We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Delightful'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hollies

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Hollies to your Saves list
The Hollies
5 Swan Street, Guildford, Swan, Western Australia, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Guildford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“'Delightful'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Thank you Judith, so much, for such a wonderful stay. We've travelled to many places around the world and choose, more often than not, to stay at B&B's. From the moment we walked into the drive, to be met by your two beautiful Cavaliers and stunning gardens, we felt instantly relaxed and very much at home. Our room contained all we could ask for, plump towels, fluffy robes, crisp linen and very comfortable beds. Again with a beautiful garden outlook. A perfect continental breakfast was served day one and thank goodness for one of the best full breakfasts we've had in a long time, so as to get us through a very busy day two. Your facilities are second to none and as such, will have no hesitation in recommending you to friends and family, should they ever hit your shores! Thank you once again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    9
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
24
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Hollies is lovely, and Judith does her utmost to provide her customers with lovely decorated rooms, superb garden setting and delightful breakfast but there were a few small things that prevented our stay from being perfect.
The french doors in our room could not be opened outward due to an overhanging awning, this made the room very stuffy.
Proximity to the airport means thundering planes overhead quite often.
There is no parking near the rooms, I was shocked when asked to park on the street verge however Judith did let me park in the driveway once hubby was home from work.
We could not find the remote controller for the air con anywhere.
The rowdy neighbours kept us entertained with their coulourful language.
Without sounding too negative our stay was enjoyable but for $190 per night I expected perfect, and it was not.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katanning, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Hollies was an absolute delight. In addition to the fact that it was located right in central Guildford and close to Guildford train station , it was within a stones throw to a number of restaurents, cafes the Woodbridge Hotel and a short drive to the Midland shopping precinct. I was lead by Judith the lovely host through a beautiful garden with lovely little outdoor pavillion, into a reasonable sized very elegant bedroom decorated in the French Provincial Shabby Chique style. The ensuite bathroom was modern and luxurious .
The bed was decorated with lovely linen and was incredibly comfortable. I usually hate the pillows in hotel accomodation but these were plump, glorious and offered a wonderful night's sleep.
The continental breakfast was delicious consisting of cereal,fresh fruit and yoghurt , croisant with condiments and juice.This was complimented by an excellant selection of teas and coffee already provided in my room.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Hollies and left feeling like I had been a princess for a short time.

Room Tip: Shop around in advance There is excellant value to be had at the right price. Just because a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

As it was my wife's special 50th birthday, I thought I'd treat her to a special stay at what I thought was a special place, because we were married in Guildford. After reading reviews on Tripadvisor about 'The Hollies' it sounded like the perfect and tranquil place.

We made contact with the owner Judith who seemed very pleasant via email and over the telephone, however, upon our arrival things were much different!

Firstly, due to a birthday bash of friends and family gathering at King's Park, we decided to check in later, around 6pm. Upon arrival and after ringing the doorbell, we were told to going around the side through the carport which was a very tight squeeze due to 2 luxury cars parked and about 40cm of room to squeeze by them carrying our luggage plus presents! I even said to Judith that I may struggle getting through there and was puzzled why we were not taken through the house to the glorified granny flats at the back!

Secondly, when we did get to the beautifully landscaped garden at the rear and to the rooms, my wife asked Judith where the key was to lock the room as we needed to go out for dinner localy and ensure our belonging were safe, however Judith did not know or realise that the door key had been taken by the previous guests back to Perth and had not checked this and did not have a spare key for us which is very surprising, but what surprised us the most was her attitude which was quite awkward and cold when we asked about the key and actually said to my wife that "well you can leave now then and find other accomodation"!! We were agasp! She did reassure us that the room would be safe, but we felt that wasn't really good enough and we certainly were not impressed with the reception we recieved during our stay.

The room was nicely layed out and decorated but the air con was humming all night and the shower recess leaked out into the rest of the bathroom and there was not even a vacuum fan.

Apart from all that the bed was very good and the surroundings were pleasant, but sadly the service didn't match.

The continental breakfast satisfactory, but we have stayed in cheaper B&B's which supply a generous hot cooked breakfast with fresh coffee and juices. So overall 'The Hollies' was not what we expected. The only consilation was that after my wife asking for a discount upon payment, she was given a $40 discount because of no key supplied.

We expect a B&B to be warm, friendly and homely and sadly this B&B lacks that, and it is also sad that there was not a chance of social interaction with the owners of which we have enjoyed elsewhere in WA.

Not recommended.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Beautifully decorated bedroom and lovely bathroom, set in showpiece lawns and gardens. But surprisingly for a B&B that rates itself as 4 stars, we returned to an unmade bed and unserviced bathroom day after day for the duration of our stay. Dirty plates were even left on our table and small touches like replacing a box of kleenex that was finished on our first morning was never attended to.

Light sleepers wanting a very peaceful stay should also be aware that this property is in the flightpath and planes from Perth airport fly very low overhead.

There is more to looking after guests than bringing in breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Oh my gosh, we cant stop thinking about this place!! From the moment you arrive, you know you are in for something truly special!! We were met by the lovely housekeeper (we arrived late into Perth on a Saturday evening) who assisted us to the back of the property where the 2 rooms are located. Before the door to our room had even been opened, I was already lost for words - the beautiful gardens, lighting and outdoor furniture is magical. Then you walk into this gorgeous, boutique style room (agreed with a previous review - its a country/french provincial style). Everything is meticulous, clean and super comfortable. After a very restful sleep, a soft knock on the door alerted to us to our continental breakfast (at exactly the time we had asked for). It was almost too pretty to eat! Croissants with fresh preserves, fruit salad and yoghurt, muesli and juice. I honestly didnt think it could have gotten any better until we got a visit from the gorgeous Homer and Pippa (the 2 x King Charles Cavalier pups). Pippa wasnt one for too much socialising but Homer loved to pop into our room have a little pat and cuddle every so often and then went on his merry way. What I truly loved the most about The Hollies however was the way you are given complete privacy to come and go as you please (unlike alot of other B&B's we have stayed in). This place is just amazing and I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this to any of my family or friends (which we have done) who are looking for something really special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

The Hollies has two rooms to offer, one with lounge, one which is simply an en suite room. The garden is beautiful and superbly maintained, the linens and decor outstanding, the setting could not be better. Our host, Judith, left us to our own devices and was not at all intrusive. The continental breakfast consisting of muesli, yoghurt, fresh fruit, croissant, was delivered to the room at the stated time and was delicious.

However, this was billed as a four star establishment and at $170 a night did not, in my view, offer value for money. The beds were not made during the day for us, there was no room key, we had to ask for our breakfast plates from the previous morning to be washed, the tea sachets were not replenished, and overall we did not receive 4 star service.

Nevertheless, The Hollies is situated in Guildford which is a very historic part of WA and the gateway to the Swan Valley and the wineries. A great location from which to visit a fantastic area. A welcome pack would also have been most welcome.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hollies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollies

Address: 5 Swan Street, Guildford, Swan, Western Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Swan > Guildford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Hollies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hollies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.