted in supporting a "local" establishment and even our guests were appalled at the food and the service for what we were charged.
Anywhere is better than what you get here!

Room Tip: We dined and it was crap
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose & Crown Hotel

Address: 105 Swan Street, Guildford, Swan, Western Australia 6055, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Swan > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose & Crown Hotel is WA most historic hotel and recognised by the National Trust as a significant historic landmark. Situated in leafy Swan St, Guildford WA, surrounded by restaurants & on the doorstep to the Swan Valley wineries. The Hotel has 28 3.5 Motel Units in its lodge and 4 boutique rooms within the hotel (some entry restrictions. The Hotel & Lodge has undergone a recent major renovation since being purchased in Mid 2004 by the current owners operators Mark & Tracy Weber. In 2007 the Hotel was selected by the Sunday Times as a tourism hotspot with the biggest beer garden in the city and two well known restaurants, the Rose & Crown Hotel is the ideal location for a stayover or outer city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Hotel
The Rose Crown Hotel
Rose Crown Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rose & Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.